We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel That's Close to Being Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCamly Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McCamly Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Battle Creek
Laurens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel That's Close to Being Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We came to town for the Balloon Festival and visit family for the week of the 4th.

Staff:

I hate to start on a bad note, but staff is where I always start, so here it goes... This is what really irked me; I had spoken to at least two different representatives on at least two different occasions (one said she was a manager) to confirm that we had requested a fridge in our room (explained how we needed to keep the baby food cold). They confirmed my request for the crib and the fridge every time. They said that they could not guarantee it but it was definitely noted and they rarely ever have a problem filling a guest request.

Here's where it goes downhill. When we arrived, they said that they did NOT have any fridge requested and if we wanted one, it would be $10 a day (stayed 4 days). 1. How do you lose something that was 'definitely' noted only days before? 2. What's this sudden charge that was NEVER mentioned previously?

To there benefit, they did send up a fridge for no extra charge and the requested crib was ready and waiting. Otherwise, they were very helpful, asked what room we prefer, what floor, near elevator, etc.

Room:

Was an updated room that came with the request fridge (no freezer & was still dirty from the previous use in what looked like dog hair, >>gross<<), hair dryer, iron, single cup coffee maker.

Our room was 1201 on the end. We enjoyed the views (see pics) and privacy. Since we stay the 4th of July, watching the fireworks all over the city going off was an awesome thing to see. That particular room has a small L shaped hallway, that caused our room to be a little smaller, but we like that once the door was open, you couldn't see directly into the room, guess that makes it feng shui.

The LCD TV was a nice large maybe 40" screen and the bed was comfortable with small but soft pillows.

What always disturbs my sleep is an air continually turns itself on and off, on and off, on and off. You can just switch it to fan only as i did so I could sleep and was cool enough that allowed me to do that.

Bathroom:
Again, updated with nice granite (see pic) that matched the granite on the window sill. Shower head was nice as it was large, but not adjustable. Bowed shower curtain for that extra room is always nice. Towels were plush and in good shape but no where to hang a hand towel. The toiletries were by Neutrogena and the wife says that's good. No microwave is included in this room.

Breakfast:
Not included but they have a restaurant, JW Barleycorn's on site that we didn't go to.

Pool:
I thought the pool was too cold and had a lot of debris floating in it and since we couldn't feel anything coming out the jets, I would say it was a Non-heated Non-filtered pool (gross again). Also no bathrooms (I'm sure that encourages the kids to not go in the pool).

Parking:
There is very limited free parking of 3 handicapped spots and ~10 regular spots. They have valet for $8 that is right in front and a parking garage connected (in the fact you can walk from the garage through the Kellogg arena lobby to the hotel and stay warm, dry, etc) to the hotel with NO re-entry privileges (you pay for each time you leave) charges are as follows;

1hr free
2hr $2
3hr $3.50
4hr $4.25
5hr $5
6hr $5.50
7-24 $6.00

Pets:
No pets except for service but someone had this large German Shepard that I'd have to say was not a service pet as it was on behaving well at all (jumping on guests).

Location:
As you can see by the pics, central location near the Kellogg arena (concerts, shows, competitions, etc) which could be good or bad for you depending. Across the street from an indoor/outdoor water park that is $14 or less (find lots of coupons in the lobby). Downtown in any city can be difficult, so it is nice to be next to a parking garage with a $6 max charge (1 hr free). Actually so much to mention, it would be best to go to the Battle Creek web site because you really are close to everything going on downtown. There is some train noise, but it never bothered us or the baby.

So here's the lazy review;

Pros:
Friendly and helpful staff, updated room, Location (if you WANT to be downtown), nice view, nice room size, large LCD, comfy bed, soft pillows, marble counter top, Neutrogena toiletries, has pool, connected to Kellogg arena/ parking garage, no pets, baby crib, 3 elevators, on site restaurant, $8 valet parking, wifi.

Cons:
Messed up fridge request, $10/day fridge, dog hair in it, air cuts on/off all night, no hand towel rack, no microwave, no breakfast, pool was cold and dirty, limited free parking (10 spots?) $8 valet parking, location (if you don't like downtown), small pillows

Summery

Beside the messed up fridge request, we enjoyed our stay and would do so again for the $72/day via Priceline. Wished there was bathrooms in the pool area but think getting that pool clean and heated with a filtration system should be top priority.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less downtown noise (ie occasional train), snag lots of coupons, a map, and POI in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazdaman7Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    55
    60
    38
    35
See reviews for
65
44
14
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very nice staff; from valet ($8.00), desk and any thing else. Responsive and always polite; to include smiles...
The restaurant is 2nd to none and very... I mean very reasonable. Great food, great value, great service and hot food! Not served luke warm or soup feels like it was microwaved. Many dressings and food was home made.

Room Tip: We had a "corner king" room. Very nice with lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandalona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We just stayed last weekend, Thursday - Sunday. The hotel upon check in seemed pretty nice - probably a 3 star hotel.

The GOOD NEWS: Every person we met was very professional and kind. The manager obviously has done lots of work to make his team good.

THE BAD NEWS: However, no one tells you that a loud busy train tracks is located just across the street. There are probably 20-30 trains a day and they are LOUD. These trains run 24 hours a day and blow their whistles EVERY TIME they pass the hotel because there are 2-3 crossings. This continued all day and especially at night - we were awakened 3-4 times a night anywhere from 1AM - 6AM. The kids woke up, we woke up. We even bought a sound machine to make additional sounds in the hotel room but it did not work. The food was very average.

Again, people were great, but the hotel itself was not good. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. If you can handle the noise, that is great. We as a family could not. There has to be a better hotel in Battle Creek.

Room Tip: We even stayed on the 14th floor and the noise did not disappear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherlinc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Battle Creek hotels

Trinidad, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was not our first stay at the McCamley. In fact, the McCamley is our favorite place to stay when in the Cereal City. It is located right downtown & a nice walking distance to the Brownstone Coffee shop or the frozen yogurt shop or Pastrami Joe's. This trip I took off on foot and walked the historic mile where I learned some new things about the great history of this city. I also had a great photo shoot of some very interesting architecture.

Room Tip: We always request our room on the side of the building opposite the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurselinda52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We set up a golf outing for a group of 16. The company we used uses this hotel when there villas are booked. I have stayed here in the past and it was just ok several years ago. It is still ok as a last resort. The rooms have been upgraded with newer furniture, but the AC is not adjustable and just runs loud and cold then you get hot and you have to turn the unit on and off. The staff was nice and helpful. The hotel is average at best. The holiday inn express is much better.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jsar34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

SO glad I did not change my reservation to a more well-known hotel chain!! The McCamly staff was friendly, accommodating, and professional. The location allows easy walking/cycling access to downtown Battle Creek and it's pleasant parks and restaurants, and although I did not try the water park across the street, I intend to on another trip. The restaurant had good meals at good prices (book the online special that includes breakfast and valet parking...worth it!) My daughter commented that these were the most comfortable beds/sheets she has ever experienced in a hotel (I agree!) and that "everyone is so nice, it is kind of weird." I did follow the advice of other travelers (we stayed on the 15th floor, away from the elevator shafts) and although we would have preferred to be on the "non-train side," the horns from the train just reminded us of home, and provided interesting views out of the hotel window. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to ask for the non-train or "city" side. Lots of towels and amenities, and extras were brought up at my request within 10 minutes of my call to the front desk. Have already recommended McCamly to friends, and will definitely stay again. High-rise made it easy to spot while out walking in the city.

Room Tip: Choose higher-level floors, away from elevators. The "non-train" side will help if train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I called to make a reservation on May 9th, for May 24th. The young lady was not nice she hung up on me twice! (Brittney) Next day I called and spoke to a VERY nice young lady name Victoria. Made a reservation with her and i left a message for the front desk manager and send an e-mail as well. Till this day I have yet to hear from anyone! So clean room but poor customer service!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank tiaana72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battle Creek hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Battle Creek Downtown
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Battle Creek
Hampton Inn Battle Creek
#2 of 19 in Battle Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Battle Creek
Holiday Inn Battle Creek
#5 of 19 in Battle Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
#4 of 19 in Battle Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Battle Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Battle Creek
Fairfield Inn Battle Creek
#3 of 19 in Battle Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCamly Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCamly Plaza Hotel

Property: McCamly Plaza Hotel
Address: 50 Capital Ave SW, Battle Creek, MI 49017-3515
Region: United States > Michigan > Calhoun County > Battle Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Battle Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — McCamly Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your McCamly Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mccamly Plaza Battle Creek
Hotel Mccamly Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing