We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Valley Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Valley Hotel and Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Friends have been coming here for several years. This experience was less than anticipated. Friday night supper took 1 1/2 hours and when I received my "medium cooked" steak, the cow mooed back at me. After sending it back for more cooking it came out rare at best but then they forgot to warm up the rice so it was cold. Our group cancelled the Saturday supper and went elsewhere. Saturday morning shower was a real treat with cool to cold water. It seems the whole hotel was out of warm water. My wife complained of a "lumpy" bed while mine was OK. Most hotels provide daily shampoo, conditioner and soap. This one provided one "sample" container / package for the 3 day stay. Luckily, we brought our own. The golf experience suffered because of the rains they had so it was less than par but I'll blame the weather on soaked fairways; squishy tee decks; and mud bunkers. The beverage cart girl was great except for the fact that she had to cover the whole golf course so it took her way over an hour between visits. On the hot and humid Sunday, we didn't see her from hole number 7 thru hole number 15 which was far too long to be without any beverage (not talking beer either). Understaffed was the problem not the girl herself. Finally, this is NOT a resort but merely an old hotel in need of upgrading. My rating above terrible is only because of the friendly staff who tried to do their best. The owners need to pour some money into this place to bring it up to snuff and provide resort style customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryin4birdies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    22
    29
    22
    22
See reviews for
32
27
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This marks our 8th consecutive year for our couples Golf Weekend at Bay Valley and plans are already in the works for number 9 next year. We recognized on our first visit 8 years ago thay Bay Valley is an older Hotel, very much in need of modernization. We have noticed changes and improvements over the year and while I doubt that it will ever return to 4/5 star accommodation, we celebrate it for what it offers. They have a first class golf course attached to the hotel. The rooms are clean and quiet and you get a great Continental Breakfast in the morning before starting your day. It is close to great dining in both Saginaw and Bay City. The staff are very friendly and helpful and that goes a long way toward making us repeat customers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I would give this hotel a poor rating, but because the staff were so great I will say it's an average hotel. Definitely NOT a resort. The hotel is in major need of a remodel. The room we stayed in had 3 lamps, so it was very dark. Carpet and bedding showed it's battle wounds from it's years of use. There was a bunch of spider webs with dead spiders hanging out in the corner of the room by an electrical outlet. A plus was the many outlets in the room, 4 girls in a room, and we all had some sort of electronic device & lots of hair appliances, but had no problem because of the availability of outlets. I wore shoes the entire trip, and almost wished I had brought flip flops for the shower. In case you are wondering, there was no microwave or refrigerator in our standard room. There was a very cool inside pool that connects to the outside pool through a channel. They turned the heaters on in the pool around 9:30 pm the night we stayed. There is also a hot tub and a work out room. For the work out room, you need to go to the front desk for a key to get in, they will hold your license until you bring the key back. The equipment in the work out room was in working order, but probably on it's last hinges. The lobby looked very nice and well decorated. Continental breakfast was apples, oranges, mini muffins, danishes, and mini bagels. For hot breakfast you had to pay $5 extra each day. I did not pay for it, so I can not comment on how it was. Parking was free and the lot was spacious, so we did not have trouble finding a spot. There were a couple side entrances to the hotel, but you will need your room key to get in. Our floor also had a Women's and Men's Locker Room, that had changing stalls, showers, and toilets, so if you have a room full of people it's a nice extra commodity that you can use as a guest. Close to the highway, so easy on and off, but it's tucked in a spot where you did not hear any traffic or noise at night. Overall, you get what you pay for. If I have to, I will stay again but I will probably check out other hotels in the area first.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Watchb4go.com

Helpful?
1 Thank BeksTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I was recently at Bay Valley for a class reunion and could not have been more pleased. They cleared the furniture out of a suite for us so we could have a hospitality room, the individual rooms were comfortable and clean, and the meal and service was very good. There is easy access to the highway and a very nice golf course on site. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NDK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSalle, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We have stayed at this Hotel and Golf course many times. Beautiful property. The hotel is old and in serious need of updating, but the staff are doing the best they can. Friendly, quick to accommodate requests, the rooms are clean. Free continental breakfast (always good). Golf course great value for your $, course is well maintained, challenging. Tom is always friendly and tries to accommodate your tee times. Good central location for shopping and dining. The lounge has entertainment on the weekend if you want to sit a while and enjoy some music and a beverage. My husband and I go twice a year to take advantage of spring and fall specials.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the golf course, lower level and bring your lawnchairs. Beautiful in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 55JEB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brown City
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

To be fair, the property is gorgeous. Inside needs serious updating, cigarette holes all over the carpet, but it was clean. However, I have stayed in many, many, many hotels over the years, and this was my worst ever. There was a wedding there, which is fine, but the walls are paper thin, and I can sleep through a hurricane and not wake up, but the people in the next room were drunk, smoking pot, and very obnoxious. At 2:30 am when they were still going at it, now in the hallway right outside my door, I ripped open my door, argued with the drunken idiots, and went to the desk. Given the fact that they were really nice, nothing was done. The idiots carried on until 5:00 am, there was screaming all night right outside our window. I would think that the staff could have monitored the situation much more closely. Luckily, we were in town for fun and not business or a funeral, or I would've lost my temper largely. When I checked out, I suggested they check the next room for marijuana smell and charge the idiots a fine or whatever. Again, polite, but I'm very sure nothing was done. I would not stay here again because of this situation. I have never had this experience at a hotel before. If we had taken our kids with us, I'd have been furious. We literally almost left in the night. Never, ever again. When a hotel is that busy, and it was due to the Frankenmuth beer expo, they should be watching over the place. When I went to the front desk to complain, the guy was leaning on the desk doing nothing and the girl in charge was in the back. He probably could have been walking around making sure people were behaving themselves.

Room Tip: If you don't want to sleep, it's a great place to stay. However, if you do, don't stay h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bay City hotels

South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Excellent older, but very clean facility, beautiful golf course, helpful, professional staff. Beautiful entrance, great patio for outdoor dining. The handicap entrance was the best I have used- door easy to open and doesn't try to slam shut on you. Elevator takes you right up to the front desk. Door to room also opens easily and doesn't slam shut as you are entering. Plenty of outlets in room to charge power chair, portable travel concentrator, and large concentrator, and use laptop at the same time!! (and without moving furniture to find them!!)
The beds were heavenly, and the pillows, as well. I haven't slept that well for a very long time.
I will come back and bring some golfers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bay City hotels
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 14 in Bay City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#7 of 14 in Bay City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley Hotel and Resort

Property: Bay Valley Hotel and Resort
Address: 2470 Old Bridge Road, Bay City, MI 48706-9344
Region: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Valley Hotel and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Valley Resort is Mid-Michigan's finest full service golf resort and conference center, featuring 140 comfortable guest rooms, Full Service Restaurant, Lounge, a challenging 18 hole championship golf course designed by Desmond Muirhead, year-round, heated indoor/outdoor pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. Bay Valley Resort has over 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space that will accommodate up to 400 guests. Bay Valley Resort has an ideal location, in the heart of the Great Lakes Bay Region of Michigan, which includes the cities of Bay City, Saginaw and Midland, off I-75 at Exit 160. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay Valley Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Valley Hotel Bay City
Bay City Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing