We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a good price”
Review of Oliver's Tavern

Oliver's Tavern
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch
Meriden, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Went to Olivers Tavern for dinner on a weekend night. There were 5 of us. Told there was a 45 minute wait or you can seat yourself in the bar first come first serve. Bar was called Plankes Tavern and was in the same restaurant. Service was a little slow but the food was good. Price was good also. Still don't know if it's two separate restaurants or the same one..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derdoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    50
    31
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akumal
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Service and Portions at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited Oliver’s & Planck’s Tavern, 960 Main Street (Rt 6A) Yarmouthport, and came away satisfied and full. The Tavern section is up front, and on this evening it was very active, even at 7:00pm. The restaurant, towards the back side of the parking lot, was a little quieter, and we had no problem getting a table for four, even on the Friday before July 4th; Oliver’s does not take reservations.

Our appetizers included: one half dozen Wellfleet Oysters on the Half Shell, on ice with cocktail sauce, and while they were on the smallish side, they were very good; a chef’s salad; and two cups of Clam Chowder, fresh from Cape Cod waters. Everything got a thumbs up, with an asterisk for the small oysters.

For entrees we went with The Classic Reuben (corned beef, sauerkraut, Swiss cheese & Russian dressing on marble rye) that was good, but not really up there with some of the better ones. There was an abundance of corned beef, so I ended up taking half home for lunch the next day. My wife went for the Lobster Pye (that is how they spell it), and this was spilling over with wonderful chunks of lobster meat. Our daughter went for the Cedar Plank Salmon done in the wood fired oven and finished with a honey ginger glaze; this is her favorite and a no-brainer whenever we come here. Our son-in-law had to have the Seafood Flatbread, a rustic herb flatbread topped with lobster, shrimp, sea scallops, roasted red peppers, fresh basil chiffonade and shredded Asiago cheese, then baked in the wood fired oven that we could see from our table; this is rightly called “Seafood” flatbread, because it was loaded with seafood.

The service was excellent and the portions are ample. Half of the Ruben and Cedar Plank Salmon left with us after we went whole hog on the Italian Lemon Cake and the Chocolate Death – there was nothing left over from either of these.

Oliver’s & Planck’s Tavern is a good family restaurant with plenty of parking, good service, and fair prices. The one small downside is the televisions that are in the dining room; very distracting, especially when there is a Red Sox baseball game on.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheAkumalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Poor quality food, kind of typical for a tourist place”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I wasn't too hungry so ordered the sampler rolls appetizer. $10 for three spring rolls cut in half with a cheap, heavily sweetened dipping sauce. It is a goos job they were greasy as the fat filled me up. Most of the party (7 of us) were unimpressed with their food too. Alfredo with steak tips but no broccoli, spinach salad...emphasis on the spinach for example. The beer choices were very good, and the waitress was friendly. We won't go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JLB010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,160 helpful votes
“Please sir, I (don't) want some more”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Some local friends recommended Oliver's, so we stopped in. Unfortunately, we must have caught them on an off day.

We were delighted at first to see an extensive menu, including some tempting specials. When we tried to order the specials, our server informed us that these were the previous night's specials and that the bill of fare should have been removed from the menu--they were no longer available. Not deterred, we decided to split an order of assorted spring rolls and a broiled combo seafood platter (stuffed shrimp, scallops, haddock). Before the menu was switched on us, we considered the “Mixed Grill,” so my companion ordered a red Zinfandel. But when it arrived, she was given a white Zinfandel, which our server had to correct. Then we discovered the menu switch, but it was too late to change the order to better wine choice for broiled seafood.

The spring rolls were quite greasy and not very tasty, nowhere near as good as the ones you get in a typical Chinese restaurant. There was enough seafood for both of us, but the fish was not particularly remarkable. The French fries took up more than half the plate. We are glad we tried Oliver's, but we will not be back. There are plenty of other restaurants nearby that offer the same or better, and with smoother service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StarWeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dennis, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and service”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We hadn't been in a while to Planks Tavern and now I know we should go more often. Service was excellent and the brick oven pizza was great. Our waitress was wonderful and the everything met our expectations and more. This is going to be our new regular place for dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gdgk1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oliver's Tavern also viewed

Dennis, Cape Cod
Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Oliver's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing