We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would have loved to stay longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harrington House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We would have loved to stay longer!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We only stayed one night before our flight back to Germany, and we chose Harrington House because of the good reviews and because it is so close to Logan Airport. Pity it was only one night, we were sorry to leave - Harrington House is such a great place!
We stayed in the Boston Harbor Room, a spacious room with armchairs in the bay windows and splendid views of the Boston skyline across the harbor. The whole house is spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished, the beautiful shared bathroom makes you forget it is not en suite. We loved the comfortable lounge (and the freshly baked cookies in the afternoon), and with fine weather you can even have a rest in the nice front garden.
There is really good fresh coffee (and tea) available around the clock, and breakfast was delicious. The hosts are nice people, and we will certainly stay here again, if we come back to Boston.
Winthrop is a great place because it is quite close to the bustling city, but it is also a haven of peace, with nice houses, nice people and a beach!
And Winthrop has a very good Chinese restaurant – ask Maggie for details!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
47
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My family truly enjoyed our stay. The house was dainty and delightful. The hosts are warm and welcoming. The time and attention to detail did not go unnoticed. We were welcomed with home baked cookies which were much appreciated after the road trip. We woke up to an assortment of home baked goods along with their signature granola mix which is a must. Our intent was to spend time near down town Boston, once my family found the beach our plan took an unexpected turn. We now have some great memories and have a new found fondness of Winthrop. We will definitely return. Next time we'll lengthen our stay.

Room Tip: We requested an extra bed in our room for our teen. We were comfortable and had a view of the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vwvw888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Maggie and Joey are the best host you'll ever find in a B&B. They make you feel at home with their daily breakfast of home made muffins, fresh fruit and cereals. We rented the room with the view of the Harbor and it was worth it. The shared bathroom was okay for me. They have fresh towels and everyday. The bed was so comfortable that it felt like i have not left home. Their attention to details on their home was remarkable. The B&B is also 15 minutes away from the airport. Will definitely be back to explore the area more.

Room Tip: room with the view of the Harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hosts greeted us with a warm beverage after we arrived late in the evening and the let us relax before they showed us to our very comfortable room. They truly made us feel like we were in a home away from home. Allow some time to chat with them and enjoy the view of the Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
573 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

As with a previous reviewer we had been planning a trip to New England in the Fall and wanted to use Boston as a start and finish point. Hotels in downtown Boston were very expensive and had fairly indifferent reviews. You don't need a car in Boston with excellent public transport, so staying on the outskirts seemed a solution. A short $20-25 cab ride from the airport. ( fares are metered.) No ensuite, near an airport, continental breakfast at first sight might not appear ideal compared with what others offer but I can honestly say that once you arrive your choice will be fully vindicated and they make no secret of what is on offer. The hosts are up front, good people who have more than made the most of what they have and work hard to make you welcome and comfortable. You notice the attention to detail in the way the house is laid out. We stayed twice and both rooms were clean comfortable and tastefully furnished, with original features. There was no problem with the shared bathroom and there are two toilets available. You hear and see the planes but they don't really bother you. The house itself has an interesting history dating from the late 19th century and is of the traditional clapboard design overlooking Boston Bay. If the weather is right there are great sunsets to be seen across the marina towards the City. There is a comfortable book lined lounge with views across to Boston and at 4pm freshly baked cookies and coffee after a hard days sightseeing. Free Wifi available. There is a ferry to Boston but it leaves at 8am probably too early, so you can take the bus and subway. This is very easy as the bus stops outside and costs $2 each single. It terminates at the subway $2.50 to Boston a few stops to the centre. The bus takes you around Winthrop an attractive little town so the journey is simple and no hardship, taking at the most 40 minutes in all to Boston. A bus leaves just after nine and at regular intervals. Breakfast is again continental but everything is freshly prepared and a welcome change from other places we stayed. As I say this was a welcome and unique experience, at a very reasonable price, staying in a period property in an excellent location with excellents hosts.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eonaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Maggie and Joey were really welcoming, and the room and their home was lovely. It's fairly close to Boston to get there on public transport and we started each day with a wonderful breakfast that included fresh fruit and home made muffins/scones, plus Maggie's amazing granola (which she was kind enough to provide me the recipe for). A great place to stay :-). The only thing I struggled with was sleeping as it was a bit noisy outside at times, but my boyfriend was fine...and I'm an extremely light sleeper. It was definitely a great place in a great location and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneM1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I had been planning our trip to the USA for a year. A special 4 week long trip celebrating our 60th birthdays this year. Boston was to be our last stop before coming home and I wanted it to be special. Looking at the reviews for Harrington House, I thought yes, quiet clean and good breakfast. I received e-mails from Maggie giving us instructions on how to get there and everything was friendly and I was really looking forward to it.
On our arrival we were meet by both Maggie and Joey and after a really welcome coffee and cookies we were shown to our rooms. The room wasn't especially big but we did have a good view of the harbour just across the road. The shared bathroom caused my husband a few concerns but it was no problem and everything was provided. Next morning, we came down to breakfast and the table was laid, tea and coffee readily available as well as orange Juice and freshly made muffins. However that was all. Now we had been travelling in various parts of USA for 4 weeks and had had a lot of hotel breakfasts,but we were disappointed with the one here. There was no toast,no eggs or hot breakfast just cereal and muffins. Now the USA have changed and most of our stays were at chain hotels, where mostly they serve breakfasts now. We were not disappointed at any other but we were here. We obviously didn't expect a full English we are not that naive but we did expect a bit more. Also on our 2nd morning there was only one muffin left and neither Maggie or Joey seemed to be around. i think this is an ideal place to stay if you have a car and are only stopping overnight but I would not stay here if it was longer that one night. There was no ferry so we had to manage on buses and subway which although were plentiful it took a good 1/2 to 3/4 hour to get near Boston town itself. Maggie and Joey are lovely and friendly but we did feel let down by our stay.

Room Tip: You dont seem to get a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nerys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
Winthrop Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winthrop
439 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Boston Logan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Harrington House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Terrace Ave, Winthrop, MA 02152-2521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrington House B&B is a Queen Anne Victorian Home built around 1885. We have three well appointed guest rooms on the second floor with shared bathrooms. There is a large dining room with 25 hour coffee and tea as well as a cozy sitting room filled with books, a TV, laptop and spectacular views of Boston Harbor and the city skyline! Located just 4 miles from Logan International Airport and 7 miles from downtown Boston, with great public transportation, local summertime ferry and taxi service. Walk to beaches, boating, hiking, great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harrington House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing