We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Clarkston, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Road Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've stayed at many a Holiday Inn Express, but this one had one of the friendliest and welcoming staff's we've seen. Our suite was roomy and spotless. I like the sign that stated we could get plates, and utensils if needed for our mini kitchen. We brought dinner back to the room and found this to be a plus. We stayed here because when we checked out the location the week before, Jessica was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast was also a plus. I love the omelets and pancakes. We plan on returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikec1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hello MikeC1307,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. It was great reading how you enjoyed everything from our room amenities to our breakfast and best of all the excellent service that Jessica was able to provide you. We look forward to your return trip!

Sincerely,

Leilani
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    48
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
42
38
3
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our check in went so smooth! There was a line upon checking in, nevertheless Jessica was very courteous with everyone and her duties were performed in a timely manor. We checked in a little after 9pm and she greeted us in a very cheery mood, which made us feel good. Thank you Jessica.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hello Darren H,

I'm so happy that Jessica was able to make your check in so warm and welcoming. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Leilani
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Rigth location @ the rigth time, right off the expressway and close to a nice steak house restaurant. White gloves clean, extra soft sheets and extra pillows. Super nigth after a full day Kayaking, we wanted to spend the nigth and have a nice meal before the big drive back home. Jessica was at the counter Saturday nigth and she refer us to a nice steak house around the corner from the hotel, she was still around at breakfast time with a huge smile, and full of energy, Breakfast was good still wish the will offer cottage cheese too.
This Holiday Inn stands out from others, when u see a personalize letter from the manager recommending the dif. Attractions in town and asking the guest to contact him for other recommendations or questions! Nice touch

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CUSOON2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello,

We are glad to have such a great review from you! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and were able to relax. I am glad Jessica was such a help to you. I will make sure she knows what a great job she did. Sorry there is no cottage cheese, maybe in the future we could look into adding it. We are glad you enjoyed the letter pointing out some local attractions to visit as well. Hope to see you next time you are in Bay City.

Andrew Lazowski
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streetsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I just returned from four days and nights at this hotel and we were very, very pleased with the hotel in general...the staff was very nice and our room was spotless! We had the pleasure of dealing with Jessica at the front desk and also Lori in housekeeping and they could not have been nicer, or more professional! The bed was very comfortable, including the pillows...sure can't say that about many places nowadays!!! We will definitely stay here next time we visit the area! Jim and Robin L. room 304

Room Tip: 3rd floor was quiet and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Jim L,

Thank you for giving us such a good review. I am glad Jessica and Lori gave you such a nice experience. It's great to hear how comfortable the bed and pillows are. We look forward to your next stay with us here in Bay City.

Andrew Lazowski
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Last room available, smelled like rotting fish. Refrigerator blew circuit and couldn't get lights to work.
Shower was semi clean, behind toilet was disgusting.
Would not stay here again if I had to.
Tried to notify management, they weren't interested in what I had to say. Although the sign said to speak up if I couldn't give them a 10/10 on my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blessedmimi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello blessedmimi911,

I can't say how sorry I am for the terrible experience you had. I assure you that this is not typical for any stay with us and would very much like the opportunity to speak with you about your stay. Please contact the management team at the property any time as we would like to make this right for you as well as perform maintenance on the room you stayed in. Thank you very much for your comments and I hope you will give us the opportunity to speak about your concerns.

Sincerely,

Leilani
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

while this hotel was okay it was certainly not a place I would return to. The king bed was comfortable but the sofa sleeper was provided with the wrong size sheets and not enough pillows. When we called the desk for proper sheets and blanket we were told (politely, but still) that we would have to come fetch them. The biggest complaint is that the breakfast included in the price of the room was in a small room without adequate seating for the number of guests and a very long line into the lobby. With three small, hungry children standing in line for at least 1/2 an hour or more and then trying to stand and eat was impossible. Needless to say we then had to purchase breakfast elsewhere for the two mornings we were there which added an additional $80.00 to the cost of our brief vacation. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and stay at the Hilton Treetop
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Anne,

I am very sorry for the problems you experienced during you stay with us. It is our goal to always deliver the best possible service and quality to all of our guests and we clearly fell short of this goal during your visit. I would love the opportunity to discuss your recent stay with us; if you are ever available do not hesitate to contact any member of our management team. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to show you how wonderful stay with us should be.

Sincerely,

Leilani
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are quite big including the bathroom. The shower has fair water pressure/coverage. I found the bed quite soft on the window side. The TV had Direct TV so there were 609 channels but of course not all available. The breakfast area was quite large with a good assortment of hot and cold items. There were about 4 restaurants in the immediate area but you probably should drive to them.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank e10750law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leilani s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello e10750law,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing a review of your visit! I'm glad you were able to enjoy our spacious rooms and public areas, though I'm sorry that you had issues with the window side of the bed. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences with us!

Sincerely,

Leilani
Guest Services Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bay City hotels
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#4 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#7 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
4.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 14 in Bay City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
Address: 3959 Traxler Ct, Bay City, MI 48706-9283
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City-East near the heart of historic downtown Bay City, Michigan. Whether traveling on business or pleasure our Bay City hotel in the tri-city area of Midland, Bay City or Saginaw, is conveniently located one-half mile from I-75 & US-10. This Bay City hotel provides convenient access to MBS Airport, Frankenmuth area corporations such as Accenture, Dow Chemical, Fabiano Bros. and exciting leisure attractions. Bay Antique Center, Michigan s largest Antique District, is just minutes from our Bay City hotel & encompasses several eateries and pubs. If you are looking for more contemporary shopping, Bay City Mall boasts many of your favorite stores such as Younkers, Target & JCPenney. Prefer the arts? Bay City offers Studio 23 Art Center, State Theatre, Bay County Historical Museum and Delta College Planetarium. Our Bay City hotel offers beautiful guest rooms, suites & executive whirlpool rooms with all of the comforts of home from pillow top mattresses to our 32 HDTV & complimentary HSIA. Enjoy exercising in our fitness center followed by a refreshing swim in our indoor pool. Complete your stay by enjoying your complimentary breakfast bar featuring eggs or omelets, fresh fruit & yogurts & our world famous cinnamon rolls. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is looking forward to your arrival on your next visit to Bay City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Bay City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing