We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locaton to explore Woods hole and visit the Vineyard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woods Hole
Certificate of Excellence
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great locaton to explore Woods hole and visit the Vineyard”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stay at the Sands of Time several times a summer and always have a great experience. It is very near to all the great shops and restaurants along with historical buildings that Woods Hole has to offer and its a great place as well. Sitting high atop a hill with sweeping views of Woods hole harbor and the Coast Guard Station. The rooms are nice an clean with two distinct buildings to choose from. We highly recommend the Sands of Time

Room Tip: We like the cool rooms in the older building behind the main motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thisweekonmv_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    23
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
25
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at the Harbor House, room 141. Another reviewer said it reminded them of staying at their grandmother's house, and it definitely had the feel of a well-cared for charming old home. Our room had a great view overlooking the Harbor from a old multi-paned wood trimmed bay window. The gardens were lovely, even in late August when the flowers start to wane, and pool was spotless.The room had 2 queen beds, wood paneled walls, a working fireplace, a large closet, a desk, two wing chairs with a table, an armoire with TV (which we never used) and a small, dated, but spotless bath with shower. The beds and pillows were fresh and comfortable. Air conditioning was comfortable and we didn't find the room to be excessively damp, given the location. Speaking of location, it was PERFECT!. Walking distance to the ferry, restaurants, and the entire town of Woods Hole. Given that parking is impossible in Woods Hole, we walked everywhere, and on the last day when we checked out, the staff was kind enough to allow us to keep our car in their lot while we visited town for the last day. If you're looking for a Hilton, this is not your place. But if you're looking for a charming comfortable convenient quiet friendly place to stay - this it it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMLPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We missed our ferry and were in be of a hotel room. At midnight we checked with Sands of Time. Luckily they just had a cancellation

The rooms furnishings remind me of staying at my grandmother's house. Even though the bathrooms and furnishings are slightly dated, the room was VERY clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.

You can tell that the management takes pride in their hotel. Beautiful flower beds and landscaping and the pool area looked inviting. If we miss the ferry again I would definitely stay again.

Thank you to the management for being at the front desk at midnight and being able to accommodate two tired travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wales616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Couples trip, we stayed at the "Harbor House" which had views overlooking the bay. The room we stayed in was a large, old, rustic sort of master bedroom with a full walk-in closet and full bathroom. The staff were very friendly to us and gladly answered any questions we had. An example of "going above and beyond" was when they allowed us to leave our cars parked in the private lot even after checking out in the morning so that we could walk into the town for a leisurely breakfast before heading home...it's not much but I think that gives some insight into their demeanor. Very comfortable beds, maybe some of the best I have ever experienced while traveling. The only thing that we were hoping for and did not get was a refrigerator in the room, so bring your coolers. Other than that small detail, it was a good experience overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Great Little Place To Stay! After A Long Day, And Some Bad Stays Elsewhere.. We Were WelcomeD With Open Arms! Clean Rooms, Great View, Very Friendly Management & Staff. Close To The Ferry To Martha's Vineyard. Very Charming. We Loved It And Would Definitely Stay Here Again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed hear several times for NAS/NCHRP panels. Typical cape property...a bit rustic, rooms are damp, internet service is poor. With that said, this in woods hole harbor and it has location location location. Eveni with its limitations, I keep coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelReview_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We really liked this quaint,old fashioned motel.although dated outside, the rooms are up to date, large and very comfortable..the location is great for catching a ferry to Martha's Vineyard.walking distance to ferries and downtown Woods Hole restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KRSWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woods Hole
5.8 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
789 reviews
2.9 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
517 reviews
3.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
94 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
953 reviews
3.9 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House

Property: Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House
Address: 549 Woods Hole Rd, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543-1041
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woods Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House Hotel Woods Hole
Sands Of Time Motor Inn And Harbor House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing