We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice local museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Historical Museum of Bay County

The Historical Museum of Bay County
Ranked #7 of 34 things to do in Bay City
Attraction details
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
437 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A nice local museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I liked that there was a lot of information about Bay County. Sometimes there was a bit too much info, since I'm the kind of person who wants to read everything, and it might have been better to have more photos or graphics. Still, I definitely recommend a visit here for anyone curious about the history of this area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Who KNEW?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This historical museum is fabulous! There were so many industries happening in the Bay City area for the last 150 years it is astounding. I kept saying to my sister "Who Knew all this was here?" I was fascinated and we spent a lot of time there in the museum and saw a lot of information on many family and friends of her husband.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykreidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tri Cities
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Needs more exhibit displays and less text to read. Condense Info”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Soooo much text ....light on display items / vignettes.
Text inside glass cases difficult to read due to glass glare.
So much to read and not so much to view.
Was disappointed nothing about sunken ship shells / remains .....that were visible first time in a long time at the BC riverfront ......since we were there for the special ship / marine exhibit.

Overall nice decor & some cool permanent displays.

Gift shop has really Great books!
Could use some local art for sale too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel_UberLiciousArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley, Michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Local History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I have been here a few times since I am from Bay City in Bay County ... I love the local history and enjoy the story of my hometown.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank panteralovr2781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Museum of Bay County”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

They have so much information about the Bay County area. It is free to go through , but you can leave a donation if you want. No pressure a box is there if you choose to. Very detailed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Historical Museum of Bay County also viewed

 

Been to The Historical Museum of Bay County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing