We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn about the local fish and habitat”

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Ranked #4 of 13 things to do in Woods Hole
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Internationally renowned marine biology research center.
Truckee, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Learn about the local fish and habitat”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We enjoyed this aquarium which featured lots of local fish in tanks. You could also go behind the wall to view the tanks from the other side, as well as watch the feeding of the seals. Small and interesting!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxandKrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    42
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I took our 2 children here. It's a small little museum even with the 2 floors, but the displays were interesting and we enjoyed our time there. We were there on the off season, so found a close place to park, but I can see how it would be impossible to find a parking place during the summer. Admission is free, although we left a donation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family history here for me”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have a few relatives that have worked at WHOI over my lifetiime. WHOI is near and dear to my heart and all that it stands for.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Airforcemom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit...”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I really wanted to see a seal, so I knew that would have one here. The attraction is free with a suggested donation. We had a really good time, getting a chance to see up close all the fish and other creatures you can see in the ocean around Cape Cod. There is also a petting area where you can touch a starfish and other sea life. Oh, and I found a seal, two to be exact. They were playful and fun to watch, We missed feeding time which I believe is at 4PM. Nice chance to learn about the ocean and spend an hour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour of WHOI”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our guide made WHOI come alive -- He was knowledgeable and friendly. A+

We liked it all and even got to see the Knoor docked for repairs. We would have loved to been able to go aboard for a closer look!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cestmoidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution also viewed

 

Been to Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing