We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Bay City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Bay City”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is a very nice hotel located on the river in Bay City. Front desk staff were gracious, efficient and willing to help with anything. We had two meals at the restaurant - dinner and breakfast - good service and good food both times. The room was clean, well-furnished and contained a large-screen TV, microwave and small refrigerator. The bathroom was a good size and had some great toiletry items. We asked for a quiet room location and had no noise to disturb us. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storkonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    200
    59
    20
    10
See reviews for
194
211
32
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I went to Bay City for a 2 day getaway and picture taking excursion. The Doubletree is located right next to the Saginaw River. If you stay here, make sure you get a river view room. Hopefully you will enjoy the kind of sunsets that I did.

The room and bed were immaculate and comfy.

The city itself has lots of charm. Madonna grew up there and called it "tacky" but I find her "tacky" so what does she know?

If you like antique shopping and strolling around, looking at historic churches and downtown buildings, you will like it here.

Room Tip: Upper floor on the river side is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffy_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The members of the nonprofit I work for are from all corners of the state, from Monroe County all the way to Gogebic County. Everyone at our conference last week raved about the DoubleTree Riverfront in Bay City. The location was beautiful, the food was great, the staff was incredibly courteous and accommodating; and the cookies -- YUM! Thanks Doubletree for making our 2011 annual conference a huge success!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Very impressed with the hotel. Very clean and the staff was very accommodating. We checked out the weight room and spent some time in there. It was very clean and had nice equipment. Had lunch in the lounge and the food was good. Will stay there again when we travel back to Bay City.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aann4kd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is a very good hotel property in an excellent location with friendly staff. It is my go-to property for business and personal stays in the area. Rooms are comfortable and if you are assigned a river view it it very picturesque. They recently upgraded to flat-screen TVs which is a plus but still lack Wi-Fi for iPad users that is a disappointment. Traditional DSL is in each room. Good breakfest buffet. Coffee is best avoided, drive to Starbucks in Saginaw.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supermagictasticguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieThompson, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you so much for your review- we do appreciate the feedback! You will be happy to learn that we will SOON have complimentary Wi-Fi throughout our entire facility. Currently it is available in all public areas and on the 5th and 6th floor. The final upgrade should be complete in the next couple of months. On a lighter note, I am a huge Starbucks fan as well, and we even offered Starbucks at our hotel about a year ago but had to discontinue it due to guest complaints. So for those of us coffee snobs, we have a ton of great options right here in downtown Bay City- Espresso Express and Brewtopia are two of my local faves. Give them a try the next time you are in town and say "Hi" to Peg if you happen to choose the first option. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springport, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We recently stayed at here for a 40th class reunion. Classmates met before and after the riverboat dinner cruise by Bay City Boat Lines (which was very nice) and we had a great time. The staff is friendly, rooms very well furnished, top of the line. We didn't eat, but our classmates had breakfast which was really good. They don't have free breakfast, but don't think anyone minded that. If you want a view of the river, ask for that. We didn't want to "pay" for the view, so ours overlooked the parking garage. There are NICE shops along Water Street to browse in, coffee shops and quaint breakfast places a few streets away. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimkaren2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I was a bridesmaid in a wedding here and we had a great time. The hotel was very nice and the staff greeted us with warm chocolate chip cookies when we checked in. What a great welcome!
Great view of the water and free parking. The hotel restaurants were excellent and everything about this hotel is reasonable priced.
The wedding reception was at the hotel and the reception room was spacious and very nice. I had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L2Connelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieThompson, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Wow! We love to hear comments from our wedding guests like the one you posted- Thank you so much for your positive review! We agree that our hotel is a perfect venue for weddings! Kim Kisser, our wedding coordinator takes excellent care of our brides and our staff take great strides to make sure the day is perfect.

If you are craving another cookie- make sure to visit ANY DoubleTree by Hilton- The warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival is our company standard. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bay City hotels
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#6 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#5 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 14 in Bay City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
Address: 1 Wenonah Park Pl, Bay City, MI 48708-5658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Bay City-Riverfront on the east bank of the Saginaw River in the heart of historic downtown Bay City, Michigan, offers the perfect location and ambiance for business and pleasure travel. Centrally located within the greater tri-city area of Midland, Bay City, and Saginaw, just two miles east of I-75 off of US-10, our hotel provides easy access to MBS International Airport, area corporations, and leisure attractions. Historic and prosperous, Bay City has retained its charm and is known for its antique shops, boutiques, pubs and eateries which are all within walking distance from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bay City Riverfront Hotel Bay City
Bay City Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing