We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of History/Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Proctor Mansion Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Wrentham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed in the mint green room. The Mansion is still undergoing renovations and probably will be for years, can't imagine the money it will take to do a full restoration. The only thing stopping me from making this a 5 star rating, is the fact that there must be mold In the room we stayed in b/c I had an allergy/asthma attack overnight. Other than that, the room is beautiful. Such rich furnishings. Breakfast was phenomenal, on very elegant china. The detail in this house is truly amazing, hand-painted ceilings. Make sure you get a tour with Joan. She showed us the entire place. She is very hospitable, a great hostess. Will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nessa43443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

The house is amazing and we were very impressed with the way the owners are renovating but keeping the original integrity of the home. They just don't make houses like this anymore. The service was great! We were greeted by friendly staff and shown to our room. (NOTE: there may be water stains etc on the ceiling don't be alarmed. They are renovating and you will find a nice note on the mantle explaining the stain.) Ask for a tour of the home, its such a neat building.
The only downside to our stay was the breakfast. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great either. Just kinda "blah". Thankfully the friendliness of the staff and the beautiful house made up for the food. We hope to come again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daxandthara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

As an historical preservation enthusiast, I was thrilled to find the Proctor Mansion Inn. The owners take great pride and time to keep with the original time period, having rescued the house from near ruins and continuing to repair and restore. My mom and I attended the Mother's Day tea at the inn, excited to unexpectedly find (wrong turn) a venue that hosted such classy and authentic experience. Delicious finger sandwiches and plentiful tea finished off with sweet mini desserts. Highlight was the tour led by the owner, which was filled with fascinating details and stories. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Proctor Mansion has teas throughout the year. Be forewarned, you will not need dinner afterward. Tea started promptly at 3:00 with a mimosa followed by scones and tea. They serve their own version of Devonshire cream which is lighter and very good. There was a nice assortment of teas including some "new age" teas like rooibos. That's not how I roll. I'm an old fashioned Earl Grey girl. The scones were followed by an assortment of sandwiches. I especially enjoyed one with asian pear and pistachios. There were young people in attendance who were suspicious of the sandwiches and they were offered p.b. & j. and Nutella. One girl even frowned on the Nutella! That's a tough customer! The tea concluded with brownies, lemon squares and chocolate covered strawberries. The owner offered a tour. The mansion itself is full of beautiful details such as hand painted ceiling decorations and ingenious pocket shutters. It is not on the scale of the mansions of Newport. This was clearly a family home, but it is still quite a showpiece. The upper floor which was the servant's quarters is in the process of being restored and that was very interesting to see. If you are interested in the restoration of old homes or Victorian architecture or furniture, it would be a great place to stay. I live nearby, so, unless I'm having my floors refinished, I probably won't be back to stay, but definitely back for tea. For those who don't know the area, Wrentham is a very small quiet town, but there is a huge outlet mall on the edge of the town, great places for apple picking, several antique stores and is very close to Gillette Stadium and Patriot's Place. Patriot's Place has the Patriots Museum, CBS Scene, great restaurants and stores like Bass. There's a lot to do in this area. It takes about 40 minutes to get into Boston and about 30 minutes to get into Providence which is a nice little city with many architectural gems.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had a friends & family reception for our son and daughter-in-law recently. Everything was perfect! The event went without a hitch!
From the planning through the entire event the staff and owners were very attentive and helpful. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. Due to their help in planning and the wonderful work of the caterer, we had such a memorable day! The Mansion is a great venue to host such an event. We had plenty of room for all our guests and many have contacted us to comment on how wonderful everything was.
Thank you to The Proctor Mansion Inn for helping us make this a very memorable event for our happy couple!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fracdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We recently held a wedding reception at the Inn for a group of about 70 family members and friends. Cathy [Innkeeper], Brian [owner] and Dawn [owner] were present at the event to ensure that all went smoothly. And it did. Prior to the event, we met with Cathy several times to plan and review the event details. Cathy was a delight and provided meaningful suggestions to ensure that the event was well executed.

Although the Inn is currently being slowly restored to its former glory, the existing imperfections did not detract from the ambiance.

Russell Morin's Catering provided the service for the event and they were superb. Great food, staff and management.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Joan and Tabitha were sweet, informative, and just simply a joy to meet. The house is beautiful and we are excited about returning some day! We love the historic value it holds :) the place was kept perfectly clean and neat :) we loved finding sweets and treats tucked everywhere :0) the food was delish!! Thank you so much for a fantastic stay!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mybrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrentham
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Foxboro
125 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Franklin / Milford Area
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#1 of 3 in Franklin
542 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Foxborough Patriot Place
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Mansfield-Foxboro Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proctor Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proctor Mansion Inn

Address: 36 Common St, Wrentham, MA 02093-1467
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Wrentham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wrentham
Price Range: £154 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Proctor Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to step back in time to experience a taste of yesterday at The Proctor Mansion Inn. Built in 1861, The Proctor Mansion Inn is a striking example of Second Empire French Victorian architecture. Amazingly preserved and lovingly restored, it provides a glimpse of grandeur from days gone by.The Proctor Mansion Inn is set within a picturesque new England town midway between Boston and Providence. Each room in the Proctor Mansion Inn is different with original frescos, wood work and architectural features.  All of the rooms are uniquely decorated including period antiques and local original artwork. The Proctor Mansion Inn is extremely ornate and is one of only 7 in the United States of this Victorian style with the original interior intact. Enjoy the sweeping stair case, 14’ painted ceilings and the original servants bells still hanging! We are an Eco-Friendly Inn. It is our pleasure to server Organic, local and natural foods in our Signature Extended Continental Breakfast included in with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Proctor Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing