We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Woods Hole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woods Hole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Woods Hole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just returned from a super nice stay at the Woods Hole Inn. This Inn has the nicest staff, food is wonderful and freshly made, the rooms are spotless, beds are great and the linens are the softest.
We wanted a getaway from the winter blues and this filled the need. Although the weather was still wet and a bit cool, the Inn and Woods Hole made a great experience and reprieve from our cabin fever. They are located close to the water- Ferry to Martha's Vineyard is right down the street. What a beautiful view from the rooms and the breaksfast area. We were in Room 10, second floor where there is a large deck that is accessed right down the hall. If only we had sunny weather it was said the sunset is very special. Our room was so nice, light and airy. Love the colors and furnishings. The owners put a lot of thought into designing the space in each room, yes I did check out other rooms before people arrived. Each was special and well planned.
Thank you to Kaylee who checked us in and gave us the tour of the Inn and Rachel who had many recommendations for things to do and places to eat. Being this was still off season she had Falmouth down and gave great advise on what to do or where to eat. We'll be back in season so we can enjoy more of Woods Hole restaurants and shops.
Audrey

Room Tip: Go for the second floor. Room 10 & 11 face the front street but have access to the large deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Audrey -

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are pleased your found the Woods Hole Inn worked as your winter getaway, and hope to see you again in any season.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    101
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
118
429
54
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loudon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We recently stayed two nights at this Inn and very much enjoyed our stay. My only complaint was the room heat. We could not control it as there were no thermostats in the room. The first night it was too warm and the second it was a little too chilly but we had a portable heater which made it OK. The staff was very accommodating and the breakfast was excellent. I would definitely recommend this Inn to other folks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prestonlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear PrestonLaw -

Thank you so much for this kind review. We appreciate your being understanding about the central heating system in this 1870's era house. In summer, each room has a window unit air conditioner allowing for easier personalized temperature control.

Please come back and visit us soon!

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband and I just spent the weekend at Woods Hole and it was everything I up had hoped it would be and more. The Inn was beautifully furnished, our bed was very comfortable, and the sheets were amazing! The food was delicious and presented nicely in a cozy, cheerful room with a great view. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Rachel, in terms of recommending things to do and places to dine. We can't wait to return!

Diane (Havertown, Pa)

Room Tip: Room 10 had a nice size bathroom and a comfy chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCGosnold, Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hi Diane S-

We are delighted to hear that you had a comfortable and cozy stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write this lovely review and can't wait to have you back!

Take care and visit us again soon.

Best,

Amanda
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, Ma
508-495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We went during off season, but still found plenty to do. The Inn was incredibly clean and had some of the friendliest staff I have ever encountered. You can tell they take pride in their establishment and work to ensure you have everything you need at your fingertips. It feels like they are welcoming you into their home. I would highly recommend this for anyone looking to spend a weekend (or more) in a relaxing and carefree environment.

Room Tip: The Penzance room is by far the best room, although you really can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quadcrazycota13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCGosnold, Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hello quadcrazycota13-

We definitely take pride in everything we do here at the Inn and are thrilled that it shows. We love the calm and relaxing environment that comes with the off season and are happy to hear you enjoyed it as well.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best,

Amanda

Manager
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, Ma
508-495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

What a terrific place. Went out during the off-season but still had a great time. Inn is charming, breakfast was delicious and the Quicks Hole Tavern (a few steps away) was delicious. We're coming back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jclawless1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCGosnold, Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hi jclawless1320-

Thanks for the review! We're so pleased you enjoyed our charming Inn and delicious homemade breakfast. It's great to have the new Quicks Hole Tavern just steps from the Inn for our guests to enjoy year round.

We hope you'll be back to visit soon!

Best,

Amanda

Manager
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, Ma
508-495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We spent two nights at the Woods Hole Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had been in Boston visiting one child and wanted to do a day trip to Martha's Vineyard to visit the other, so staying at this inn made perfect sense. Given the inn's ideal location (you can leave your car parked at the inn and walk a block to the ferry), we would have been happy with just a clean place to rest our heads, but what we found was so much more! The inn is charming and immaculate, breakfasts were plentiful and delicious, our room (#10) was spacious and comfortable (great bed, luxurious linens), and the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. In fact, we called two days before our scheduled arrival to see if we could change our reservation due to weather reports of an impending snow storm, and the change was made without hesitation or an extra charge. In addition, upon our arrival, we received a voucher for two complimentary drinks at a pub around the corner (how nice is that!), a $2 bill which we were invited to spend at the nearby local bakery, and a free T-shirt when we left. It doesn't get much better than that - we'll definitely stay at the Woods Hole Inn again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCGosnold, Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
smee33,
We are so happy you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Woods Hole Inn. Boston is an easy, short drive to and from the Cape, making Woods Hole an ideal location to visit. Although, we have a very strict cancellation policy, during our snowy winter months, we are sometimes able to accommodate room changes. We are really glad in this unique circumstance we could make the necessary change for you to have a safe trip into Woods Hole. We are excited that you enjoyed your voucher at our new Quicks Hole Tavern from the promotion you purchased. During your next visit we highly recommend checking out the new Quicks Hole menu on the recently opened second floor. Thank you for all of your kind words and taking time to share your experience. It was a pleasure to have you come join us for your two nights. We hope to see you again soon!


Best,
Amanda

Manager
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I bought this trip on groupon to be used during the "off season". I did not realize how much is limited while visiting cape cod during this season. Many restaurant were closed, as well as almost everything on Martha's Vineyard. So if you are trying to plan a relaxing getaway with a lot of in the room down time this is the time to travel. Despite the lack of entertainment the Woods Hole Inn was lovely. The front desk personnel, (I believe her name was Kaylee) was very pleasant. She was beyond helpful with recommendations and suggestions. The kitchen staff was a little less friendly one day not even acknowledging us to say good morning as we emerged for breakfast, although the breakfast was good I was expecting a little more than fruit and scrambled eggs. The rooms were beautiful and having your own bathroom in the room was a plus. This place plays attention to details from their own homemade soups to the luxurious high thread count sheets on the bed. If you visit make sure to stop at the Quick Hole Tavern just steps away from the bed and breakfast with fabulous food! Overall, I probably would not return because I feel we saw everything we needed to see of Cape Cod in half a day. As a younger couple we were a tad bored.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCGosnold, Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thanks so much for your candid comments Elyse! We appreciate all the reviews we get here, and next time urge you to try the local movie theatre (a cinema pub where you can dine and watch), catch a live band at year-round after-hours bars like Grumpy's Pub and the Beach House, and shop the retail stores on Main Street, Falmouth which is open year round. Younger people also love hopping on our bikes and exploring the eleven mile bike path that takes you past beaches, marsh and cranberry bogs for a great workout. Another cool day trip from here is to explore the outer towns of Martha's Vineyard like Menemsha and Aquinnah where there are really cool places to hike and explore. Next time!

Hope to see you again one day.

best,

Amanda
manager at Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woods Hole
5.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
12.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.2 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woods Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woods Hole Inn

Property: Woods Hole Inn
Address: 28 Water St, P O Box 4, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543-1024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Woods Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods Hole Inn is located across the street from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. With newly remodeled rooms and suites, award-winning modern decor and a killer breakfast, the Woods Hole Inn is a great place to start your Cape Cod vacation. From her perch over the harbor, the historic Inn offers water views, a broad porch lined with Kennedy rockers and a committment to eco-tourism. Stay GREEN by the deep BLUE sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woods Hole Hotel Woods Hole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing