We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The True Cape Experience”
Review of Crook Jaw Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crook Jaw Inn
Reviewed 12 February 2007

Some freinds and I were traveling and wanted to stay at a B&B on the Cape. It was a last minute trip and all I can say is WOW!! It was without a doubt the nicest B&B we have ever stayed at. From the ambiance to the owner's attention to detail in decorating and comfort. I felt pampered yet able to leisurley enjoy myself. The recommendations for nearby sites were top notch including restaraunts. Brian the owner is a master chef. I only wished he offered lunch and dinner.

It was easy to fine and immaculately clean both inside and out.

This was truly a wonderful weekend and I highly recommend a stay. We will defintely return!

Thank you Brian for a wonderful experienc.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank hansonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2007

I took my husband toCrook' Jaw Inn for his birthday. We had a wonderful time. Brian is a great host and he made us feel right at home! He made great dining and lunch suggestions. Not only were these restaurants delicious, but they were in walking distance. Brian's breakfast was also a wonderful dining experience. He served gourmet lemon pancakes, fruit including an assortment of berries, sausage, and homemade muffins. We look forward to our next stay at the Crook'Jaw Inn!

Stayed: January 2007
10  Thank Foxbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2006

My wife and I stayed for two nights, mid-week, whilst visiting family in Boston.

The Innkeepr, Brian, made us feel very welcome and the B&B was more than we could have hoped for. It gave that special New England feel that we were looking for and he gave some great recommendations fo things to do; and was quick to answer any questions about the area.

The room (we stayed in Fireside) was clean and nicely decorated, with a bed that was so comfortable that you didn't want to leave. The rest of the B&B was just as comfortable and nicely decorated.

The breakfasts were lovely and my particular favourite was the breakfast souffle, so filling that we didn't need lunch 'til 4 pm!

The Crook Jaw blend coffee was delicious and we would definately recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed: September 2006
12  Thank FATBOY_the_original
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Crook’ Jaw Inn for four nights in August. Having read previous glowing reports about the high standard of service at the Inn, we arrived with high expectations. I am delighted to say that Brian, the owner, easily exceeded these. During our stay there was a cosmopolitan group of guests from Europe and the USA.

We had the Captain Crocker room in the oldest part of the house. It is larger than many hotel rooms and has bags of character with all modern amenities. But it is the two public lounges that are the stars of this 17th century historic building. They are very comfortably furnished in period style and you have the impression of being in a family home with books, games, music and TV to hand and all of very high quality. Find the storybook that is the source of the Inn’s name!

In a third public dining room, Brian served each day a different cooked breakfast plate with an originality and flavour that I had not previously experienced in any US hotel – have you had an Oatmeal Soufflé before? My wife departed with two of Brian’s recipes.

For a visit to a most attractive and quiet nearby beach (and, unusually, free parking), Brian provided free cold drinks, towels, chairs and umbrella. Otherwise the Inn is situated on the more select northern part of the Cape with easy access to all popular destinations and activities including whale watching, shopping and the Bicycle Rail Trail. Brian will gladly advise on whatever interests you. We took advantage of a number of excellent restaurants within a couple of minutes stroll to maintain the relaxed lifestyle.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank piketail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Crook Jaw in Yarmouthport in July of 2006. The owner Brian went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. He was down to earth, accommodating, but without being nosy or overbearing. The rooms were quaint, nicely appointed, and were in great shape, considering the age of the house itself. Brian has done an excellent job at renovating. The breakfast was delicious.

We would highly recommend the Crook Jaw Inn for a short or longer stay on the quiet, classy side of Cape Cod (off the Route 25, more commercial path).

Feel free to email with any questions.

glennstewart@comcast.net

Stayed: July 2006
10  Thank gtstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2006

My husband and I just returned from an idyllic 5 day/4 night stay at the Crook Jaw Inn. We love the Cape, and this B&B offered the best of it. We stayed in the Fireplace Rm for 2 nights (very cozy, pretty decor, best bed in the house), and 2 nights in the Seaview Rm (largest rm in the house, lots of room to stretch out). We loved the common space downstairs: we chatted Red Sox with a lovely couple from Braintree while unwinding with chilled wine.

Besides the great accomodations (at a great price), the real reason to stay is the hidden amenities. The reviews are really true: Brian cooks a fabulous breakfast every morning. I couldn't leave without the recipe for Lemon Zest Pancakes. We were not hungry til 3pm every day, so we were only responsible for dinner & a light snack. Brian supplied free bottles of water, diet coke, extra beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas - you name it, Brian had it. It's like staying at a hotel with a full concierge, but with more charm.

Crook Jaw is situated in a great location on MidCape. Yarmouth Port is so quaint, rated a top small town by Frommer's. We loved the proximity to everything & easy accessiblity to the lovely antiquing/shopping on the Cape. We will stay there again & highly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank Taterheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2006

We have recently returned from a week-long stay on Cape Cod, and upon the recommendation of our daughter (who had been there 10 years ago) spent that time at the Crook' Jaw Inn. We arrived a day early, but Brian, the owner-host, was able to accommodate us and happily did so.

We stayed mostly in the charming (and very clean) Yarmouth Room, a gem furnished with period antiques, a four-poster tester bed and a spacious bath with whirlpool. One night we relocated to a different room - the Voyager - a bit smaller, but also delightfully furnished and very definitely with the authentic flavour of the 17th century house which the inn is. The public spaces of the Inn are also clean, spacious and charming, furnished comfortably both indoors and out in Cape style with all the necessary amenities - including a fireplace - as well as Cape art, historical information, books, etc.

But the real gem is Brian himself. A professed non-cook, Brian has nevertheless acquired an impressive repertoire of fabulous breakfast menus and the skill to prepare and present them beautifully. He is also a wealth of helpful local information. Beverages are always available, and one cold rainy day Brian made tea for not only us but also our 4 British travelling companions, staying elsewhere on the Cape but unable to sit down and enjoy so much as a cuppa in their own digs. We would and will return again. Finding a gem like this along with such wonderful hospitality is the primary reason we travel!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Waters Edge.Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yarmouth Port hotels
0.4 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
881 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village Inn Cape Cod
The Village Inn Cape Cod
#2 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Cape Cod
The Inn at Cape Cod
#3 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Blushing Oyster Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Kings Inne
The Kings Inne
#5 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#7 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crook Jaw Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crook Jaw Inn

Address: 186 Route 6a, Route 6A, Yarmouth Port, MA 02675-1712
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Yarmouth Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Yarmouth Port
Price Range: £105 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crook Jaw Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully restored Cape Cod style home located in the historic district of Yarmouth Port. Conveniently located to fine dining, beaches, ferries, whale watching, nature trails. The inn has 5 tastefully decorated guest rooms with AC and private bath. A full breakfast is served daily consisting of fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, main course, freshly ground coffee and assorted teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crook Jaw Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crook Jaw Inn Cape Cod/Yarmouth Port, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing