We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luscious ingredients, well prepared, and FAST!”
Review of Quicks Hole Tavern

Quicks Hole Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Quicks Hole Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Woods Hole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Quicks Hole Tavern is a New American restaurant and bar open seven days a week opposite the Martha's Vineyard ferry terminal in charming Woods Hole village. With water views from two floors, the Quicks Hole Tavern is known for great food, a large craft beer list and great cocktails. More casual dining and take-away is offered on the first floor bar.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luscious ingredients, well prepared, and FAST!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a wonderful addition to Woods Hole. We went in the summertime and had burritos and quesadillas. What a treat -- the ingredients taste super fresh and they have a wide enough menu to find something for everyone. Very kid friendly. (Think Chipotle, but local with more choices and more flair.) They also sell beer and wine by the glass. Indoor seating is limited; outdoor seating provides a great view and sometimes live music. Very close to the the Shining Sea Bikeway and the ferry.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RJLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    75
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great dinner here”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a very very good meal here. It's not terribly large but a pleasant room with bar upstairs while you wait for a table. Popular place and I understand why. Both the food and service were really excellent. The chef is terrific! Preparations were fresh, tasty, interesting and attractively plated. Maybe the best cod I have ever had. Good location in downtown Woods Hole on the harbor near the ferry terminal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
267 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Day trip to Cape Cod”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Drove down from Boston to Cape Cod to ride bikes. This a ferry stop to Martha's Vineyards. Just a few restaurants so you can't be to picky . The good: nice ambience, great desserts, and I would have to disagree with a review someone commented about wine prices- being wine drinkers; we thought the prices for a bottle of wine was very reasonable $34 for a bottle of Cab from NAPA Valley. The so so: main course was ok, not overly expensive but slightly overpriced

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick-Rozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“quicks hole tavern”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Terrible! Don't waste your time or money. Awful food high prices, cheap wines but BIG prices for them
The view if the parking lot of the steamship authority is great if you want to see cars, buses, and smell diesel fuel! People smoke outside the door and it drifts up to the restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCGosnold, Owner at Quicks Hole Tavern, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Paul S -

I am so sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the new Quicks Hole Tavern. Many people enjoy our inventive cuisine, craft beers on tap and water views looking out over the busy Steamship terminal and Woods Hole harbor. I am sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy these elements, and I urge anyone unhappy with any element of their experience to speak to the manager before leaving the restaurant.

We appreciate TripAdvisor for providing this forum where customers can give us unvarnished feedback, and we take all suggestions to heart. For example, based on this review, we will ask smokers to move further away from the building. In addition, we are expanding our wine list and have offered a corkage fee for those with fine cellars who might want to bring an excellent vintage in to compliment our farm-to-table cuisine.

We hope you might come back and give us a second chance to make a better first impression.

Sincerely,

Beth Colt
owner, Quicks Hole Tavern
29 Railroad Avenue
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0048
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best in Woods Hole.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

New, but the best food in Woods Hole - I tried them all. When they renovated the old building/bar they did it right and hired the right staff/cooks. Food is excellent -nicoise salad, scallops, fish! Only complaint was the noise at times. It gets loud. Some soundproofing will help you hear your table mates' conversation. Look forward to going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCGosnold, Owner at Quicks Hole Tavern, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Ken -

Thanks so much for this lovely review. We look forward to seeing you soon in the new Quicks Hole Tavern!

best,

Beth Colt
owner Quicks Hole Tavern
29 Railroad Ave
Woods Hole MA 02543
(508) 495-0048
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quicks Hole Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Quicks Hole Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing