We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "new" favorite place to stay in Bay City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Historic Webster House
Ranked #1 of 3 Bay City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My wife and I are frequent visitors to Bay City. Over the years we have found this city to be a great "close-by get-away" when we've needed a break from the day-to-day doldrums. In the past we have usually stayed at another bed and breakfast in town, but we have wanted to visit the Historic Webster House for quite some time. We were fortunate that this time around, the Webster House had availability. All I can say is..... "WOW"! This is one special property that we intend to visit on all future trips to Bay City.
The home itself has been beautifully restored to it's 1880's grandeur. Tall ceilings, magnificent trim and casework, period wall coverings, furnishings and decorative touches all combine to present one of the most attractive Victorians we have ever visited, anywhere in the country.
Six lovely guest-rooms, each with their own individual personalities, and none of them "clinkers". We look forward to sampling each one in future stays!
Our stay was made most special by the attentiveness of our Inn-Keeper, Sandy Temple, who spent considerable time introducing us to the property and all that it offered it's guests. We really enjoyed our conversations with her as she truly made us feel "welcome" and special.
We were looking forward to the "Breakfast" component, and I must say that the Webster House did not disappoint. Chef Brandon created a delightful three-course repast, after consulting with us to garner our culinary preferences. Again, we felt very special to have such one-on-one service from the Chef himself.
I can't say enough about the Historic Webster House, except that it is now the only place we'll stay when visiting Bay City in the future. Do yourself a favor and try it. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahmingersoll, Owner at Historic Webster House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Wow how nice of you to say such kind things about the inn. I have a terrific staff that truly care about our guests and it was very nice to have you mention them as they truly appreciate that. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

We will be coming back here year after year because of the great accommodations and incredible hospitality! I absolutely loved the wine and cheese provided at 5pm every evening. I especially love that there is an unlimited supply of wine, soda, and coffee on every floor and a Keurig right there whenever you feel the need for caffeine! We did the comedy theater package, and that was so much fun. I highly suggest it to anyone who likes comedy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed for our anniversary. In addition to having a cake in our room upon our check-in, Gail and Frank are warm, inviting hosts. Their attention to detail, both with the house itself AND with their guests' needs, is phenomenal. We are already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: The Judge's Chamber is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved the Webster House! It was our first time at a bed and breakfast and Gail and Frank made sure we would never want to stay at a hotel again. The atmosphere, hospitality and not to mention the gourmet breakfast and homemade cookies made the experience one to remember. We had the pleasure of trying two different rooms this weekend, and I honestly could not have picked a favorite. The Magistrate room was beautiful with the skylights for sky and star gazing. The Webster room had the huge whirlpool tub, need I say more?We will definitely be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mroda01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our stay was comfortable and the home is beautifully maintained. The food was delicious and bed was super comfy! Gail and Frank were helpful with dinner reservations, directions and ideas on how to enjoy our weekend. And a super nice touch of a small anniversary cake in our room! High recommend Webster House and we hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Has to be one of the best B&B's around. Super friendly staff, full breakfast, walking distance to Downtown. We parked our car when we arrived, and didn't drive again until we left. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomNstacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a wonderful time in Bay City, staying at the Webster House was ideal! Gail and Frank are marvelous hosts. The home is lovely, exceptionally clean. Breakfasts are out of this world, as are the treats baked daily; the evening reception hour is a really nice touch. We were very pleased to have chosen Webster House without knowing much about it and would highly recommend this B&B, due in great part to the very hospitable hosts!!

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was perfect in every way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bay City hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#5 of 14 in Bay City
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#6 of 14 in Bay City
154 reviews
4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Webster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Webster House

Address: 900 5th St, Bay City, MI 48708-6028
Region: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bay City
Price Range: £145 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Webster House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic elegance with modern amenities, a 7 room boutique inn. Our newest room a 2 rooms suite, The Keep,includes spa/sauna room and bar. Luxurious and Romantic. Free WiFI, Netflix, wine and cheese nightly, free beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Historic Webster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Webster House Hotel Bay City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing