We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nasty” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Motel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nasty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I tried to over look the short comings of this motel as we only needed it to sleep. However once the frebreze wore off the place stank, the taps in the tub leaked and the face plate for the register had fallen off. We had to open a window to let some fresh air in. The place is old and run down with a lot of signs it has seen better days. After returning late on the second night there were no clean towels and nobody had been in the place since we left in the morning. It wasn't that they were booked solid, in fact there were only half a dozen rooms rented on a long weekend. There was a lot of road noise as we had to leave the window open and I could hear aloud bang every once in awhile during the night maybe the boiler or something. Needless to say we will not be back. Spend a few more dollars and avoid this dump which isn't cheap after they stack on the 5%tax and the11% lodging fee.

Room Tip: If we stayed in one of the better rooms I hate to see the rest of them. ?The photos are miss leading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyhopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    3
    1
    3
    7
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calument Park, Il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

I came to town and stayed for the weekend. The motel room was ugly but it was clean and the lady who ran the place was nice. I asked alot of questions such as places to eat and night life and she was very helpful. The rooms could use updating but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonio a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband and I with our crew have stayed here several times, and everything has been great, the people are very friendly, Tina was great, even allowed us to use her personal grill so we could all cook out over the weekend. We will continue to come here as long as she is here. And I just love her dog, he is such a sweetie. The hotel is an older building, but everything was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Everyone in our crew has started considering it as their second home. Thank you Tina, we will keep returning as long as you are here :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

it was a great stay the lady at the desk is a nice lady she had a cute dog she help us find places to eat and enterament she made us coffee and alway made sure we had fresh towles always asking us if we need anything.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Where do I begin?
I reserved 3 rooms through a third party (might have been priceline)...The choices were King or Queen, and I mistakenly assumed the queen rooms had two beds, as we had six people (unrelated) staying. When I arrived at the front desk, I rang the bell for assistance and was greeted by middle aged lady with no teeth (honestly) and her dog. I was told the rooms only had one bed, and ended up paying an extra $15 for a double room (they only had one available), $15 more for a rollaway, and had to get a fourth room to accomodate our party. In all fairness, I probably mis-read my reservation & assumed 2 beds in each room.
So, we get to the rooms, and they're old & worn, and have an "ewww!" factor to them. One room had (seriously!) a sign on the wall saying "this is the most romantic room you'll ever stay in" (or something similar)...there was a black light you could turn on & I guess it was supposed to be a star effect on the ceiling....I think it was more likely bodily fluids being shown by the black light.
The TVs in each room featured about 5 channels - channel 10 was most interesting - Hard core pornography featuring exclusively African American "actors" and "actresses".
This place is C-R-E-E-P-Y!!!

By the way checkout time is 11am sharp - the toothless lady will threaten you with charging an entire extra day if you're one minute over.....probably no worries there - you will be quite anxious to get out of this place!

Room Tip: Stay away - sleep in your car if you have to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmylikes2eatmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bay City hotels

Bay City, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

When I first asked for a one-bed room, the lady tried to upselll me to a two-bed room.. Totally expected. The problem camewhen I said no. she then became pushy, then began to guilt trip me about how the girls that pay soo much money sometimes take that room during their parties. I was insistent on what I wanted to pay. She tried to upsell me one last time by saying that loud mexican music was expected at all times of the night due to partying. Again, I ws insistent on what I wanted to pay, so I took the room. I got to the room with my gf and son and was totally shocked by the smell. It was awful. The fridge stank, the bathroom wasnt clean, the shower didnt drain. But the biggest problem I had wad the lady that worked there. She was constantly accusing us of havinh people stay the night bc we left every day of tje week we were there. She accused us of smoking in the rooms because she never saw us outside smoking (and we only smoked three cogars while we were there that entire week). She was cpnstantly harrassing us for something. one night she was arrested, and woke up my one year old son, me and my gf. I would venture to guess she woke everybody up. I would never recommend this place..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

..this motel was the worst ive ever stayed in period..stinky rooms..cigerette ashes all over..got a hot tub room..hot tub was not clean and my wife helped the lady clean the thing all this work and the hot tub didnt work!!!..noisy pipes clanging kept us up..toilets dont flush right..owner came to fix the hot tub couldnt get it to work told us he'd gives a refund and charge us regular room price then when we left the next morning his attitude changed and he wouldnt give us $ back for a room that had a broke down hot tub..lesson learned i will sleep in my car before i would step foot in that disgusting hole and i tell anyone who's thinking of getting a room here run as fast as you can!!!..spend the extra $ for best western or super 8!! awful experience at bay motel...

Room Tip: ..spend the extra money and go to a best western or super 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bay City hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#7 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#4 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 14 in Bay City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Motel

Property: Bay Motel
Address: 910 S Euclid Ave, Bay City, MI 48706-3307
Region: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Motel in Bay City features comfortable guest rooms. All rooms are equipped with Hi-Speed Internet Access, Microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV, Irons, and Ironing Boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing