We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I stayed for a business trip. I booked on Orbitz which may have been a mistake as I could not get a receipt from the hotel. Check in wasn't the speediest, I have no idea why this took so long. The pool was closed with no reason posted. My room was clean and bright and comfortable with a flat screen TV (DirecTV) and the Internet worked well. I used the fitness room which was quite nice and I ate a cookie that was out on a table. The only thing I wished for was some kind of easy chair in the room for watching TV. Breakfast was better than average. I will stay here again if I return to Bay City for work.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank NADINEE464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Nadine E,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with check in and the pool closure. We have since reviewed our internal procedures to ensure that such situations do not reoccur. We are please that you did enjoy your overall stay.

We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and may use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. I hope you will consider us again when in Bay City.

Thank you again,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here for business. The hotel is the newest in this area and the price was reasonable. The hotel is fresh and all the amenities are up-to-date. I was disappointed to find out that they did not have a hot tub onsite. The pool area is just that, a pool. The breakfast in the morning was good and the food was fresh. I was not pleased with the sounds you can hear while trying to sleep. The walls are thin. The pillows are folded in half to appear plumper than they truly are. Overall this is a nice place and I would stay here again but I will bring my own pillow with me.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite room upon checkin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Hello HenryBru,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here in spite of not having a hot tub available in addition to our pool. I am very sorry to hear that you had problems with noise through the night and that your pillow was folded. We have very high expectations when it comes to the quality of your stay, service, and cleanliness and I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I can assure you that it is not a practice for us to place pillows in this manner and truly apologize for the error in your room. I hope that you will be able to come back and visit us again soon so that we can show you just how great a night with us should be. Thank you again for your kind words.

Sincerely,

Leilani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Overall, this was a decent Holiday Inn Express. However, the "toaster" they have leaves a lot to be desired. We toasted our bagel three times and it was only luke warm at best, and certainly wasn't toasted. We like staying at Holiday Inn's for thier breakfast and this was a little disappointing. Fortunately, we weren't in a hurry either morning. A new toaster would be a simple fix for customer service. Also, we have been at other Express' where the staff has been very friendly, always saying hello when you walked in, etc. Not so at this hotel. They weren't rude, just not very friendly. When we checked in the staff person didn't even tell us what time breakfast was, enjoy your stay...nothing. In our experience, this is unusual for a Holiday Inn Express. Other than that and the toaster the hotel was very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Hello Stoeck,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you had problems with our toaster and guest service. I have had maintenance check to ensure it is working properly and can assure you that the issue has been resolved; I will certainly replace it should we have any further issues. As for our guest service during your stay, I was very disappointed that you were not greeted well or given all of the information you needed when you checked in. It is always our goal to deliver a warm welcome and greeting to every guest and am truly sorry we did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for your review and I hope you will give us a second chance to prove what an excellent place to vist we can be.

Sincerely,

Leilani
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Our hockey team participated in a tournament in Bay City recently and our entire team stayed at the Bay City Holiday Inn Express. The hotel staff was very accommodating with various check in times, rambunctious boys, and loud parents. The location was convenient &, the hotel was clean. It would have been nice if all the standard rooms had refrigerators & microwaves. I agree with other travelers that the pool had a lot of chlorine, but with that many people swimming, I almost think you have to. I did not have as pleasant of an experience in Big Rapids, so thank you to the staff in Bay City for restoring my faith in the Holiday Inn Express. We will be back.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that has the refrigerator and microwave if you are staying more than a day, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandLover2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Hello IslandLover2011,

We always strive to give great and impressive service. It makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations and have restored your faith in our brand. We have been working hard on controlling our pool chemicals recently.The hockey teams that visited were a welcome challenge to our efforts as we continue to manage this. Once again again thank you for the kind words of praise and we hope to welcome you and your team back again soon.

Sincerely,

Leilani S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My husband and I tried making reservation on the phone, he called the first time and the person (Nicki) that answered the phone was so rude and did not answer the questions we had. I called the second time, she (Nicki) was so rude to me that I hung up and called the 800 number to reserved a room. We would have stayed at another hotel but we had already recommended to other family members to stay there. We usually visit Bay City several times a year we will NOT stay there any more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Hello S T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you Holiday Inn Express is very proud of it's level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and we are not any different here in Bay City. I would love to regain your faith in our property and would welcome the opportunity to discuss you stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding you stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in the Holiday inn Express of Bay City soon.

Sincerely,

Leilani Slavenburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

This hotel is amazing! The room was very quiet, clean and comfortable. The rates were very reasonable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It was only a short 15 minute drive to Birch Run and Bronners. I highly recommend it and will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Thank you Megan for writing a review about your stay with us. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the kind words of praise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Hotel was amazing! Staff was friendly,helpful,very clean nice rooms, great rates very affordable! Easy to find right off freeway. Close to everything nice quiet area. We look forward to staying here in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekendtrip2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Hello Weekendtrip2204,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to put down such kind words. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Leilani S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bay City hotels
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#6 of 14 in Bay City
154 reviews
3 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#5 of 14 in Bay City
63 reviews
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 14 in Bay City
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City

Address: 3959 Traxler Ct, Bay City, MI 48706-9283
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range: £78 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City-East near the heart of historic downtown Bay City, Michigan. Whether traveling on business or pleasure our Bay City hotel in the tri-city area of Midland, Bay City or Saginaw, is conveniently located one-half mile from I-75 & US-10. This Bay City hotel provides convenient access to MBS Airport, Frankenmuth area corporations such as Accenture, Dow Chemical, Fabiano Bros. and exciting leisure attractions. Bay Antique Center, Michigan s largest Antique District, is just minutes from our Bay City hotel & encompasses several eateries and pubs. If you are looking for more contemporary shopping, Bay City Mall boasts many of your favorite stores such as Younkers, Target & JCPenney. Prefer the arts? Bay City offers Studio 23 Art Center, State Theatre, Bay County Historical Museum and Delta College Planetarium. Our Bay City hotel offers beautiful guest rooms, suites & executive whirlpool rooms with all of the comforts of home from pillow top mattresses to our 32 HDTV & complimentary HSIA. Enjoy exercising in our fitness center followed by a refreshing swim in our indoor pool. Complete your stay by enjoying your complimentary breakfast bar featuring eggs or omelets, fresh fruit & yogurts & our world famous cinnamon rolls. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is looking forward to your arrival on your next visit to Bay City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Bay City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing