We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only golfed - needs TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Valley Hotel and Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Jackson, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Only golfed - needs TLC”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Overall very dry. Some tee boxes like cement. Amazing as there is water all around. Even some ball washers were dry. Layout good though. Not easy to go in on turn - hot dog table set up between 9 and 10. No drinking water on course but they did have a beverage cart. Porta john supposedly on front but never saw it. One also on back - next to a real restroom??? We paid $20 for a Sunday play but hubby said it was over priced.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    22
    30
    23
    22
See reviews for
32
28
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Found this place online and booked a 3 night golf package. Fair pricing, golf course is fair and enjoyable. Hotel is old and needs lots of dollars invested. Not the cleanest rooms. Restaurant was a complete failure! Served a Michigan salad with no dressing because they ran out! Bar and food service ended at 8 pm on Sunday, really, where were we supposed to go for dinner?
Until this place gets a major overhaul and new management I'd go only knowing it's a 2nd rate place at best.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bay City hotels

Macomb, MI
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Spent only one night at this hotel while attending an antique show in the area. The lobby area is very nice. The room was average. Could use a bit of updating but it was more than adequate for the evening. The continental breakfast is pretty basic. I have had breakfast buffets with many more options at Hampton Inns and other comparable chain hotels. The hot breakfast you could order in the dining room was reasonably priced so we choose that option. The food was very good and served timely. The dining room could really use updating though. The formica on the tables was peeling off and the whole room just needed a fresh look. The view was nice though. Overall, an adequate hotel but it was very reasonably priced. I would stay again if just looking for a one night stay somewhere. Not sure I would book an extended stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBFSHOPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We took advantage of the July 2-4-1 golf package and enjoyed a fun weekend at the resort. The hotel is slightly dated and in need of a restoration, but the rooms were clean and comfortable. The burgers in the bar were one of the best we've had. The golf course was challenging but not too hard for the women. The staff at Bay Valley get thumbs up for friendliness and hospitality. A special thanks to Tom and Joe in the club house who were more than accommodating in making our golf outing a great experience.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 18th green have a beautiful and an outside seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We are alive so you get 1 star.....let us begin with the danky smell....old basement meets cigarettes in a non smoking room. I hope you enjoy Mexican food because you will be the filling of the taco bed that folds up around you and holds you hostage until morning. Shower interesting if you are 5 ft tall or under and can figure out the 3 knob program they have going on. Peace and quiet are out as the ac sounds like a jet falling apart in your room. Now let's move on to the bar or so we thought it was a bar however the "bartender" Dave acted like we asked for a kidney whenever we ordered a drink... mind you in the 2 hour span we were only allotted 2 miller lites and 1 bloodymary......then when we attempted to cash out we were asked what did you have a bunch of shots.....no however we would need them to ever stay here again. One last tidbit if you're looking for a weight loss program there's is fantastic......its called no air conditioning anywhere but your room. Only good thing going for them is their food. This is our last stay at this "resort".

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank danapea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our room had two double beds, one with a very big sway in the middle. The beds are covered with old bedspreads. The carpet in the room was stained and very bumpy. Felt like you were walking over a rocky surface. Complained to the desk about the room, but they did not offer to change us. Lobby and restaurant present nice, but the rest of the place is dumpy. Would not consider staying here again. Quite a let down!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 18Quilter10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was visiting family, and needed a room at the last minute. The staff was nice and got me checked in despite my late arrival. The layout of the hotel was a little confusing at first, and finding the handicapped entrance for my elderly mother in-law was difficult, but not impossible. The decor and design of the building make it quite beautiful to stay in (exposed wood ceiling beams, and rustic charm). I did not take advantage of the attached golf course or tennis court, but there were a fair number of other guests there for golf and/or tennis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymkrgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bay City hotels
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 14 in Bay City
88 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#4 of 14 in Bay City
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley Hotel and Resort

Property: Bay Valley Hotel and Resort
Address: 2470 Old Bridge Road, Bay City, MI 48706-9344
Region: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Valley Hotel and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Valley Resort is Mid-Michigan's finest full service golf resort and conference center, featuring 140 comfortable guest rooms, Full Service Restaurant, Lounge, a challenging 18 hole championship golf course designed by Desmond Muirhead, year-round, heated indoor/outdoor pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. Bay Valley Resort has over 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space that will accommodate up to 400 guests. Bay Valley Resort has an ideal location, in the heart of the Great Lakes Bay Region of Michigan, which includes the cities of Bay City, Saginaw and Midland, off I-75 at Exit 160. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Valley Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Valley Hotel Bay City
Bay City Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing