We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Van auken lake”
other travellers have booked this property
Front deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front deck
two kayaks with paddles are a fun way to get around the lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Front deck
two kayaks with paddles are a fun way to get around the lake
gorgeous view from the deck
grill sits on one side of the deck
back and west side of the cottage
view out of the sunroom
cottage sweet cottage!
double bed
plenty of fishing poles and tackle
open kitchen with cups, plates, cutlery, and any cooking utensils you'll need!
bathroom- always stocked with fresh linens
a campfire is a good way to finish any day!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bangor, Van Buren County, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kevin1108...
1 review
“Van auken lake”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Great place very clean! The only downfall was the bed was small and uncomfortable but otherwise would completely recommend. The host is amazing and gave great tips about the area!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor, United States
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sun room.
Liked least: The small bedrooms.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kristin H
1 review
“Perfect Family get away”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our first family vacation with our 2 children ages 3 and 6 years old. We really enjoyed our stay at the Van Auken Lake Cottage. The cottage was clean and had every thing we needed. ( besides cloths & food) We enjoyed the Canoe and Kayaks on the water. We really liked the spacious back room where we drank out coffee while the kids watched TV . We hope to come back again sometime.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for taking time to give us a review. So happy you had a nice stay. We welcome you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa847
Elkhart, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to relax and get away from your normal responsibilities.”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It was cold and rained a lot, but we had plenty of places to curl up with a book. My husband preferred the sunroom and deck, while I preferred the inside sitting area. Being cooped up in a hotel room would have been awful.

Having a fully stocked kitchen was wonderful. I planned our meals for our our ten day stay and bought groceries ahead of time. I loved the glass top stove! The reverse osmosis water was really good too.

The leaves were beautiful reflecting off the mirror of the lake. We only had one fire because of the rain or wind, but everything is there.

The owners were very friendly and a text away if we needed anything. They even shared some leftover dessert from a gathering at their house. (Thank you for that).

As others have said, the bedrooms are tiny. Since my husband is tall we chose to each take a room. There are no closets, but there are plenty of hooks and hangers.

There are inside and outside games provided along with fishing poles and tackle. There is also a grill on the deck.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome weekend getaway!”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I came here with my boyfriend and another couple and we really loved this cozy little cottage! It was so cute and quaint and very well kept. We were able to grill outside and enjoy the lovely deck and took advantage of using the row boat, paddle boat, and kayaks. We also used the fire pit as well and the owners had cut some wood for us to use which was really nice. We had such a great time. It was the quiet weekend we were looking for! My favorite room was the back room with the sliding doors that overlooks the lake, once it cools down at night the breeze is so lovely. I would definitely come back here again! Thank you! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and comforts of home readily available
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a perfect get a way! This cottage was adorable & was perfect for a few days away to unwind and relax. The owners were very nice & respected our privacy. We will definitely be back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn H
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage right on the lake”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a delightful cottage - lovely appointments and spacious living area and great deck facing the lake. All amenities - fully furnished kitchen, etc. Very clean throughout and very hospitable and cordial owners without being intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing