We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Firekeepers Casino Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Battle Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have been to many casino hotel resorts. Never have our bags, luggage or cooler been inspected. All I wanted to do was relax with my husband in the privacy of our room and enjoy our favorite bottle of wine that we brought from home. We were instructed by the security gard to take our cooler and beverages back to our car and leave them there. Adult beverages from outside of the casino/hotel were not allowed. But we could order a bottle from room service. No doubt it would be a premium charge and of poor quality wine. That policy is to keep you in the casino buying water down drinks at a premium price. I later saw several guests walking around openly with canned beer clearly brought in from outside. This either IS or IS NOT a policy.
Every casino that we go to offers birthday bonus play the month of your birthday. FK policy is only on your birthday.
I was charged $6.50 a drink from the same bartender on two different occasions but on the third drink I went to a different bartender and he tried to charge me $7.50 for the same exact drink. RIP OFF! Of corse the beverage manager had some excuse and very reluctantly offered 15 reward points.
The pool and sauna area was packed with children and mediocre at best. This is a Native American owned resort. The grounds were nothing but bland, bordering and lacking any heritage theme. Anyone who reads this review.....if you want to stay at a top resort, relax,gamble and enjoy the surroundings... Go to Soaring Eagle. It's better by far and less expensive. We will not be returning. FK probably won't miss us after all. All they want is to get your money while your there at the least expense to them

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Michelynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firekeepers, Guest Relations Manager at Firekeepers Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Your post makes it obvious you did not enjoy your visit--a very rare opinion if you check the history on this site and others where the praise in nearly unanimous. Our policy is clear: no alcoholic beverages from outside the hotel or casino. We do not sell watered-down drinks nor permit beer not sold on site. We are certainly sorry if you ordered a premium drink and there was confusion about the price. Our Beverage Manager tried to address that on the spot. Tribal ownership's Native American heritage is proudly on display throughout the casino and hotel from the perpetual flame out front of the casino to the central hotel lobby's pillars honoring the Seven Grandfather teachings. We wish you the best, always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel at first glance.One would think certain provisions would be available.We always sleep with a fan,since you can't rent one I watched the ceiling until I just had to go home.Also is that supposed to be wifi.For the kids 17$ a movie,wow.So room is not worth it unless your really winning aaannnndddd let's face it at the end of the day it's " firekeepers" possibly the worst gambling hall I've been in.Im thinking next time I'll mail them a check and sleep at home.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slowbleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firekeepers, Guest Relations Manager at Firekeepers Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We're sorry to disappoint and wonder if you had called the Front Desk to request assistance with the temperature in your room. They would have been happy to help or move you to another room. Our casino has been well publicized as handing our guests jackpots ranging from small to huge: that near $1 million a few months ago to last week's $118,000 and $42,000, scores of jackpots in the $5,000-$20,000 range, etc. Sorry if you were not among those happy winners. Please check our Facebook page to see all the others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Firekeepers Hotel & Casino in Battle Creek Michigan is some place! We normally go for the entertainment but on any given evening it's apparent that many people like the gambling there. When we were there recently on a Saturday night for a show, there were no less than 30 tour bus coaches who had brought people there to enjoy their day. The staff is very courteous & conscientious of taking care of the visitors. It's quite easy to maneuver around the parking lot & inside the building. We feel things are clearly marked so we never have to ask too many questions when we visit. We can pretty much handle things ourselves. Security is very visible everywhere & we feel very secure at Firekeepers. If you are planning on going to attend a show we recommend arriving about an hour early for parking. Although there are plenty of spaces to park, if you want a closer spot to the hotel an early arrival is recommended. There is room for RV & mobile home parking in their open lot as well as a parking garage for smaller vehicles. The room rates are close to what you would expect at a hotel casino. The only semi-complaint we would have would be that the casino smoke seemed to not be as filtered as some of the other casinos we have been in. Don't get me wrong, it's not like London fog but it could be an issue for some. (I have asthma but it didn't seem to affect me.) The in hotel restaurants are of good quality both with the atmosphere & food. Eateries range from high dollar elegance to a 24 hr. sandwich restaurant where you can eat anytime.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firekeepers, Guest Relations Manager at Firekeepers Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your great review, Julie. You noted it all from our lovely hotel to variety of fabulous restaurants serving a fine mix of creative and familiar dishes; to the spacious parking for all types of vehicles as well as the high priority we place on keeping our valued guests safe and secure. The smoke you experienced will soon be alleviated as the remodeling for our casino lounge--Kabaret--is nearly completed. That remodeling temporarily altered our industry-leading air exchange system's upper level air currents and we look forward to returning to the accolades we received for our clean air. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from there. My friends and I stayed at the hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the pool area was very clean and relaxing! I love the fact that there is security everywhere, I felt very safe! The rooms are gorgeous and clean. And the robes are so comfortable! Planning a returning trip real soon!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bear1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firekeepers, Guest Relations Manager at Firekeepers Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced FireKeepers' outstanding staff, clean, safe and comfortable hotel and casino and all of our amenities. Five-star all the way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is my husbands and my favorite getaway!! We absolutely love this place. And I'm not a gambler! He gambles and I sit in the bar or our suite and read. The suites are as nice as I've ever been in, and I have stayed at four and five star hotels in Chicago and New York.

The food is always fantastic. We usually have dinner in the steakhouse, but the meals everywhere have always been really good. Including room-service breakfast. And you can't beat the five- star service. Also great entertainment.

And I can't write this review without giving Patrick Leahy, six-star concierge, a huge thank you!

Room Tip: You will be happy with whatever room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firekeepers, Guest Relations Manager at Firekeepers Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

We so appreciate your sparking review, Cindy!. In just its 2nd year, FireKeepers' Casino's hotel has quickly garnered rave reviews, matching our restaurants, casino and always outstanding staff's high level of guest service. The hotel has quickly become the getaway destination with top-shelf performers in our Event Center drawing thousands. Thank you for giving us a glowing report--and isn't Patrick Leahy the best! We agree and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Clean, spacious, quality bedding with extra pillow, nice LG flat screen, closet, refrigerator, safe, big bathroom and shower. Food in hotel area was reasonably priced and above average quality. No complaints at all. This was a comp, not sure about rates.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKAtheCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireKeepersCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Firekeepers Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

We appreciate your positive review about the clean, spacious and high quality hotel room and amenities. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We planned a couples night out and decided to stay at Firekeepers Casino. We had a suite in the Hotel and WOW what a beautiful room. The room was spotless and had every amenity you could imagine from a refrigerator to a fireplace. We also had a blast in the casino the choice of different slot machines was excellent having some machines you don't see anywhere else the slots were also very friendly. You can order a drink right from your slot machine and the waitress will be right there in minutes (WHAT A GREAT IDEA) The staff was exceptional in their service and always saying hello and making sure your stay was enjoyable. I will always go to Firekeepers whenever I get a chance to. GREAT JOB EVERYONE AT FIREKEEPERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firekeepers, Guest Relations Manager at Firekeepers Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for your sparkling review, William. We truly appreciate that your enthusiasm matches our own. Clearly observant, you experienced our high standards for guest service, our hotel, casino and amenities. Aren't the hotel rooms spacious, comfortable and clean? You bet! Our great Slot department works hard to ensure FireKeepers has the latest and most popular machines. And the "Rapid Refreshment" button on each slot gives each guest the fastest drink delivery going. Thanks again and please don't be a stranger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battle Creek hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of Battle Creek
6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Battle Creek Downtown
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Battle Creek
Hampton Inn Battle Creek
#4 of 19 in Battle Creek
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Battle Creek
Holiday Inn Battle Creek
#7 of 19 in Battle Creek
149 reviews
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Battle Creek
76 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Best Western Executive Inn
#3 of 19 in Battle Creek
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firekeepers Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firekeepers Casino Hotel

Address: 11177 Michigan Ave E, Battle Creek, MI 49014-8904
Region: United States > Michigan > Calhoun County > Battle Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Battle Creek
Price Range: £67 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-awarded AAA Four-Diamond 243 room hotel features a variety of rooms perfect for any occasion. Guests can enjoy one of 217 Classic rooms that feature an array of amenities. The hotel also features 24 Deluxe and Fireside suites that include separate sitting areas and expansive bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs. For the ultimate in luxury, stay in one of our Presidential Suites, loaded with extravagant features inducing a granite wet bar, full kitchen and even a baby grand piano. The hotel also features an array of indulgent amenities including a multi-level pool, steam room and sauna, exercise room, business center, room service, dry cleaning and laundry service, and ADA accessible rooms. The events center features a 2,000 seat flexible space that can be used for corporate meetings and banquets. FireKeepers Casino Hotel features 2,900 of your favorite slot machines, 70 table games, 15 table Poker room, 500-seat live Bingo Room, four exciting bars and lounges, and six sizzling restaurants. Try our Wine Spectator awarded fine dining restaurant, Nibi, and sample a superbly prepared filet mignon or a variety of succulent seafood. Chi Mon-ee's and Amazen Blazen' feature grab n' go food that satisfies. Mijem buffet features a variety of delicious offerings including seafood, Asian, Italian and an array of desserts. Enjoy great comfort any time of day at Cafe 24/7. Our newest restaurant Smoke n' Fire features interesting barbeque eats, great for any pallet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Firekeepers Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing