We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag...”

The Steamship Authority - Martha's Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Woods Hole
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Serving over 2 million travelers to Martha's Vineyard, the Steamship Authority is the largest ferry provider on Cape Cod, offering the lowest fares, the most departures and year-round service for passengers, vehicles and trucks. We offer off-site parking and free shuttle service to our Woods Hole terminal. Check our mobile site for current parking and trip status. Whether you come for a day, or a longer stay, the Steamship Authority is the Way to Go with our spacious ships, the most frequent daily departures, and U.S. Coast Guard-certified crews to get you there safely. From the moment you step on board, you'll have that vacation feeling. Sit outdoors for the sea breezes and spectacular ocean views, or find cozy, comfortable seating indoors. For your enjoyment, our snack bars offer beverages including beer, wine and mixed drinks, as well as hot and cold menu items. Pets are welcome to travel with you in designated areas on-board. The seven mile trip from Woods Hole to beautiful Martha's Vineyard takes just 45 minutes. And you have your choice of two ports for your arrival: Vineyard Haven or Oak Bluffs (May-October). From magnificent beaches to wind-swept dunes to historic town centers, a trip to Martha's Vineyard will always be memorable.
Roseville, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mixed bag...”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

On the upside, the ferries were on time. But indications of where to park (4 miles away) are not clearly laid out, and the printed instructions to these sites given out and the dock don't help much. The surly shuttle driver didn't help. Folks - please remember: People from out of town don't know where things are, and what the procedures are like you do. All I can really say about this experience is...we got where we were going and we got back. I'm sure Mr. Shuttle Bus Driver would simple respond "And that's all the flippin' matters..."

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    168
    40
    14
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Merrimac, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Heading to Martha's Vineyard”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We went from Wood's Hole to Oak Bluffs on Martha's Vineyard. We had no problems with our ferry ride. We had never brought our car on a ferry and it was pretty fun driving onto the boat. The ferry was very prompt with it's time and the announcements telling us where the life jackets were and when it was time to go down to our car was very loud and clearly audible.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank julia_fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First time on a ferry”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The attendants at the parking area was very helpful with explaining how secure and safe it was. The bus driver was informative with the ferry and a safe and cautious driver. The people at the ticket booth was also helpful with ticket purchases. The ferry ride itself was an experience. It was a slow and steady ride, but with all the weight it was carrying you couldn't help but go slow. The crew knew what they were doing and helped those who needed it. I would highly recommend this to other people.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Can't beat it”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The ferry leaves from Woods Hole approximately every hour and a half. The website is helpful for exact schedules. Their customer service was helpful with specific questions too. Eight dollars one way or sixteen dollars round trip per person. Easy on and easy off. Bathrooms and a galley on onboard. Can't ask for much more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CrystalN320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unethical, Unsafe, Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We encountered a non-handicap accessible ferry, a crew member that did not know general safety information about the ferry (exits), an unaccommodating crew for a simple request to nurse while on the ferry, an unsafe return shuttle to the parking lot where they told us to get on a standing-room only ferry even though we had a baby carrier/carseat with a baby in it, a shuttle driver who informed us that he's advised to cram as many people in as possible to prevent complaints that shuttles are running empty, and an overzealous company that charged $3 more per vehicle for parking even though the yellow postcard we were provided in the morning clearly stated the cost. I contacted the ferry company to provide the feedback on my trip and was greeted by an uncooperative ticket person who was unwilling to assist with feedback because that department was closed and would not open until the following Monday. After some prodding, she connected me with a manager who patiently listened to my problems and promised me he would speak with Mark Rosen (President?) the following day, who would in turn mail a refund or the difference in the parking charge and call me. It is now a full week later and I have received no phone call and no refund. Given the service and training of the employees I encountered, this is not unexpected, but it is unfortunate that all areas of this company are in dire need of help. They will not survive this way. They have competition.

Other ferry services exist. I advise you choose wisely for your safety and sanity. This company is clearly not interested in anything but their wallet. I will never travel with them again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank calcio22_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Steamship Authority - Martha's Vineyard also viewed

 
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Steamship Authority - Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing