We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Winthrop Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

It was Thanksgiving night and we were late for our check in time but Connie was there and very warm and friendly. The room was great! We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

Boston hotels are very expensive - this one is excellent value
Winthrop is near the T at Orient Heights and so easy access to the airport and Boston
There is a bus not far from the hotel that takes you to the T
We had a nice room with a sea view
The kitchenette allows you to make a snack and buy what you need from the local store for breakfast
The hotel has a nice restaurant with a good atmosphere for a reasonably priced evening meal

I love Boston and would come back to this hotel as Winthrop itself is a relaxed interesting community

Room Tip: We were in room 204 and the wi-fi reception there is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monfode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

A great alternative to pricey airport hotels! 10 minutes to the terminals,free parking, and extremely accomodating hosts! Definitely not luxury digs, but if you're catching a really early flight or arriving crazy late, this is the place, Clean and comfortable...try it

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Arrived at The Winthrop Arms at approximately 8pm on a Saturday evening after a transatlantic flight. The Hotel was not difficult to find, thanks to our sat nav. Being a Saturday evening the place was busy with people having dinner and the on-street parking was limited. Every single person we dealt with at the Hotel was exceptionally friendly and helpful. One guy valet parked our car and another took our bags to our room, which I was very happy about since there was no lift. The hostess (who I assume was the owner - Connie), was welcoming and checked us into the hotel.

I hadn't thought to make a dinner reservation in advance and was most grateful that we were ushered to our room to freshen up and told to just come back down when we were ready. The room and bathroom were both a really good size, very clean, well appointed and comfortable. We were seated in the restaurant really quickly considering how busy it was and enjoyed a lovely meal - our waitress was very helpful with the overwhelming choices on the menu.

The biggest surprise was the following morning, when we opened the window blinds and discovered a stunning ocean view!! Would happily stay here again and would recommend it to friends visiting the Boston area.

Room Tip: chose a room with an ocean view - stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

From the moment we walked into the Inn it was like entering a member of the family's home. We had a warm greeting. The room was plush and welcoming after 20 hours travelling. The meal we had in the restaurant was excellent and we were made very, very welcome. Don't be put off by the Inn being in a residential area. The area is very quiet. Only a short walk to the local cafe for a brilliant breakfast.Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. Will be recommended for the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed here to be close to Logan for an early morning flight. Not easy to find, this hotel has good food and an older charm that is fun. Across the street from waterfront homes, our room had an ocean view and was very comfortable. On street parking is not a problem and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: You can view and choose your room online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreigK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed here just 1 night to catch an early flight to Logan Airport. The hotel is only about 15 minutes from Logan but not real easy to find. It is really smack in the middle of a residential neighborhood, so parking and finding it was tricky. It smelled of disinfectant all night, but it was really clean! I think that it is also a residential apartment building, but don't know for sure because we arrived late and left real early----but the rooms had mail boxes on each floor!
It is very unique but can't say I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Boston Logan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winthrop Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winthrop Arms Hotel

Address: 130 Grovers Ave, Winthrop, MA 02152-1046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range: £74 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Winthrop Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where Winthrop meets to eat! Come save on dining, parking and lodging with the Winthrop Arms. We offer Winthrop rates in a Boston Market. Only 8 minutes from Logan International Airport and 12 minutes from Government Center, the Winthrop Arms is a "Must Stay" location if you are looking for great food & drink at a reasonable price and all the amenities! Look no further than the Winthrop Arms when traveling to Boston and come see for yourself what's kept us up and running for over 100 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Winthrop Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing