We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fly fishing lessons . . . on the fly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pere Marquette River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Baldwin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fly fishing lessons . . . on the fly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

What an awesome day and memorable adventure! We lucked out with Frank as our guide when we arrived for our first ever attempt at fly fishing. Frank loves what he does and it shows--he also goes the extra mile to make sure his guests are learning, progressing, and having fun. His sense of timing and humor as we got tangled, snagged, and fumbled our way down the Pere Marquette was worth the price of admission. All we had to do was show up and let it unfold. A patient teacher, skillful navigator, and spinner of tales not quickly forgotten--Frank is an outdoor multi-tasker not easily replicated. I can't say which part of our day we enjoyed the most--but we all knew each other (for better or worse!) after sharing a boat. He was majorly disappointed that we didn't land a fish but avid motorcyclists all three of us, we also knew it was more about the camaraderie, the scenery, and livin' the moment. Thanks Frank--we'll be back whether the fish are biting or not! Mindy B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    9
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
9
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benton Harbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

As leader of a group of kayakers I was very pleased with our classic northwoods accommodation. Comfortable, clean, great food and the best part........Orvis the dog! The owner spiced things up with his stories of Alaska.We will definitely come back another time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton Harbor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Our local nature center booked a three day, two night kayaking trip staying at the Pere Marquette River Lodge. Frank did an excellent job of entertaining and feeding us. More food than we could eat, pork roast then prime rib. Excellent desserts with each dinner. Although right on M-37, everything was nice and quite at night. Frank has many great stories about his times in Alaska. Be sure to review his book on his travels to fish with the bears in Alaska.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daverly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Joseph, MI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed at the Pere Marquette lodge while on a 3-day kayak trip. Our group of 17 kayakers took over the lodge. Great accommodations and fabulous food! Frank provided us with hearty breakfasts, sack lunches to take on the river and buffet dinners. We were served full meals ( pork roast, prime rib dinners), with great homemade desserts. The hospitality, comfy lodge, clean rooms, great showers/ whirlpool tubs, fire ring at night, big screen tv (to watch the Blackhawks hockey game), and close proximity to some great rivers all made for a very pleasant stay. Thanks, Frank for taking excellent care of us!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 861Kayak861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

My wife and I love to fly fish but admittedly are still amateurs. After speaking with the staff at the PM Lodge we decided to take a guided float trip with one of their guides, "Uber". He was very patient and was more than willing to share the skills he has acquired over the years. Uber's experience, and knowledge paid off as we caught several browns during our trip. His love for the sport, his job, and the river was very apparent. The owner of PM Lodge, Frank Willetts, was also quite helpful as was the rest of his staff. They all clearly have a passion for what they do. We will definately go back to the PM Lodge again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marion, in
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I have been coming to the lodge for 24 years. For the last several years it has been under the excellent guidance of Frank Willetts and his highly capable staff. Frank is a 1st class outdoorsman and one of the most knowledgeable fly fisherman and guides I know. The accomodations are clean and confortable and very convenient to the river.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed at the PM lodge for two nights with a few friends. My room was inside the lodge and not one of the cabins. The room was very clean and spacious, it also had refrigerator, stove, kitchen sink and hood. Plates and glasses were also provided, the room is more like a mini-apartment.
The lodge has a nice big fire place that was lit up for us, very welcoming.
I don't fish but I ride off-road motorcycles and the Baldwin-Idlewild are has some of the best riding in Michigan.
Frank, the owner of the lodge and senior fishing guide, welcomed us like family, he knows his fishing all over the US and is a real hoot!
Definitely a fishing-oriented lodge, but perfect for staying after a long day outdoors, no matter what the activity is. Baldwin is just a few miles away and offers restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: from what i understand, the cabins are more rustic, but the rooms in the lodge are more of a three-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baldwin
0.2 mi away
Red Moose Lodge
Red Moose Lodge
#2 of 4 in Baldwin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Bear Lodge & Campground
20.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Big Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
21.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
#4 of 4 in Big Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Motel
Alpine Motel
#1 of 1 in Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pere Marquette River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pere Marquette River Lodge

Property: Pere Marquette River Lodge
Address: 8841 S.M-37, Rte. 1, Box 1290, Baldwin, MI 49304
Region: United States > Michigan > Lake County > Baldwin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Baldwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pere Marquette River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2015 Orvis Endorsed Outfitter of the Year Finalist, the Pere Marquette River Lodge is nestled on the banks of the world famous Pere Marquette River. We are a Platinum Level Orvis Dealer and Orvis Endorsed Lodging Outfitter Guide Service. We offer clean, comfortable lodging in the main lodge, rustic cabins and two houses on the river. The staff here are both very courteous and knowledgeable of the surrounding waters. Our full service Orvis fly shop is staffed and outfitted to meet your every need while insuring your best destination fishing experience. The guide staff here is unprecedented and well versed on many of the local rivers: Pere Marquette, White, Pine, Ausable, Manistee and the Muskegon. Feel free to check them out on the web page. If you are looking for corporate retreats, family reunions, mountain biking, canoeing, kayaking, or a relaxed round of golf or just good old fashion fun the lodge is the perfect place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pere Marquette River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing