We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Village Inn Cape Cod
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A mixed bag.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

I agree with an earlier review that the Village Inn is like staying at your grandmother's house. The stairs are crooked and creaky, the furnishings are pleasant but worn, and there's a bit of a musty smell. There is a certain charm. The screen porch offers a lovely and relaxing place to read and chat with other guests.

The inn keepers provided a wealth of local knowledge and sent us to some great restaurants and beaches. They are generally friendly save for a strange incident when my husband entered the wrong bathroom and we were scolded excessively like children. That put an unpleasant vibe on the rest of our stay.

Breakfast was simple but tasty and generously supplied. The service was impeccable. The young waiter even anticipated our requests from the previous mornings.

The rooms were clean but the literally threadbare bedspreads and seriously uncomfortable beds were a deal breaker for me. If we return to the Cape, we'll be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momkms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
72
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

Went during July 4th weekend. We had a large room and an outside private bathroom. It was a little weird having to go out of your room to use the bathroom. The Inn was very quiet, clean and pleasant. We left early every morning and got back very late at night so we didnt hang around the Inn much. Didnt get a chance to try the breakfast either. For a busy weekend the price was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhdc2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

This inn reminds me of why I love Cape Cod. The innkeepers make it look easy as they generously share their wonderful crooked old Cape Cod home. The price is unbeleivable considering the location, and it was an extra treat to be able to walk to 2 popular and delicious restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catloverMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Village Inn in Yarmouth Port and were pleased all the way around. To start with, the rooms are clean and comfortable - no frills, but incredible value for the price. We had a room with a private bathroom and king-size bed, and everything worked properly and was very clean. Breakfast was again simplebut hearty and prepared to order. The rooms of the inn are casually furnished, with plenty of old-school memorabilia which makes for a very pleasant atmosphere for breakfast, reading, enjoying an afternoon drink etc.

The best part of the Village Inn, however, were the innkeepers. Karen especially went out of her way several times to make sure we had a good time. One day we wanted to go to the beach but parking was a problem, so she offered to drive and pick us up to spare us the chore of waiting in line for hours for a parking space. Also, she recommended we visit a small, local kettle pond frequented by residents of the area. So the insider's guide to this area of the cape, delivered with such hospitality, was our favorite part.

If you're looking for a great value, no-frills but very comfortable accommodations, and the chance to get to know the cape with the help of long-time locals, the Village Inn is a great choice. Also, the location -- Yarmouth Port -- is wonderful, within close range of the bay-side beaches, and the village center itself is quaint and pleasant. We had a great time walking and biking along the local roads close to the bay, and saw some scenery we'll never forget.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

Our First time in Cape Cod and The Village inn was the perfect choice. The location is Ideal if you plan to explore the Cape. If you want to spend $250 or more on a fancy B&B or Hotel room that you wont spend anytime in , then go ahead. But for $160 or less ( depending on room ) The Village inn is a classic 200 year old very well kept Historic inn with very nice rooms and great beds. its located in a beautiful well treed area that is less then 2 minutes away from Hwy 6 ( that you will use to get to most destinations. Dont worry you cant see or hear the Hwy ) Great breakfast. Mayflower beach is less then 10 min away in Dennis. Don't be lazy and Go to Provincetown. worth the drive. check out raceway beach. Also bike on the rail trail. Anyway stop waisting hours on-line and book the Village inn and get on with your vacation. Oh yes. We had our kids with us (9 and 12) and they loved the experiance.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capecape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paxton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

I stayed at the Village Inn with my two children. The rooms we stayed in were clean and suited our needs. The innkeepers are very nice and accomodating. The price is right given some of the high rates in the area. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to sleep, this is a good place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkrikorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

I stayed at the Village Inn one night while spending a week on Cape Cod. The hosts were friendly and offered helpful suggestions about the area, not the least of which is a nice boardwalk within walking distance. They also allowed me use of their piano for some morning practice.

The house is very nice, and the rooms comfortable. Excellent location in quiet and old part of the Cape. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth Port
3.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Cape Cod
The Inn at Cape Cod
#2 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Blushing Oyster Bed & Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Ashley Manor
Ashley Manor
#1 of 6 in Barnstable
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn Cape Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn Cape Cod

Property: The Village Inn Cape Cod
Address: 92 Route 6A, Yarmouth Port, MA 02675-1710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Yarmouth Port
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Yarmouth Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn Cape Cod 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Cape Cod Sea Captains Home, providing traditional Bed & Breakfast accommodations in a elegant and comfortable house with warm Irish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Village Inn Cape Cod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Cape Cod Yarmouth Port, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing