We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pizza in Bay City & Very Polite Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grampa Tony's Restaurant

Grampa Tony's Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 170 Restaurants in Bay City
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Bay City & Very Polite Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Me and my boyfriend have gone here twice now, once in February and again earlier this month.
Both times we had pizza and it was the best around. Last time they got our order wrong but they quickly rectified their mistake and not only made a new pizza for us but said it was on the house. As if that wasn't already enough they then gave us free cookies (which were fresh and delicious). We will definitely be going again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PurrfectMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    29
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic baked pastas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

An inexpensive place to go to get good food, large quantities, and excellent friendly service. Not as impressed with thier pizzas as we are with their pastas- especially the baked ones! Best bean soup in town if you like bean soup. Great homemade Italian bread served with just about every meal. Small but adequate selection of beer and wine to compliment any of thier meals. Great place to go as a couple, with family or friends. Located close to Bay City Players theatre too so you can do dinner and a show without having to move your car. Also just down the street from the hospital so you can get good food fast and reasonable if you are in the area visiting a patient.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tbare123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A step above bar food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We usually eat at the west side Grampa Tony's. They have a full menu but the food is about one step above bar food. Filling but not too memorable. You get a lot of it tho.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

Go here on a weekly basis. Not very busy usually, you can always get a table right away. Steak sandwiches are excellent! Nice little family-owned resturaunt. Nothing fancy, just regular food. Service is good.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick5212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent Italian good, but nothing to brag about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

I had the chicken parmesan with lasagna special. The chicken was soggy but still tasted alright and the lasagna also wasn't too tasty. The price was great as well as the service. Overall: average food at a decent price.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grampa Tony's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing