We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopping Restaurants in more ways than one”

Boynton Family Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 575 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Hopping Restaurants in more ways than one”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

It is true from other reviews that I read that the Boynton can be very busy. And often there is a wait. But they always have a great beer selection. With different blackboard selections that are switched out. The restaurant is across the street from a very popular, fancier, seafood restaurant. I would HIGHLY recommend saving your cash because the seafood here is far better and less expensive here. It's a great place to hang out, have a few beers and chat. Just be aware that when it gets crowded it becomes a bit noisy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kellygirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    153
    45
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good pub food, great draft beer list”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stopped in here with a friend for a quick lunch, and I was really impressed with the draft beer selection and pub-style food. My husband (a WPI alum) had recommended this to me, as it was one of his college haunts. 50+ beers on draft (including 3 casks), a menu diverse enough to please everyone, and a nice casual ambiance make this a place I'd be happy to visit again the next time I'm in Worcester.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alligeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better than expected bar food”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

What college student doesn't want the "Boynton Classic" on a Saturday afternoon? I was pleasantly surprised though when the menu also included homemade hummus and even more surprised when it tasted great.

Asked for a side of baby carrots and celery sticks to go with it. SIde note: Years ago overheard a woman order them for her children, and I have been doing so too ever since. Most bars/restaurant will have the celery sticks and carrot slices for the buffalo wings.

p.s. There's plenty of parking around back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Supermom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This restaurant is a victim of its own success. There is usually 30 to 45 minute wait to do for dinner. The food is very good it's very reasonably priced. The bar is good with a good selection of beers in a good mix drinks. The problem is it is constantly so busy that it is very difficult to have a good experience. Our server was very pleasant knew the menu well but had too many tables to take care of. I found the dining room to be a bit over crowded. It was hard to have a conversation at the table without raising your voice. The food is very good the restaurant is certainly worth a try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ltdream33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston,ma
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of Choices”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

One of the first to have gluten free but sadly haven't embraced it, pizza crust and hamburger buns? Beyond that menu has lots of choices. Food overall better than average but some choices are better than others. Tables are close and it gets packed so pick a week night if you're bothered by commotion!!! Parking can be equally challenging, being across from the Sole doesn't help that situation. Service is very pleasant and efficient.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lks08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boynton Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boynton Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing