We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bad Axe
gjwoodsjr
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding. Here I am reading some of the prior comments and wonder if these folks were actually stating in the same hotel I was. From the minute we got there we were greeted pleasantly and checking into the room took a few minutes. After we got up to the room about a half hour later a housekeeper knocked on the door and asked if everything was okay and if we needed anything. No she didn't barge in either. To be honest I did not expect this to be a really nice hotel just because of its location. The room was a nice size and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast had scrambled eggs, french toast, biscuits and gravy, place a pancake machine. This is the first time I had seen this type of pancake machine where you hit a button, put your plate at the other end an after a few minutes 2 pancakes drop out. They were pretty good too. We used the pool and hot tub which was nice after a long drive. All in all I would stay there again if I was to go back to that area.

Just to make it clear, every time we walked by the desk the staff would say hi unless they were waiting on someone, nor would I think of anyone there stating ti someone that they were not welcome back, but hey you always have the complainers. Guess they are looking for a freebie.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    29
    14
    7
    16
See reviews for
36
15
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I traveled to this hotel on business. We chose it because it was the only national chain hotel available in the area. I regret that we did.
The staff was literally the least hospitable staff I have ever encountered. I used to work in the hospitality industry and I would NEVER think of not acknowledging a guest when they walked by. Yet this was our consistent experience over our 2 day stay. The staff wouldn't even look up from their computers to acknowledge us. Not once did someone say "hi" to us.
My husband, who is IHG Platinum Elite, got a late checkout. Clearly the front desk did not communicate this with housekeeping as they kept knocking on our door. We finally just left early.
The hotel is also very outdated and cluttered.
Overall, I feel that the staff at this hotel clearly feel that they have the monopoly on the hotel industry in Bad Axe and don't care what guests think. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LLambright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear LLambright,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sand Lake, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding (booked the group rate), room wasn't ready on time (it was about 30 minutes late, which wasn't a huge deal) but one of the housekeepers barged in on our room to "make sure our room was ready!" We were not thrilled about that, but it is what it is. The room itself was just "ok", nothing special, but it was quiet and seemed clean, so it served it's purpose. Nothing terrible by any means. But nothing spectacular either.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank melaniejean13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear melaniejean13,

Thank you for staying with us. We do apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused.

Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason we will follow up with the Executive Housekeeper. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Awful service...dirty room and Gary is just what everyone else said. I have NEVER gone to a hotel and had to clean my own room!! Botjlh nights same issues. I complained abourlt the filth...i get told by Gary I am no longer welcome there!!! Fine by me!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank vickie1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear vickie1027,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the room accommodations you had and the service you encountered affected your stay negatively. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you are hosting a wedding in the Thumb, do yourself and your guests a favor and avoid this hotel at all costs... Have them stay at the Franklin Inn. Without beleaguering you with our disappointingly poor experience, I will touch on the problems we had.

There is zero organization and accountability at this hotel - no coordination, email communication, customer service, etc. For example, without notice, 3 weeks prior to the date, all remaining open rooms on our wedding-block were released. Half our guests still had not made reservations and were fighting for space.

They were mainly fighting with the GM, Gary, who would not honor the block rate, was now charging double, and required a 2 night minimum. Gary openly argued at the front desk with several of our guests who, without warning, were charged 2 nights instead of 1. Because there is no accountability or communication, when you call (there is no other way to book) you rely on them for accuracy. Upon checkout, Gary disagreed with several of our guests who booked for 1 night at the block rate and charged them for 2. Gary felt entitled to do this because of the limited options in Bad Axe, the festival taking place the same weekend, and because it was his word against ours.

Before the ceremony and during the reception, I was on the phone with the hotel to try and fix the nearly dozen issues we were facing... 2 people actually had to stay in the conference room on cots (after pleading with the hotel).

The most disheartening part - when my bride checked into our room the morning of the wedding (which by the way was not comped) and kindly asked Gary to fix the issues, he threatened to kick her out of her room. "Maybe this isn't the hotel for you"... As if to say, too bad, it's last minute and take it or leave it.

Do yourself a favor... Stay somewhere else.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Ryan C,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Bad Axe.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandRapids
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

If you don't come in contact with the owner, Gary, your stay will probably be okay. Not only was he rude to myself, but I observed him in arguments with other guests in the lobby during my stay. Its sad that he can get away with acting that way. I grew up in Bad Axe, and it makes me so sad to think that he is setting an example for the community. I don't think he cares if he is rude because there aren't many options and they book up fast. Its like he's running a monopoly and is holding all the cards... he is the owner in a small town that has a limited number of lodging options. He's not afraid to threaten you in terms of releasing your room if you aren't agreeable. It sounds like the area hotels are often full on weekends and he's not afraid to use that card against you if there is a disagreement. Such a crooked businessman. I scanned through the other reviews and was not surprised to see his name mentioned. It makes me so sick to think that he is acting so rude and still making a lot of money every weekend because of the demand for rooms. He basically says, if you don't like it leave. So ungrateful for anyones business.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Erica c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Erica c,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel was a good value in comparison to some of the privately owned hotels in the area that charge the same price $95/night and don't offer the same amenities. The beds were very comfortable, working AC, complimentary breakfast included, and great pools.

Only negative was the customer service. Aside from the lovely woman who was working the breakfast buffet, the front desk staff seemed very stiff and borderline rude. I walked up to check in and the manager was working on something else and it took him about 2 minutes to even look up and acknowledge me at the counter (he was standing right in front of me).

I would recommend a refresher course in providing pleasant customer service.

Would definitely book this hotel again based on everything else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Axe
0.5 mi away
Ameriway Inn and Suites
Ameriway Inn and Suites
#1 of 4 in Bad Axe
57 reviews
16.0 mi away
Lakeside Motor Lodge
Lakeside Motor Lodge
#5 of 5 in Port Austin
27 reviews
17.2 mi away
Harbor Beach Inn
Harbor Beach Inn
#1 of 1 in Harbor Beach
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bad Axe Motel
Bad Axe Motel
#2 of 2 in Bad Axe
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe
Address: 55 Rapson Lane West, Bad Axe, MI 48413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Bad Axe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bad Axe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bad Axe is an exceptional facility from its beautiful decor, to its outstanding level of service. We are conveniently located in the Thumb of Michigan, just 20 miles from Lake Huron. Inside our hotel you will find spacious guest rooms all equipped with hairdryers, iron and boards, coffee makers and remote control TV. 2 phone with 2 lines and data port. Our Queen Suites include microwaves, refrigerators and comfortable lounging area. We also have Jacuzzi Suites that have the Jacuzzi in the bedroom with a king size bed and all the amenities that our queen suites have. Visit our indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center and game room. Don't forget to try our continental breakfast, every morning from 6:00 am till 10:00am. Visit Bad Axe, MI and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Credit card is required for stay. Cash payments are accepted upon checkout with prior authorization of a credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe Hotel Bad Axe
Holiday Inn Bad Axe
Bad Axe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing