We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blanchard's 101 Diner
Ranked #110 of 574 Restaurants in Worcester
Cuisines: Diner, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Really Good”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had breakfast there with my wife and daughter. Plenty of parking. Handicap accessible. Sat right down in a booth, but you could sit at the counter on stools. Friendly wait staff. Small, but very clean and neat inside. Typical diner size, though. Very good food. Had an omelet which came with toast, and the toast was sliced Italian bread, which was a nice touch (better than plain sliced white "Wonder" bread). No complaints at all. You'll like it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UPoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“THE Diner”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

If you are looking for a quintessential Diner experience, you've found it. Not a huge menu, you won't find Shoo Fly Pie and sixty flavors of pancakes, you will find all your favorites and done well. This place is clean! Read all the other reviews, I ain't lying, it's clean! I got two eggs, toast, bacon, sausage, homefries, and Oj, my girlfriend got a three cheese omelette, homefries, toast, and bottomless cup of coffee, and the bill came to $20. I thought the value was good and the food hit the spot, it's not haut cuisine but its solidly good. We were teased right as we came in the door, it was what I'd want in a Diner if I were to open one, so I'm definitely coming back!
Oh and they have an elevator if you need accessibility.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
369 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Cleanest diner I have ever seen!”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stopped by here on the recommendation of a picky friend. It's a little off the beaten path, not far from Holy Cross College. Large parking lot is under-utilized because they did not paint lines in the center...only on the sides. After that, no complaints! Good food...cooked right in front of you for the most part (some prep in the rear). Cleanest griddle in the universe. Pancakes require an appetite. I ordered a short stack (two) of chocolate chip pancakes and was basically fed for the day. My wife had an egg sandwich on a roll and pronounced it the best she has ever had. Coffee is excellent (a must for a diner). Home fries were tasty, not greasy. Lots of locals, with the chatter you might expect going back and forth across the counter ("Oh! I wouldn't have served you that fast if I knew you were with HIM!"). While we were there, five uniformed Worcester police officers took seats at the counter...usually a good sign for a diner. Can't wait to go back and try lunch. Opens at 6, closes at 2PM except Sunday, when closing time is 1 PM. Get off I-290 and try this gem!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trainman334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real diner experience in Worcester”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I was traveling from Boston to Springfield by car and decided to head out early and have breakfast half way in Worcester. Found Blanchard's and so glad I did. It's a small, friendly, active place with breakfast made in the diner tradition. Home fries are great and your breakfast is cooked to order properly. Worth getting off of the beaten path a bit to find.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruceww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great diner with friendly owner and staff”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

101 Diner is a place where they remember your name. Be prepared for a wait on weekend mornings because like any diner car, it's small. However, the counter is comfortable and many of the diner-standards have a twist that makes them special. My favorite is a simple egg and cheese sandwich on amazing homemade italian bread with a side of home fries. Yum.

My only complaint- a few weeks ago I was going to go in for a very quick bit to eat (seriously a cup of coffee and agg) a half hour before their posted closing time. As I walked toward the entrance a waitress rain town the stairs and locked the door when I was about 10 feet away. Left a bad taste in my mouth, but because all my other experiences were fantastic, I will be going back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blanchard's 101 Diner also viewed

 

Been to Blanchard's 101 Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing