We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HIE Never fails us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“HIE Never fails us!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We are loyal to the Holiday Inn Express chain of motels and this location didn't let us down. We were in the area for a college recruitment visit with our son. The hotel was immaculate, the staff was friendly and our room was silent.Everything in our room was clean and in good order. My only suggestion would be too spruce up the pool area but even that wasn't bad. Breakfast was good and was kept well stocked. It appears the staff in this location takes great pride in their work.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. Our room was silent. No noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganFootballMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hello MichiganFootballMom,

I appreciate you taking the time to write such a kind review. The staff absolutely takes great pride in their work here and it is so nice to know that there efforts do not go unnoticed. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again soon, maybe even when you visit your son at school next year!

Sincerely,

Leilani
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    48
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
42
40
3
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I booked the top secret hotel on Hotwire and got 3 rooms here for $94 per night. The hotel was nice and clean. Nikki who checked me in at the desk was very polite and helpful. The woman who works the breakfast was also very helpful and got straws for my kids without me even asking to make it easier for them to drink their milk. This was really helpful since I didn't have a sippy cup for my younger child. The room was very nice with comfy beds and plenty of room for a portable crib. It is probably the space in the room where people would like a chair to be. They could use to redo the caulk and grout in the tub area. The pool is small but sufficient. It would be nice to have a hot tub but if you want a bigger pool and hot tub go somewhere else if that is really important to you. Also, if you book through a website like Orbits or Hotwire, they wont give you a receipt at the hotel since you get one from the website. It wasn't a problem for me but I think it would be nice to still get a receipt form the hotel. Another note on that, when booking from a website make sure to call the hotel and confirm your room type you want. When I booked on Hotwire I put in for 4 adults in each room but that was not relayed to the hotel. They had assigned me King rooms which would not have worked at all but since I called ahead they reassigned me to 2 queen beds for each room. Just make sure to call ahead to you can get what you want and that is available for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTKTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Hello PTKTravelling,

Firstly, thank you for your review. The staff mentioned were very excited to see they left such a wonderful impression on you. I was also happy to see that we were able to accommodate your needs with the double bed room. I apologize that we are not able to provide a receipt for online bookings: all charges are posted by the internet booking site. Since we don't charge you for your stay at the hotel the only thing we could provide is a blank receipt that would show your check in date and name. Thank you again for taking the time to write about your stay.

Sincerely,
Leilani S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

First impressions- very clean lobby! We were given a king size bed room at the queen size bed room price. The room was clean and in fairly good shape. The breakfast had many choices. The pool was temporarily shut down.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtn714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Hello Mtn714,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a survey about your recent stay with us. I was very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind words. I do apologize that the pool was closed during your stay and am happy to report that it is fully operational again. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Leilani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a business trip. I booked on Orbitz which may have been a mistake as I could not get a receipt from the hotel. Check in wasn't the speediest, I have no idea why this took so long. The pool was closed with no reason posted. My room was clean and bright and comfortable with a flat screen TV (DirecTV) and the Internet worked well. I used the fitness room which was quite nice and I ate a cookie that was out on a table. The only thing I wished for was some kind of easy chair in the room for watching TV. Breakfast was better than average. I will stay here again if I return to Bay City for work.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NADINEE464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Nadine E,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with check in and the pool closure. We have since reviewed our internal procedures to ensure that such situations do not reoccur. We are please that you did enjoy your overall stay.

We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and may use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. I hope you will consider us again when in Bay City.

Thank you again,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here for business. The hotel is the newest in this area and the price was reasonable. The hotel is fresh and all the amenities are up-to-date. I was disappointed to find out that they did not have a hot tub onsite. The pool area is just that, a pool. The breakfast in the morning was good and the food was fresh. I was not pleased with the sounds you can hear while trying to sleep. The walls are thin. The pillows are folded in half to appear plumper than they truly are. Overall this is a nice place and I would stay here again but I will bring my own pillow with me.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite room upon checkin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Hello HenryBru,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here in spite of not having a hot tub available in addition to our pool. I am very sorry to hear that you had problems with noise through the night and that your pillow was folded. We have very high expectations when it comes to the quality of your stay, service, and cleanliness and I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I can assure you that it is not a practice for us to place pillows in this manner and truly apologize for the error in your room. I hope that you will be able to come back and visit us again soon so that we can show you just how great a night with us should be. Thank you again for your kind words.

Sincerely,

Leilani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Overall, this was a decent Holiday Inn Express. However, the "toaster" they have leaves a lot to be desired. We toasted our bagel three times and it was only luke warm at best, and certainly wasn't toasted. We like staying at Holiday Inn's for thier breakfast and this was a little disappointing. Fortunately, we weren't in a hurry either morning. A new toaster would be a simple fix for customer service. Also, we have been at other Express' where the staff has been very friendly, always saying hello when you walked in, etc. Not so at this hotel. They weren't rude, just not very friendly. When we checked in the staff person didn't even tell us what time breakfast was, enjoy your stay...nothing. In our experience, this is unusual for a Holiday Inn Express. Other than that and the toaster the hotel was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Hello Stoeck,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you had problems with our toaster and guest service. I have had maintenance check to ensure it is working properly and can assure you that the issue has been resolved; I will certainly replace it should we have any further issues. As for our guest service during your stay, I was very disappointed that you were not greeted well or given all of the information you needed when you checked in. It is always our goal to deliver a warm welcome and greeting to every guest and am truly sorry we did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for your review and I hope you will give us a second chance to prove what an excellent place to vist we can be.

Sincerely,

Leilani
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Our hockey team participated in a tournament in Bay City recently and our entire team stayed at the Bay City Holiday Inn Express. The hotel staff was very accommodating with various check in times, rambunctious boys, and loud parents. The location was convenient &, the hotel was clean. It would have been nice if all the standard rooms had refrigerators & microwaves. I agree with other travelers that the pool had a lot of chlorine, but with that many people swimming, I almost think you have to. I did not have as pleasant of an experience in Big Rapids, so thank you to the staff in Bay City for restoring my faith in the Holiday Inn Express. We will be back.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that has the refrigerator and microwave if you are staying more than a day, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandLover2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Hello IslandLover2011,

We always strive to give great and impressive service. It makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations and have restored your faith in our brand. We have been working hard on controlling our pool chemicals recently.The hockey teams that visited were a welcome challenge to our efforts as we continue to manage this. Once again again thank you for the kind words of praise and we hope to welcome you and your team back again soon.

Sincerely,

Leilani S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bay City hotels
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#4 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#7 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 14 in Bay City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
Address: 3959 Traxler Ct, Bay City, MI 48706-9283
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City-East near the heart of historic downtown Bay City, Michigan. Whether traveling on business or pleasure our Bay City hotel in the tri-city area of Midland, Bay City or Saginaw, is conveniently located one-half mile from I-75 & US-10. This Bay City hotel provides convenient access to MBS Airport, Frankenmuth area corporations such as Accenture, Dow Chemical, Fabiano Bros. and exciting leisure attractions. Bay Antique Center, Michigan s largest Antique District, is just minutes from our Bay City hotel & encompasses several eateries and pubs. If you are looking for more contemporary shopping, Bay City Mall boasts many of your favorite stores such as Younkers, Target & JCPenney. Prefer the arts? Bay City offers Studio 23 Art Center, State Theatre, Bay County Historical Museum and Delta College Planetarium. Our Bay City hotel offers beautiful guest rooms, suites & executive whirlpool rooms with all of the comforts of home from pillow top mattresses to our 32 HDTV & complimentary HSIA. Enjoy exercising in our fitness center followed by a refreshing swim in our indoor pool. Complete your stay by enjoying your complimentary breakfast bar featuring eggs or omelets, fresh fruit & yogurts & our world famous cinnamon rolls. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is looking forward to your arrival on your next visit to Bay City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Bay City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing