We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings about this log lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Journey's End Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this log lodge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Although my husband and I found much to like about this B & B--spacious soaring living room, lovely view, tasteful and comfortable furnishings, creative and delicious breakfasts, and gracious hosts--there were several disappointing things about the building and experience. The new custom-designed log lodge, based on the concept of the great Adirondak camp, is accessed by a steep driveway off a 1960s subdivision, and there is no accessible outdoor space other than a porch overlooking the mountains. I hope future plans include landscaping the 2-acre property. Our room had a mountain view, 2 upholstered chairs, nice cherry furniture, 3 operable windows, attractive quilts, and central air with an in-room thermostat, But there was very little room to walk between the massive log beams, the bed, and the chest of drawers. It would help to move the chest to an end wall, find a place to hang the mirror, and add two luggage racks. The bigger problem was the small bathroom with its small shower stall, cheap drugstore shampoo and soap, and one wash cloth and hand towel for for two people. These things rankled because this B & B was not inexpensive and the trip advisor reviews were so overwhelmingly enthusiastic. Our disappointment with Journey's End was magnified by our other B & B experience in Williamstown--at the extraordinary Guest House at Field Farm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerSue77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_and_Alan, Manager at Journey's End Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We appreciate viable suggestions. Bedrooms on the NW and SE corners of the house are configured so that the bed can be centered on the dormer window and allow comfortable space to move, avoiding the log beams that define the alcove space by the window. We've moved the Mount Marcy East room to the SE corner so that its queen bed is thus centered and the problem you identified (little space to move by the log beams) is cured. We installed a small mirror on the wall by the chest of drawer which is now parallel to the wall and opens more space to walk by the beams constituting the alcove. The alcove, chest of drawers and closet for clothing obviate any need for luggage racks. Architecture dictates bath and shower size. We provide neutrally scented, safe bath soaps all our guests can use. Some bring their preferred soap, scent, and label. High end soaps, however, are not our remit: the convenience of Wlliams parents and alumnae, as well as visitors cum theatre goers is. Guests don't mind the 1960's subdivision by our driveway, but value they can walk to town, dinner, and theatre. Journey's End, its rooms priced $205 to $85, is not appropriately compared to Guest House at Field Farm at $325 to $195 and the support of the trustees of reservations' endowment. Our 2 acres comprising and abutting wetlands is tightly regulated by a Conservation Commission, and heavily criss-crossed by swales with running water. It is largely inaccessible, as you saw, and wouldn't support landscaping. It cannot be compared to Field Farm's 316 acres, four miles of trails, manicured gardens, modern sculptures, and New England's youngest historic house museum. Journey's End is not a museum; our guests like our heavily wooded rustic and Adirondack camp that is so near to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
80
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from two nights in Williamstown to attend the theater festival. We were lucky enough to have stayed at Journey's End Lodge, a real gem. The owner, Carlos, is charming and very welcoming. His breakfasts were to die for. We loved that he sat down and ate breakfast with the guests. The cabin itself is rustic and elegant at the same time -- relaxing in a way that is rare in this busy world. There are no televisions; instead, there is a collection of diverse and interesting reading materials -- from Foreign Affairs to the New Yorker to Rolling Stone. We look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_and_Alan, Manager at Journey's End Lodge, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Alan and I look forward to your return trip to Journey's End Lodge. Sharing breakfast with our guests is a privilege. They are without exception just like you: sophisticated, interesting, yet down to earth and with a great sense of humor. We're always on the look-out for new and delicious breakfast creations to prepare for and share with our guests. Sharing menus for those dishes we prepare, as well as trading recipes with our guests, has been an important part of our experience at Journey's End and we look forward to continuing that practice. Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wonderful refuge from life. My better half and i enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, delicious food, interesting guests and charming host Carlos. We had fun exploring the area, Mount Greylock, the Mohawk trail, and several art galleries.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_and_Alan, Owner at Journey's End Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We were delighted to host both of you and look forward to your return home to Journey's End Lodge, a wonderful refuge from life as you correctly describe it. I appreciate your description of Journey's End because it accurately describes what we intended to accomplish: to provide a home away from it all, a refuge from life yet still convenient to all the amenities in the area including those you named and so many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at Journey's End Lodge in Williamstown in late June as part of a tour of the New England States. The Lodge proved to be a perfect location for our activities in and around Williamstown. The Berkshires area surrounding the Lodge is truly beautiful, with a range of outdoor and cultural activities on offer. We enjoyed waking up each morning to a wonderful view of the distant mountains and to the prospect of a gourmet breakfast cooked by our host, Carlos We enjoyed the wide-ranging discussions we had with Carlos at breakfast and at other points during our stay. He also provided us with thoughtful suggestions for dinner on each of the nights of our stay and made the bookings for us. Both recommendations were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Confluence2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_and_Alan, Owner at Journey's End Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We were delighted to have you join us for a visit at our home in the Berkshires - Journey's End Lodge. We are fortunate to have had you and many other interesting, widely traveled, and diverse guests from every corner of the globe visit us. The quality of our guests ensures wide-ranging and interesting conversations like those we enjoyed during your visit and we are especially pleased that you deemed our breakfasts of gourmet quality and our recommendations and bookings for dinner to be excellent. We look forward to making similar bookings for you in the future and have many other breakfast dishes we hope you'll come to Journey's End to enjoy.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My partner and I had a great time staying at this stunning bed and breakfast in Williamstown, MA. The moment you enter, you instantly see (and even smell) the impressive logs that create the foundation for this wonderful home. The interior is very warm and inviting. The gourmet breakfasts were delicious and Carlos and Alan even made special modifications to accommodate to my vegan preferences.You are within a few miles to all the cultural events which Williamstown and North Adams have to offer. Mt. Greylock's north side is a ten minute drive and great for hiking.

Thank you Carlos and Alan! We plan to definitely return and stay in your unique and inviting lodge!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluerun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_and_Alan, Owner at Journey's End Lodge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We look forward to your return to Journey's End Lodge as we have many special dishes for our vegan guests that we'd like you to enjoy. We'll be sure to remember what we served on this, your first visit, and not to repeat any dishes on your return. I have a vegan recipe centered on brussel sprouts and pine nuts, and another based on quinoa - both are delicious and I'll be sure to prepare these when you come back to visit Journey's End and Williamstown. Beyond Journey's End, as you correctly point out, there are many warm, inviting, and delightful places to visit and things to do. Perhaps you could find time to enjoy the Theatre Festivals in Williamstown as well as nearby Pittsfield and Lenox. And, we shouldn't forget Fall Colors. Best Wishes to both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location and great attention to detail! Lovely in every way! Only wish they had one King room. Is lovely in every season I'm sure! Highly recommend this place! Look for the log cabin mailbox... Not immediately obvious from the street!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mniepold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_and_Alan, Manager at Journey's End Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your helpful review. We're glad you agree with our choice of location and term it "Fabulous" and, we have to thank Judy Conroy of Bennington Furniture for her help in assembling the "detail" that makes Journey's End as comfortable as home. We appreciate your suggestion as to a "King" room; we may actually convert the Mount Cobble Master bedroom into a room with a King size bed. It would make sense, actually. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a great stay here. The building as a whole is understatedly beautiful - immaculately kept, and comfortably furnished and decorated with a great aesthetic sense. Our rooms were luxurious yet cozy - it was a perfect getaway for a few days.

Carlos was a wonderful host, and gave us some good tips on local attractions and restaurants. Also, his breakfasts were truly superb.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKzol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_and_Alan, Manager at Journey's End Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Your compliments on Journey's End Lodge, describing it as beautiful, immaculately kept, and comfortably furnished with great aesthetic sense well describe what we've tried to accomplish here. We want our guests to feel at home, comfortable sitting and reading in the Great Room while sipping tea or coffee. It's equally important to us that our guests not have to hazard guesses as to which restaurant might provide the dinner they'd like to have. We've researched local eateries and are pleased to make good recommendations. Finally, thanks for complimenting our breakfasts. We hope you return for another visit as there are many breakfast delights yet to be savored.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.4 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.4 mi away
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Journey's End Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey's End Lodge

Property: Journey's End Lodge
Address: 61 Cobbleview Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handcrafted Log Lodge, maginificent views, walking distance to Williams College, close to museums, theatre, hiking trails and music festivals. We prepare complete breakfasts including fresh baked goods daily. Munchies, coffee and tea are available all the time. We have meeting spaces available for our guests to use while they are in-residence. W-Fi- everywhere! Parking on premises.Due to the unique construction of this house we are not wheelchair accessible. Please no pets and no children under 14. Each suite has one bed, either queen or full-size, a private bath, sitting area, great views, ceiling fans and A/C. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing