We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Dr. John Harvey Kellogg Discovery Center
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located just west of downtown Battle Creek, this recreated 19th century village takes visitors back in time through reenactments, restored and replicated buildings to tell the story of a people who lived to honor God. Visitors experience living history in a restored log cabin, one-room schoolhouse, and the houses of the Adventist pioneers who settled in the west end of Battle Creek in 1855. Sunday – Friday from 10am to 4 pm, Saturday from 2pm to 4 pm. Call ahead for an appointment. Admission by donation. We are closed the follow Holidays: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Years Day.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Helena, MT
Level 6 Contributor
975 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I was born in Battle Creek but been gone for many years. We used to tour the Post and Kellogg plants but that is no longer possible.

I remembered from those days about the cereal being invented due to health research like Postum being a substitute for coffee. I knew there was a religious connection but didn't know about 7th Day Adventist, all a learning experience and this is a great place to learn about it all. Glad we went.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ehhh.”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband thought this was going to be about cereal no matter how many times I told him it wasn't. When we got there, we only had limited time as we were just passing through. They wanted us to take the tour of the village. We got through three houses in an hour and a half before we finally said we needed to leave. Wish they would've let us go into the museum first as we didn't have time to see everything. Also wish they would've given an overview as to what we were going to be seeing before seeing it as we are not Seventh-Day Adventists and didn't really know what they were talking about all the time. Our tour may have gone smoother if it wasn't the tour guides first day (poor guy) and he had a Czech family that was having to translate everything he said. Probably wouldn't stop back by here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank wigx2154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kellogg museum”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

A fascinating collection of Dr Kellogg's inventions. A very strange yet creative individual who tried to help society at that time improve their health and outlook on eating properly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank bhefter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Introduction to Adventism”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Small but nice collection of historic buildings and museum...really more abut Seventh Day Adventsm than Kellog...but interesting!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ChurchGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Fun, Unexpected Treat in Battle Creek”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The Dr. John Harvey Kellogg Discovery Center was a wonderful and quirky part of our stay in Battle Creek. We were really just passing through Michigan but have always been intrigued by the movie "The Road to Wellville" which features the health farm of Dr. John Harvey Kellog, so we needed to check this place out. Admission was a donation. The Discovery center is not large, but is filled with a collection of exercise equipment and oddities used to treat various sicknesses and conditions at the original sanitarium. Several of the pieces can be tried out and signs and photographs explain and illustrate how Kellog's different methods were implemented. Pieces range from the primitive, yet typical mechanical gym, to the Electric Light Bath Cabinet-a luminous box enclosure with seating for one-used to treat lung infections, depression and arthritis. My husband loves history and I love anything odd, so it was a perfect stop for us! The rest of the Seventh Day Adventist Village is across the street and although it was just us and another couple, we were taken to each restored home and the small church for a tour by the same gentleman working at the Discovery center. We met up with other groups touring as we made our way inside the church where our tour guide had me play the organ! We found the Discovery center to be the most interesting part of this visit. It took us about 45 minutes to tour the entire center, and an additional hour and a half to see the rest of the village.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank jetsetjules23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dr. John Harvey Kellogg Discovery Center also viewed

Battle Creek, Calhoun County
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
 
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
 

Been to Dr. John Harvey Kellogg Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing