We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Webster House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Historic Webster House
Ranked #1 of 3 Bay City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is my 2nd stay and again I was not disappointed. I was working in the area and chose the Webster House rather than a chain hotel. I slept great on the bed with a feathertop mattress and nice linens. There was always tasty food and drink available. Besides breakfast there were afternoon fresh cookies, cheese and fruit appetizers and cold, hot and alcoholic beverages. I had to work through lunch and they packed me a lunch each day. They fixed breakfast early for me. I felt rested and cared for. This is a gem!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BnBFan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah I, General Manager at Historic Webster House, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
The staff and I were so pleased that you chose to stay with us again. We all enjoyed your company and hope to see you on future business trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
258
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Our first time spending a weekend up North during the summer, we had higher hopes for Bay City but were fairly disappointed. We attribute this more to our lack of research rather than false recommendations. That being said, Webster House was fantastic and would highly recommend it to anyone spending the weekend in the Bay City area. Decor was a bit odd with a mix of Asian with some traditional Victorian (we think). The room was on the hotter side as well, but overall accommodations were very nice and the room was beautiful.

The highlight of our stay was the breakfast. The Chef did an excellent job preparing the nicest breakfast we have ever had at a B&B (while we aren't experts in B&B's, we've stayed at quite a few from Napa Valley to Franschoek, SA). And the inn-keeper Paul was very friendly, professional, and provided a solid restaurant recommendation.

The punch line is, if we ever decided to back to Bay City? We would absolutely revisit the Webster House. Just not sure that Bay City is terribly high on our list.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have stayed at the Webster House three times now. Can't say enough good things about our experiences there. The house is one of the most beautiful restorations ever seen. The bedrooms are large and decorated beautifully. They are very comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts were wonderful and very filling. We really liked the French toast. Paul was a perfect host. Very friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. He gave us some great suggestions on some things to see and do in Bay City. Can't wait to return and explore the city and surrounding areas more. We would strongly recommend the Webster House to anyone. They really do treat you special there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah I, Owner at Historic Webster House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you so very much for your review. It means a lot to myself and staff when our guests write and let us know that they have enjoyed their experience. It says something to me when a guest has come back three times, we must be doing things right. Yes the French Toast is our signature recipe, one that is requested many times in fact I have a folder of the recipe to hand out as we are asked often for that. Paul is a professional in hospitality having had many years in Florida opening large hotels for Marriott and other large hotels. I am very fortunate to have such a wonderful and gracious host and a seasoned professional is an added bonus. We look forward to your next stay and thank you again for taking the time to let others know that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We are very disappointed with this establishment after being given this for a gift from here from our children. We were charged full price with no credit for our gift certificate on top of unfriendly service. Sorry for interrupting planting day I guess. Their upgrade? A room with dirty windows, no clock, no wi-fi, spider webs, light from the hallway beaming all night, noisy air conditioning, and a smaller bed than paid for. Need I go on? I could, but won't. Glad everyone else has had a wonderful experience. Good Luck with your visit! Drink the wine if you can- you won't notice anything wrong. Oh, breakfast? Too sweet french toast and overcooked sausages. Fruit OK.

Room Tip: Stick to what you reserved!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betruthful2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah I, Owner at Historic Webster House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am extremely sorry that your time with us was such a disappointment as we pride ourselves on top notch customer service in all areas. When I learned of the mistake in handling your gift certificate I immediately processed a refund for that amount. We strive to exceed our guests expectations but unfortunately fell short with you, thank you for keeping us on our toes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

While traveling around Michigan we did not know what to expect when we arrived in Bay City. This hotel/B&B made our stay memorable. We felt pretty special and cared for as we had superb meals, and enjoyed the eye candy that is every corner that was specially designed with intent to appeal to your senses. The staff was very very friendly and was the highlight of the trip. :)

Room Tip: Yunji Room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah I, Owner at Historic Webster House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you so very much for your review. I am glad we helped make your trip memorable and that you enjoyed our bed and breakfast. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

If you are in the Bay City area, you SHOULD DEFINITELY try this B&B out. While reserving, we thought is was higher price, but they exceeded expectations in every way. The wine and cheese at 5-7 pm, was more, and get this, a chef prepared breakfast. The rooms are magnificent and so is every sitting room, just a place to relax. The owner, Deborah, super cares about your stay. THIS IS A REPEAT for us.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chasmore52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah I, Owner at Historic Webster House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so very much for your review. I cannot say enough good things about my staff, we all love what we do and it makes our day when our guests recognize that and let us know that they enjoyed their stay and the nicest compliment that you will be returning. We look forward to your visit!
Deborah and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Nodoka room, room was gorgeous and the rest of the home takes you back in time. It's amazingly restored down to the finest details. The Inn keepers were very pleasant and the chef was amazing. Would recommend it very highly and we will be coming back soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
histhort, Owner at Historic Webster House, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about the restoration of the home. We love historic buildings and feel they should be preserved it is all a part of our history of this area. We look forward to hosting you again.
Deborah and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay City
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
19.9 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
19.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#7 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Webster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Webster House

Property: Historic Webster House
Address: 900 5th St., Bay City, MI 48708
Region: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Webster House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic elegance with modern amenities, a 7 room boutique inn. Our newest room a 2 rooms suite, The Keep,includes spa/sauna room and bar. Luxurious and Romantic. Free WiFI, Netflix, wine and cheese nightly, free beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Historic Webster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Webster House Hotel Bay City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing