We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus New Englander
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Woburn
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Everyone at the was very helpful, they assisted with everything friendly and quickly. The room was clean and quiet. The only disappointment was the breakfast room is it was too small, there was never enough seating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adina P, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Englander, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Ann,

Thank you for taking the time to visit our TripAdvisor page. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are happy that were able to meet your expectations regarding our housekeeping and staff service. I sorry you were disappointed with the size of our breakfast room. We are planning renovations and will consider expanding our breakfast area as well, and in the meantime we have added some extra seating in the hallway for the overflow. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Adina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have stayed here before (a few years ago now) but this is my first time to write a review for my most recent stay in July 2014.

Needed a hotel in the Woburn area for a business trip and as I am a regular Best Western customer (Diamond Rewards Card Holder) I picked the Best Western New Englander.

There is nothing bad about this hotel but nothing great either, hence the 'Average' rating. My room was clean and comfortable and fairly well presented. However I think compared to the many other Best Westerns I stay in across the USA the cost was quite high at US$150 for 1 King Bed room for what it is.

The front desk staff at check in was friendly, but almost in an overly friendly, too scripted, false way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roberts69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adina P, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Englander, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Roberts69,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I very much appreciate your feedback and am happy that you decided to visit our TripAdvisor page. We value your business and we thank you for being a Diamond BWR member. We understand how important it is to have a clean and comfortable room and I am happy that we were able to meet your expectations. We are planning to do major renovations and we will be happy to welcome you back soon. Feel free to contact our sales office for locally negotiated rates.

Sincerely,
Adina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked for a family trip of 5. The staff was nice and the the rooms where comfortable but could have been cleaner. The gym was ok and the pool was nice. The breakfast was ok. For the price we are satisfied, but of course don't expect a 4-5 stars service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Damien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adina P, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Englander, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Damien,

Thank you for taking the time to visit our TripAdvisor page and for submitting your feedback. I am happy you were happy with the overall accommodation. I apologize if you were not quite satisfied with our housekeeping service. I will make sure to address any of your concerns. Please call me directly at 7819358160 with more details. Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Adina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is a great alternative to staying in downtown Boston (We paid as little as $118 for one of our nights). We chose to take the express bus just next to the McDonalds into downtown Boston. It was $6.80 each way, but it eliminated the need for the shuttle to the commuter train and it dropped us off right at the Old State House which is a very short walk to the harbour front/aquarium area. Free wifi was great, free breakfast was quite good, free parking was hugely convenient. It's also a short drive from Lexington and Concord for all the history buffs. Room was clean and beds were very comfortable. On a side note for anyone traveling to Boston for the first time: Have a look at the "Go Boston" passes before going to see anything in the Boston, Salem, Plymouth, Cape Cod, Lexington/Concord and Six Flags. You can purchase a multi-day flat rate pass that covers much of what you may want to see. We learned this a little late! We drove our rental car to Logan Airport at 6:30 am without incident in about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank galpine70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adina P, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Englander, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Galpine70,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review about your recent stay at our property. I am happy that you found our location to be convenient for your needs and that we were able to meet your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Adina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

While visiting Boston we decided to stay just outside the city as parking is included in the price and not extra like a lot of Boston accommodation. The train station is a 10 minute drive away and you can get into Boston and back for about $5. The hotel also offers a shuttle that runs on the hour which is a nice service to offer those without cars. Next door they have a pub attached called Waxys where you can get some good food and watch sport. In the mornings they have a hot continental breakfast for you including scrambled eggs, sausage and potato tots. Not quite sure if the eggs are real eggs though they tasted quite artificial. The staff were friendly all around from the front desk to the cleaners to the breakfast refreshing staff. There is a swimming pool and little fitness center for those that are interested. The rooms were of good size with the amenities you would want. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom which I would say is needed as they aren't the biggest. Overall this was a great little stay outside but close enough to Boston for the price and location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravellingPiglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adina P, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Englander, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to visit our TripAdvisor page and for spreading the word about our property. I am happy we were able to meet your expectations and hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Adina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I never write reviews but I had to do one for this property. I read all the reviews before I booked and I was impressed that they have addressed all the issues people complained about. We arrived Thursday night (July 3rd) and they had directions printed out for us to drive to the T (the Boston subway) to Boston to see the fireworks. They even gave us printed walking directions to the actual fireworks location from the T. Friday was basically rain all day so we made the best of it and spent a good deal of time at the hotel, which wasn't as bad as other places given we have a 3 and a 5 year old. There is a nice indoor pool (kid friendly) and a connecting Irish pub with a lot of space for TV watching or crazy kids. The room was fine, double beds like we booked, TV, wifi, no issues, your standard hotel room. The breakfast was pretty good - decent coffee, those make your own waffles, muffins, eggs, etc and a few grown up things like hard boiled eggs, yogurt, etc. The gym looked decent though we never made it. The staff was very nice. bottom line, if you are okay with driving 10 minutes to the T and training it to the city (30 minutes total trip), it's a very good option if you are not looking to spend $400 a night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adina P, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Englander, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Samantha,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey about our property. I am very happy that you had a chance to enjoy our complimentary breakfast, relax by our pool and dine at the Waxy's restaurant next door. I will share your comments with my team and we all thank you for being our valued guest. We are looking forward to welcoming you next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Adina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

we took a quick getaway to Boston. This hotel has a great location with minutes and ease into the city. the price was affordable. The room very comfortable and the service was professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Lucille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adina P, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Englander, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Lucille,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. I am very happy that you had a nice and comfortable stay with us and that you were happy with the staff service. We are happy to welcome you next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Adina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woburn hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 11 in Woburn
213 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston Woburn
1.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Woburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Boston Woburn/Boston North
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Boston Woburn/Burlington
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston North-Woburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus New Englander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus New Englander

Address: 1 Rainin Rd, Woburn, MA 01801-4627 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Woburn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Woburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Woburn
Price Range: £80 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus New Englander 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Best Western Plus New Englander in Woburn, Massachusetts, a AAA Three-Diamond award-winning hotel, which offers guests friendly customer service to make any stay a memorable one. This full-service Woburn hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms each featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to enjoy a complimentary full breakfast and complimentary newspaper each morning. Other hotel amenities include an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, business center offering complimentary email access, and free parking. The Best Western Plus New Englander also offers state of the art meeting facilities to host your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus New Englander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus New Englander Hotel Woburn
Best Western Hotel Woburn
Best Western New Englander
Best Western Woburn
Woburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing