We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Amazing Coney Island Style Food!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Zef's Coney Island Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 174 Restaurants in Bay City
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Midland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable Amazing Coney Island Style Food!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

For over 10 years now I've been trying to find a place that has great gyros and chili cheese fries. The kind I miss from my youth. I've only ever gotten this when visiting a Coney Island in Detroit and nothing else compares. Now there is ONE and only ONE place in the Tri Cities that has all the things I’ve been looking for. Fresh, hot, nostalgic, good portions and AFFORDABLE Coney Island classic food! The Service was welcoming and attentive. The diner style decor wasn't anything special but I could care less when it came time to eat. The food was traditional, full of flavor and stayed warm. I will definitely make the trip and probably become a regular!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Coney dog”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here many times but yesterday I went with the daily special for 7.99$ (chicken and ribs) it was great. I love there coney dogs too . The service is a little rough. It is run by a family who fears teaching their employees how to run the cash register. Its family owned so its unique every time you go there. It is good home cooking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmaxson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice for a change of pace”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Went with a brother, the food was good and the service good. One issue, as I walked in I could smell an odor, my brother could not. It was strong to the right as you came in the door the farther left it went away. It was like a, sorry to say, urinal cake smell. By the end of the lunch my brother could finally smell it. Don't know if it was due to a leak or wet area that had not dried, but somethng that will make me think twice to going. The food is good, but I think they need to seriously look at the cleaning of the booths or floors on the right side coming in the door.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WinterHavenPeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb breakfasts!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had a very large party (sixteen including four small children) and they were very quickly able to accommodate us. Service was prompt and friendly. The food was fantastic and very tasty. You'll find a great deal here for their breakfasts. No one went away hungry or dissatisfied. I've not tried lunch here, but I'd like to the next time I'm in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peznbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Old Time Coney Joint”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I kind of like this place. There is nothing fancy about it, not its food, but it serves a basic need for comfort food and a relaxed setting. The coneys are smothered, so you eat them with fork and knife as it would be just too messy to pick up by hand. Salads are large and fresh. We go here often after church on Sunday.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank aberto55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zef's Coney Island Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zef's Coney Island Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing