We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
usa
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Stopped over for one night traveling through Michigan. The hotel is in a great location, on the river, with a park on one side and a road on the other. We were in a King room, on the end of the 4th floor, next to the bridge facing the river. The room was very quiet with the double pane windows. Everything was very clean and comfortable. All common areas were very attractive. And, of course, the wonderful Doubletree cookies!

Neutrogena amenities were included the bathroom. There is an on-wall hairdryer. There was a dual cup Wolfgang Puck coffee maker in the room and a small empty refrigerator in the armoire.

Breakfast in the restaurant was great. They have a buffet for $9.75 but the menu items were exceptionally priced and included some unique items. We ordered off of the menu and the portions were very large. Way too much for us to finish. Service was pleasant and prompt.

Bay City is a cute little town.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sezme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    212
    60
    21
    10
See reviews for
215
227
34
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 783 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

I agree with all of the previous reviewers. This hotel is exactly as reviewed and is the only full service hotel in the area. This is not the cheapest place in town to stay but it is probably the best, especially if you are in the mood to be pampered.

I highly recommend spending the extra money to get a river view if you are staying there in the summer. For us, it cost about $10 extra and was definitely worth it. There are lots of pleasure craft that go up and down the river and we even saw a freighter go by. The hotel is close to the drawbridge and it was impressive to see the freighter go through the drawn up bridge. The hotel faces west and you can get a sunset view if the sun is out as well.

We did not use the indoor pool or the fitness area but did take a glance at them. They both looked clean and spacious. There is a separate elevator to these areas, which are located on the first floor.

We did eat at the hotel restaurant and used room serivce for breakfast. Service was excellent both times and the food was good.

Parking is free. You can either park in a lot next to the hotel or there is a garage next to the the conference rooms that connects to the hotel.

The hotel is located in downtown Bay City but is only about a five minute drive off the freeway.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Stayed there this weekend with friends, and everyone enjoyed the hotel. Beds are very comfy but they are doubles in a regular room, Lots of pillows, towels are big and soft. Rooms and bathrooms are large and very clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Price was very reasonable as well. Close to everything.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psv1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Very nice hotel in a small city. It is four years old and very well maintained. They were able to accommodate our request for connecting rooms and a river view. Very nice staff. Quite clean and quiet.

Dinner at the hotel was surprisingly delicious.

It was a great base to explore the area: Frankenmuth, Saginaw, and the Au Sable River Valley. Not to mention the antique shops in Bay City.

  • Liked — Very comfortable and clean. Good central location.
  • Disliked — It is in Bay City.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DCaprilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale Heights, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

My sister in law had her wedding here. I am so glad she did, there is not a nicer or more conveniently located hotel in the area. Right on the river, and fairly new. Who doesn't like a new hotel? Soft and lovely beds, nice bathrooms, couldn't really ask for more.

  • Liked — the newness
  • Disliked — could be closer to Midland Street attractions
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinderellavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mt. pleasant, sc
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

My family stayed at the Doubletree Bay City Riverfront for a wedding this past weekend. The hotel lobby upon checkin was very nicely decorated and the desk staff was friendly and accomodating. They even handed us 4 warm chocolate chip cookies! Yumm!

We actually were part of a pretty big block of rooms reserved for the wedding, so I got to see 3 different rooms and all were nice. Our room faced the river or bay, the view was nice but I wouldn't say it was worth spending extra $$ on (I don't think we did...). My dad and step-mom had a room without a view and it wasn't bad -- you could see the quaint "main street" across the way.

The beds were double beds - I prefer queen, but they were at least comfortable. The pillows could use some work, though. They were too...squshy...for my taste. I like a firm pillow.

The room was not as large as some I've stayed in, but it was far from cramped. There was a nice desk area by the window which was useful for laptop use. The bathroom had all the usual appointments...shampoo, conditioner, lotion, shower cap...even sun screen and facial cleanser... One picky thing, though, is that they provided only 3 towels for the 4 of us. Luckily, we didn't have to shower all at the same time of day, so we didn't have to call down.

The restaurant was pretty good for breakfast. They offer a buffet for $10 (adult) and $7 (child) that was an okay value if you like to eat eggs and bacon or sausage. The menu items we sampled were tasty. I had the chorizo quesidilla which, though pretty oily from the sausage, was huge and tasted great. This is something you might plan to split with someone. The rise and shine breakfast hit the spot the next morning.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay here.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — squishy pilllows
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mountpleasantmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

In May 2008 I was on a tour with a group of about 30 people and our Tour Operator chose this nice hotel on the river front. We stayed one night and in my opinion it was the nicest hotel we stayed in during the week. The beds were comfortable, the room was appointed nicely. The hotel staff went out of their way to award my Hilton Honors points. The HH complimentary full hot breakfast was selected from a menu and our waiter was delightful. We wrote a comment card saying so, too! We enjoyed walking along the river and the next morning we took the Tall Ship moored just down from the hotel for a sail under several bridges and onto Lake Huron. For my first trip to Michigan this hotel was a very pleasant start to the week. And, for geocachers, there happened to be a geocache very close by.

  • Liked — The riverfront location and beds.
  • Disliked — Everything was fine.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#6 of 14 in Bay City
53 reviews
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#4 of 14 in Bay City
143 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saginaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
Address: 1 Wenonah Park Pl, Bay City, MI 48708-5658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Bay City-Riverfront on the east bank of the Saginaw River in the heart of historic downtown Bay City, Michigan, offers the perfect location and ambiance for business and pleasure travel. Centrally located within the greater tri-city area of Midland, Bay City, and Saginaw, just two miles east of I-75 off of US-10, our hotel provides easy access to MBS International Airport, area corporations, and leisure attractions. Historic and prosperous, Bay City has retained its charm and is known for its antique shops, boutiques, pubs and eateries which are all within walking distance from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bay City Riverfront Hotel Bay City
Bay City Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing