We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Drive-In!”

Mussel Beach Drive-In
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Bay City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: (989)686-0575
Restaurant details
Description: (989)686-0575
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Drive-In!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We love Mussel Beach! We live only a few miles away, so it's great to be able to ride bikes down there from our home. The place is packed on hot summer days with people waiting in line to get ice cream. The ice cream is very good with a wide array of choices. I had a brownie bowl and if was great! Prices can climb a little high on some items, but overall they're not too bad. Food is excellent - Philly cheesesteak and onion rings are my favorite! Good mozzarella sticks, too! The dining room is very small, but the service is fairly quick and the staff is always friendly. We would most definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2_Centz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not bad at all.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

After having seen Mussel Beach written up in the local news papers for being the top in the state for coney dogs, we finally had a chance to try on our holiday weekend visit to Bay City. The dogs were quite good. The onion rings were wonderful. The gentleman who waited on us was super friendly and very attentive. We will most definitely return. Now that all being said, I don't get how the coneys made it onto a top 10 list of the state's best coney dogs. They were good but nothing out of the ordinary. I am still in search of a coney like the coneys I grew up eating at the Red Lion in downtown Bay City. These were not that good. They are very comparable to Detroit Coney places that did not make the top 10 list.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimbill97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
1,279 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,395 helpful votes
“Ice Cream, Hot dogs, Onion rings and Chevrolet...”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We returned for our first summer visit on a Monday night. They were not busy when we arrived. We chose to get take-out and took our hot dogs and shared order of onion rings and drinks over to the state park. We loved our dogs and rings! Made to order. Sitting at the state park, looking out over Saginaw Bay (a couple blocks from Mussel Beach), during a rainstorm, lovely!

Back to Mussel Beach for ice cream. Soft serve twist for me and DH got a mixed concoction in a cup and he gave it an A+. Very creamy!

Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The biggest surprise was the Onion Rings.”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Well known for the ice cream during the summer months the grill portion is great as well. On this date I had two coney dogs and onion rings. While the dogs were great (recently voted one of the Top 5 in the region) the Onion Rings were even better.

The food was great and service was even better.

Come out for a meal. Not just an ice cream.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drlooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic comfort foods and ice cream”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

First went there the day after St. Patrick's day. Ordered corned beef and cabbage. I expected a small bowl of it,, it was served in a serving bowl sized dish!! Heaped with meat and veggies,, served with rye bread and butter!! Very cheap too!! We have eaten there many times since, they are always busy, but you can watch them cook the food from your table.. They make a stuffed , huge burger!! It has cheese and mushrooms inside and they hand make it to order!! It comes with the works,,onion rings are homemade,, great french fries too..
It is well worth the drive to Bay City State Park to eat here and we do!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mussel Beach Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to Mussel Beach Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing