We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so charming”
Review of Woods Hole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woods Hole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Woods Hole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Location, location, location is about all we can say concerning our recent stay at the Woods Hole Inn. Admittedly, there were six of us attempting to be comfortable in two rooms while sharing a rather small and sub-standard bathroom with one door that we had to use a waste basket to keep closed, but I must report that, other than its prime location right next to the Steamship Authority and the Landfall Restaurant and a nice breakfast, it is definitely a place for those who are used to the vagaries of bed and breakfast accommodations. Our rooms had none of the charm described in other recent reviews with inadequate air conditioning and an extra $15 charged for a roll-away after we had already made our advanced payment of $449 for the night. Therefore, I strongly suggest that anyone making a reservation nail down just what is being offered before making payment.

Room Tip: Closely question staff about room to be reserved - floor, size, bathroom, & view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_Edina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCGosnold, Owner at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Mike -

I am so sorry you were not totally comfortable in our "vintage restored" B&B in the center of Woods Hole. Room 8/9 where you stayed is a renovated suite with two rooms and the bathroom set between them. One room has a queen bed and the second room has two queen beds. Both rooms look out over our garden with the oceanfront harbor beyond, have A/C, cable TV and free wifi.

The rate on this room is based on an occupancy of max four people, and many families find it an affordable way to stay at the Woods Hole Inn. With more than four, there is a per person fee which helps cover additional amenities like our all-you-can eat breakfast which I am glad to hear you enjoyed.

Perhaps for a family of your size, an additional room would have been a better call than the cot, and I apologize if that was not made clear to you at the time of booking.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again one day.

Sincerely,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water St
Woods Hole MA 02543

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

The room was great; the service attentive. The parking lot attendant was particularly helpful. Parking in WH is near impossible; the Inn offers a small lot attended by knowledgeable staff person. It's as if your talented grandma cooked breakfast. Each morning, different breakfast items --very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Woods Hole Inn was the best experience I have had on the Cape ever! The location is great; you can walk to anything you need and the view is so relaxing. We stayed in the Nobska room which had more room than a mini suite in most hotels...the bathroom was amazing. The staff are wonderful; we arrived two hours before check in and went right to our room. There was a balcony right next to the room that overlooked the harbor with a magnificent sunset over the water! We had cocktails out there each night before walking to dinner at one of several fine restaurants...my favorite was Captain Kidd out on their deck overlooking a back bay. The prices were no more expensive than any good place...with tip and drinks 2 of us were out the door for $85! There was so much to do that we never put the TV on or took advantage of the free WIFI. The common areas were extensive and very interesting to check out...interesting décor-a look back into history. My biggest regret was that I only booked 3 days there...we could easily have spent a week and still had places to see. The Woods Hole Inn is priced right and you get great value including free parking which is huge because parking is at a premium in the area. You also receive several coupons to use at local establishments which was neat; we used some but not all of them. We are already looking at some Fall dates to go back.

Room Tip: The Nobska Room has windows on 2 sides which allow for a very nice breeze coming off the water. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A really lovely room in a great location -- we only stayed one night during our B&B driving vacation, but this was the best place we stayed. Although it was a little chilly to sit on our private balcony, we appreciated the in-room TV, the comfortable bed and the lovely breakfast. It was right across the street from a bicycle rental shop with easy access the 10-mile Shining Sea bikeway, which will be a goal for a future trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I just kept taking photos of the decor, so gorgeous. Looked like an Architectural Digest spread! The common areas were really lovely and comfortable.

The lovely Beth was a gracious and warm host.

The stairwell wallpaper was made from sign in slips of yesteryear. Have a read and try to figure out if someone was with their wife or girlfriend...lots of Mr & Mrs Smith's that's all I'm saying!

My room was fabulous and the bed was super comfortable. There was an iPod dock, easy chair, TV and free WIFI but no work desk, fridge or microwave. Coffee and water were available all day in the lounge.

The bathroom was gorgeous and I loved the walk in shower and the toiletries were fab, especially the sea creature soaps. There was also a claw-footed bathtub, which I also enjoyed.

The breakfast was buffet style and superb. It was hard to drag myself away to get on the ferry.

I highly recommend this B&B and would be there right now if I could!

Room Tip: Nonamessett is a corner room and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We are on a 3 week road trip of the east coast. So we only were scheduled for one night at this wonderful place. But as soon as we arrived we knew we had to stay more. It is in a perfect location and They save a place for you to park and even take your luggage in when you get there. The beds were very comfortable and everyone was always asking if we needed anything. Breakfast was delish and it was fun wondering around in the house with other guest at night. This has been one of my all time favorite B&B's I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Inn at Woods Hole is a lovely place to stay right in the middle of Woods Hole, close to restaurants and stores. There are few rooms and it feels like a house, with common spaces downstairs for reading and having your morning breakfast, as well as a deck on the second floor where you can sit and rest during the afternoon or evening. Breakfast was delicious, it included both hot and cold options, and can be enjoyed either in the lovely room inside or at the tables outside, weather permitting. Our room (Penzance) was nice and clean, it had a large bathroom, a beautiful deck overseeing the port and plenty of light from windows and optional AC if necessary, which we used during nights given that our windows opened onto the fan from the downstairs neighboring restaurant. The staff are wonderful and very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper levels have nicer views and are farther away from the street noise. Rooms of west fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mezambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woods Hole
3.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
660 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
3.3 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treehouse Lodge
Treehouse Lodge
#2 of 2 in Woods Hole
15 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woods Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woods Hole Inn

Address: 28 Water St, P O Box 4, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543-1024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Woods Hole
Price Range: £176 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods Hole Inn is located across the street from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. With newly remodeled rooms and suites, award-winning modern decor and a killer breakfast, the Woods Hole Inn is a great place to start your Cape Cod vacation. From her perch over the harbor, the historic Inn offers water views, a broad porch lined with Kennedy rockers and a committment to eco-tourism. Stay GREEN by the deep BLUE sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woods Hole Hotel Woods Hole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing