We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe I hit it on a good day.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Valley Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Booked this hotel through priceline. The room was clean and at the end of the hall so relatively quiet. The lobby was clean and nice looking.

Nice clean shower.

I have traveled a lot and it was decent for being in Bay City, MI. Not exactly a booming area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kulchic723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2011

EVERYTHING the person who wrote the review from Jan 12th is absolutely the truth! I come from and still live in humble conditions on a farm and this place doesn't even rate above a Motel 6...at least THEY leave the light on for ya! I expressed how very important this visit was (a reunion with my husband after being gone 6 weeks) and NEVER have I been THIS disappointed. I might as well have taken my money and watched it burn! What a shameful waste! I am a very "giving" person when it comes to being pleased..so when I write a bad review...TRUST ME ...IT'S BAADD!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tskittin95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

HORRIBLE stay. In the first room the bed would knock up against the wall if you bumped it, we asked for another room and the front desk staff had no problem finding us another room. No frig, no microwave, and only a 19 inch TV. The room was either too cold or too hot and the lack of humidity left both my husband and I feeling sick the next morning. The bar staff was sub-par with the exception of our waitress. The staff seemed more interested in partying themselves than waiting on anyone. The bartender was a blonde bimbo that was more interested in flirting with the guys, then getting me my beer, then was rude enough to mumble something when I didn't tip her. TIP stands for To Insure Promptness - Get a clue, sweetie! There were people at 3 am outside our door having a great time, too bad we were still trying to sleep. The breakfast was ok, but you had to pay $5 for an omelet. I honestly think they are using the word "Resort" in the wrong context here. The whole place is a maze, going up and down stairs to get to your room, I was waiting for Jack Nicholson to come around one of the corners and scream, "Here's Johnny!"

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muddinangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

I definitly will check Trip Advisor before I stay in a hotel like the Bay City Resort. If you are use to stayin in chain hotel, this hotel is not the one for you. The place is in need of a revonation, the roooms are very old.
I was there to attend a conference in Bay City, MI they play music in the Bar on Friday and Saturday nights. Kids ran up and down the halls late into the night (pass 1:00 am). The staff couldn't seem to control them. If I ever have to go back to Bay City, I will stay at the Doubletree

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed here during the Bay City Tall Ship Festival and it was full. When we arrived a 4pm our room was not yet ready and there were dozens of people sitting around the lobby with the same problem. There were a lot of workers at the check-in desk but only one seemed to know what was going on and they looked overwhelmed. An hour later we were given the key to our room but it didn't work and we had to go back to the front desk for another. The room itself was ok. The air conditioner couldn't keep up but it was the hottest day of the summer so I could understand that. The hotel is a bit dated even though you can tell that it was once a showplace when it was first built and the lobby still is very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadTripperGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

I have been reading reviews from Tripadvisor for years. Every time I book a hotel or trying to decide between several hotels, I usually check the reviews on this site first. I have never written my own review though because usually I find the existing reviews give a good overall picture of each property. I feel compelled to write one for Bay Valley because I feel that the reviews here don't do it justice. It is one of the best value hotels I've ever stayed in. We paid $69 per night and includes a continental breakfast in the morning. The breakfast is not bad at all, including 4 types of cereal to choose from, bagels, danishes, fresh fruits, yogurt, boiled eggs, orange and cranberry juice, coffee, etc. We have a toddler so the breakfast was more than adequate for us. You can also pay an extra $5 for made to order omelet.

There's an indoor/ outdoor pool. And we liked that they opened the indoor pool part even when it was rainy outside. That gave us something to do on a rainy day. They also have Bath and Body Works toiletries. The staff and housekeeping crew were very friendly and helpful.

The location is a bit far from the center of town but if you have a car, it doesn't really matter anyways. It's right off of Interstate 75. The golf course is beautiful and we will definitely stay there again for the same price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acidreign3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We enjoyed the elegance of Bay Valley; the rooms were very clean and the pool and hot tub were terrific. There is more to this resort than modern plastic chains. The included continental breakfast could have been expanded some, since this is a resort, but other than that, it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyQ000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bay City hotels
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 14 in Bay City
93 reviews
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#7 of 14 in Bay City
157 reviews
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2470 Old Bridge Rd, Bay City, MI 48706-9344
Region: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range: £51 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Valley Resort & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Valley Resort is Mid-Michigan's finest full service golf resort and conference center, featuring 140 comfortable guest rooms, Full Service Restaurant, Lounge, a challenging 18 hole championship golf course designed by Desmond Muirhead, year-round, heated indoor/outdoor pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. Bay Valley Resort has over 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space that will accommodate up to 350 guests. Bay Valley Resort has an ideal location, in the heart of the Great Lakes Bay Region of Michigan, which includes the cities of Bay City, Saginaw and Midland, off I-75 at Exit 160. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bay Valley Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Valley Hotel Bay City
Bay City Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing