We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KC, very satisfied return customer”

Nino's Family Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 179 Restaurants in Bay City
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sanford, Michigan, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“KC, very satisfied return customer”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nino's simply has some of the best food around. There might have been long waits in the past but for the last 2 years that hasn't been the case. The service is very good and the food is delicious. Lilliana, the owner. goes out of her way to make sure you're having an excellent experience. We miss the food when they go back to Italy for the summer and the restaurant is closed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst service ever, worst attempt at authentic italian if I ever had.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Service awful, very very slow. Ordered ravioli, tasted like frozen entree, wasn't even hot, shredded cheese not even melted. They should not be making italian food, just because you visit Italy does not mean you
should own a restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Went last Friday night.
Had reservations.
4 people.
Sampler appetizer- skip it. All fried. All breaded. Im sure there are better options.
Sicilian wine - Very tasty. Decent price. You get to keep the glass cork.
Spinach and artichoke ravioli with the arabbiatta sauce - cooked wonderfully. The sauce was think, flavorful, and spicy. The ravioli was so good.
Manicotti and cannelloni- baked and covered in cheese. Yum.
Bread- you'll need it.
Salad-meh.

Our waiter was not good. He was forgetful and new. I wouldn't hold that against the restaurant. The owner came by to talk to us twice. Friendly and concerned. It took a long time to get our food, but it was tasty and worth it.

Go. And go soon. And go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jac G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Appetizers only please”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Went to this restaurant a few years ago and was really put off by the extremely long time it took to get our meal (2.5 hours). But after several people were talking about how wonderful the food was we decided to try it again. The service was really very good. Our waitress was very sweet and tried vey hard to please. We were served a very nice bottle of wine that was over priced. We enjoy wine and buy quite a few bottles so we do know costs, even in the best of restaurants. This was over priced. Stuffed mushrooms were wonderful, artichoke hearts were perfect, can't do to much to ruin cold antipasto, but someone needs to tell the chef that bruschetta uses toasted bread. This was not and became soggy right away.
Veal Marsala was tough chunks of meat. The sauce wasn't bad but a shame about the veal. The side dish was spaghetti had a sauce that tasted like plain tomato sauce out of a can watered down. Ravioli stuffed with portabella mushrooms was good except for the sauce. Same sauce as the side dish. Cannoli was burnt. Tortellini tasted like it had been microwaved as it was rubbery but the sausage sauce was excellent. Yes you can sit and visit no one rushes you at all but won't waste my time with the wine or main meal will only take the appetizers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ejk132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pizza Excellent”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I have driven by this restuarant many time and finally decided to try it out. I ordered the stuffed mushrooms that had great reviews on this site. They were okay. I would not order them again. However, the pizza was excellent. The crust is thin and crunchy. Very good and different from the normal pizza. I found the price to be reasonable.
I have noticed that often the restaurant is closed and when I inquired I was told the owners go to Italy in the summer. They are closed mid May through mid September. I am going to try to return before they are closed for the summer.
The staff is very friendly. Give yourself plenty of time when you go here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traceyld64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nino's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nino's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing