We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Central on Weekends, not condusive to business lodging” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Central on Weekends, not condusive to business lodging”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Stayed here for Friday and Saturday night on business. There were three wedding receptions and a bachelorette party going on. A wedding guest told me the Doubletree is the only decent hotel in mid-Michigan, thus everyone goes there. The king bed squeaked like a cheap hotel. There appeared to be a conflict between the hotel manager and the banquet manager, and the banquet manager was winning. There are about thirty parking slots outside the entrance and a large covered parking structure east of the hotel, but seperated from the hotel, by the banquet hall. The entire time we were there, the parking lot that was convenient to the lobby was filled by wedding guests. It was a one block walk to the parking structure where we were forced to park. In order to get there you have to walk through the wedding reception area and the only connecting corridor was filled with a buffet line and filled with guests balancing their food on plates. If you forget anything and have to return to your car, its a block in each direction. AVOID THIS PLACE ON WEEKENDS, UNLESS YOU ARE A WEDDING GUEST. I would recommend this hotel for business meetings other than weekends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExFeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieThompson, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
We always appreciate feedback from our guests, even if it isn’t as positive as we would like to hear. I have met with a couple of other department managers to make sure they were aware of your comments and we will work together to make every guest’s stay here as warm and welcoming as we possibly can. As far as our parking structure, I understand the location may not seem as convenient as the paved area closest to the entrance of the hotel. Because we are a unique property with not only being on waterfront, but in a downtown environment, space is limited. The complimentary parking structure was the best option for us. Please feel free to contact me directly at leslie.thompson@hilton.com and we can go over your other concerns. I would like to make you a fan of the DoubleTree by Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    196
    59
    20
    9
See reviews for
188
208
30
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Austin, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

I couldn't go back to the actual date of our stay last year. It was April of 2010. My husband and I stayed there for our 1 year anniversary. ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!! We stayed there with family 2 years before that for vacation. We loved it so much we went back. When we stayed in 2010 it was so nice, the hotel was empty. It was like the whole place was open just for us. We were upgraded to a Riverside Suite at no additional cost. It was wonderful. We told our friends about the place and they stayed there for their vacation with their 2 year old daughter, and they loved it. We are looking to come back this weekend for our 2 year anniversary. WE LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieThompson, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
I am so happy that we were a special part in your Anniversary! We LOVE to hear stories like yours and would like to help make your next stay just as special. Email me after you make your next reservation to give me a heads up that you are coming so I can see what I can do for you.

Thanks again for your wonderful review-

Leslie Thompson, Director of Sales and Marketing
leslie.thompson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

I stayed here last weekend and the hotel was pretty busy with pagents, dance competition and a wedding. I requested an early check it, however it wasn't guarenteed. I was very happy when I arrived early and my room was ready for me. Check in was very fast and very pleasant. The room was very clean and the bathroon was spacious. The room could have been a tad bit bigger, but it provided your standard double beds, flat screen TV, desk and chair. The location was great if you have need somewhere to stay in Bay City.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gobluegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieThompson, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you so much for you great review, we definitely appreciate your positive feedback.
Please send me an email in advance if you plan on staying at the Doubletree Hotel Bay City Riverfront in the near future, I would love to have a tin of warm Doubletree Hotel cookies waiting for you.
Thanks, Tricia Coonan

Tricia.coonan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY, USA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Stayed for one night on business in the area. Usually I stay in Midland but the only good hotel there was sold out and the Doubletree turned out to be a good alternative. I was greeted with smile, given a chocolate chip cookie and upgraded to a room overlooking the river (probably because I'm Silver elite). The hotel is well suited for business travelers, with a small business center for printing out boarding passes, free parking, free wired and wifi and a restaurant that serves until 10 pm (as does room service). The room was clean and spacious. There is a old fashioned TV cabinet in the room but inside was a flat screen TV as well as a microwave and small fridge, nice touches. I didn't get a chance to check out the gym or pool. It was a nice overnight stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieThompson, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you so much for you great review, we definitely appreciate your positive feedback.
Please send me an email in advance if you plan on staying at the Doubletree Hotel Bay City Riverfront in the near future, I would love to have a tin of warm Doubletree Hotel cookies waiting for you.
Thanks, Tricia Coonan

Tricia.coonan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
269 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

I travel a lot and the Doubletree is a great choice if you're going to stay in the tri-city area. It's a full service hotel with a nice restaurant/bar, workout room and smallish pool/whirlpool. I've stayed here many, many, many times and it's always so (nicely) predictable. Clean, updated, reasonably upscale, nice efficient staff - and I'm a hotel snob.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatienceWonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieThompson, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Thank you so much for you great review, we definitely appreciate your positive feedback.
Please send me an email in advance if you plan on staying at the Doubletree Hotel Bay City Riverfront in the near future, I would love to have a tin of warm Doubletree Hotel cookies waiting for you.
Thanks, Tricia Coonan

Tricia.coonan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We were greeted with warm chocolate chip cookies, and a wonderful staff. Our room was clean, and we had a great view of the river. It wasn't a far drive from Frankenmuth.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dankline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieThompson, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay- come in for a cookie anytime!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comstock Park, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

This is an excellent hotel and really the only nice quality place to stay if you are in Bay City. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and I did not hear any noise from adjacent rooms. There are some decent restaurants within walking distance. I would stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolstylez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bay City hotels
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#7 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#4 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 14 in Bay City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
Address: 1 Wenonah Park Pl, Bay City, MI 48708-5658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Bay City-Riverfront on the east bank of the Saginaw River in the heart of historic downtown Bay City, Michigan, offers the perfect location and ambiance for business and pleasure travel. Centrally located within the greater tri-city area of Midland, Bay City, and Saginaw, just two miles east of I-75 off of US-10, our hotel provides easy access to MBS International Airport, area corporations, and leisure attractions. Historic and prosperous, Bay City has retained its charm and is known for its antique shops, boutiques, pubs and eateries which are all within walking distance from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bay City Riverfront Hotel Bay City
Bay City Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing