We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it!!”
Review of Krzysiak House

Krzysiak House
Ranked #14 of 179 Restaurants in Bay City
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

While visiting Bay City, my aunt took me to this restaurant. I am normally not a buffet person but it was actually really good! I think this was the way to try many of the items on the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelsinger97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    45
    26
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, MI, USA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the fish during Lent”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This place is great for takeout during Lent. The fried fish is fantastic. The Thanksgiving buffet is great, too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rederk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
1,279 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,395 helpful votes
“Been years since our last visit....”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were not planning on visiting this restaurant, but remembered it as we drove near it, so decided to stop in to see how it was doing nowadays! Been many years since we dined here with our young children. Looks the same! Definitely haven't modernized anything. However, it was clean, though they have so many pictures on the walls, and other "decorations," it makes one question such.

We ordered the 7.99 dinner buffet, which can't be beat. A good salad bar, with soup. There is 4 or 5 entrees (fish, chicken, liver/onions, a Polish dish, meatballs) with several sides to choose from. Dessert bar had 3 or 4 choices as well. We were pleased with everything except for one dessert.

Service was prompt, not overly friendly, but it appeared it was just our server. There is a small bar, and a small store in front. Bathrooms need updating but clean. Decent sized parking lot. Not really sure of the extent of serving of authentic Polish food anymore, since we didn't check out the menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“going downhill...”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This had been a favourite. However, the dishes are "cheapened", much less authentic. Buffet is so american-ized. The czarnina is like a brown floury substance with raisins and noodles. The chicken noodle soup was like straight out of GFS cans. The pierogi were only potato.. It's no longer a place for real Polish food. Best thing on the buffet: the herring. Chicken, ribs, fish...not Polish style and very greasy. Sorry, I am so sorry your standards have slipped..OR I've upped my standards with the Skillet Buffet and Catering in South Bend, IN.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marjieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Change of Pace”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We come to this place whenever we're in the mood for something different. It's about an hour from home. This is one of two Polish restaurants that we know of, in the state (there are probably others). The lunch buffet is probably the best deal, although other than the potato dumplings and stuffed cabbage, it's pretty standard fare, even if there are many selections. The desserts look very good, but since I'm in a weight-watching mode, I usually don't partake. The sauerkraut is excellent, though, and lo-cal compared to the rest of the fare, and there is still the Polish beer. We have always gone with the extensive buffet offerings, and never ordered off the menu. Maybe we'll do that someday.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Krzysiak House also viewed

 

Been to Krzysiak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing