We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Valley Hotel and Resort
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I stayed at Bay Valley Hotel and Resort the night before my wedding and the night of my wedding. The entertainment in the lounge was great. We enjoyed our stay at Bay Valley so much. I would recommend it to anyone who is staying in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2009

I had the pleasure of being in Saginaw/Bay City last week and my company put me up at the Bay Valley Hotel and Resort. While the hotel was a tad bit dated, the rooms were clean and the service was friendly. What I really loved was the 18 hole golf course. For only 20 dollars and change, I played the course from the back tees and was delighted with the challenge. For those of you that associate Michigan with bad weather and snow, this golf course could not have been in better shape. The fairways were lush and the greens rolled very nice. Had drinks and dinner in the bar overlooking the golf course. Any where else this course would have cost $100.00 plus. What a wonderful treat. And this hotel fit into my travel per diem despite having "resort" in the name.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jheineken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

We stayed on a Friday-Sunday for our state bowling tournament. We did not book these rooms ourselves, but the group we bowled with did. To begin with, the best looking part of this "resort" (I guess because they have golf, they can be a resort?) was the lobby & restaurant area. The rate we paid was more than we could've booked online ourselves (we paid 79, they had rooms online for 64, and they booked months in advance!) The room was small, and had the same mystery stain on the wall mentioned in another review. The screen door to patio would not lock, and had rips in it, so couldn't leave open much for the breeze. We were on the golf side, so at least the view was okay. What was not okay was the numerous posts and other things sticking up out of said patio, looks from when they took down walls between the rooms/patios. You guessed it, I tripped on one on Friday afternoon, injuring myself. When I called to ask the desk if they had any first aid supplies, like Neosporin, was told to "come to the desk to get some bandaids". That totally upset me, and I said you bring them to me. Finally someone did bring them, but no kind of antiseptic or anything. Went to Meijer in town to buy my own. They said they would "cone off" the area where I fell, and get back to me before I checked out on Sunday. They did neither. The front desk staff couldn't even find a copy of my injury report when I checked out, so I'm left to try to contact them to get one. I did file a 2nd copy since by then I was brusing up & had some swelling going on rather nicely, lol. Needless to say, I did not enjoy myself, and being stiff & in pain didn't bowl the greatest either. So that just added insult to injury, so to speak. But the only good thing was the $5 omelet at breakfast, it was very good. OH, and don't get hungry late, because the fast food places closed at 10 pm.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ordgal97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We travel a lot and have started asking to see a room before we check-in at most hotels. Sometimes we are handed keys, sometimes we are escorted and shown a room, sometimes we are asked for ID or credit card before being shown a room. At this establishment the young man at the counter chose to ignore our request to see a room before we paid, asked for a credit card and charged it. He handed us a receipt and keys and we angrily asked why our card had been charged when we just asked to see a room. The guy was rude and we were treated very unprofessionally. The room was small but nicely decorated. The pool area was in dire need of a renovation. The lobby, bar, and dining area all exceeded the types of places we usually stay. The following morning we complained about the previous nights encounter at the front desk and were given a number to call. They two women apologized but both seemed very under-dressed for a hotel as nice as this one. If the service at check in had been better I would definately recommend. For $5 you get a great hot breakfast or a cold one for free.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank digitalmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

I booked for 2 nights in Oct 2008 and specified that I want a non-smoking room with a view of the golf course, and that was agreed, and they even said the room has free wi-fi.
Upon arrival, I was given a room that overlooked the parking, not the golf course. The room was stinking of smoke, the showers were rusted, the air conditioning/heating was ancient and twice I saw spiders crawling across the floor.
I pointed this out to the front desk and was told that all the non-smoking and golf view rooms have been booked out.
A circuit breaker kept tripping and the bathrooms were out of electricity for most of the night.
The next morning I tried the wi-fi - it did not work.

I went and complained again and asked to check out, and now there was a non-smoking room available with golf view. They said they would help me move, but there was nobody to do it.

This room was much cleaner than the first, but wi-fi still didnt work and they had no clue why.
I wanted to order for room service, and was asked to come out and grab the menu myself.
The menu card didnt have any prices printed on it, and when I called them, they had no idea how to find out the prices.

I wonder how this place is still in business. I will never go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. The resort is old, 60-70ish style of hotel. They serve a continental breakfast that is so-so but for $3-4 more you can get some cooked to order eggs which was convenient. The resort is close to the highway making it accessable but there is absolutely nothing in the immediate area other than a couple fastfood places. Golf is right at the resort. Our room was situated far enough from the bar so we were not disturbed by the very loud live band. The room was in great need of a makeover (stains on the wall that we chose not to examine too closely). We had a king size bed that was so soft and lumpy I felt like I was about to fall out when I rolled over. Possibly the worst thing I have ever attempted to sleep on. I can forgive a lot in a hotel but the bed must be comfortable. I would have told the hotel staff all this had anyone asked how my stay was. Stay at the Doubletree or the Quality Inn instead. You'll enjoy that a lot more.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CathyQ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2007

Our family booked a very large group stay here recently. Because we were a large group we received a fabulous rate. A family member handled the bookings for us so I did not book the room and did not have any business with the front desk.

The lobby is very beautiful, but the layout of the hotel is a bit confusing. Our room was small, but very clean looking. However, it did smell of smoke. To be honest, I don't think it was a non-smoking room but I don't know that for certain. The halls looked clean to me.

My children really enjoyed staying here and loved the indoor/outdoor pool. We did not use the other facilities, such as the workout room or the golf course.

The food in the restaurant was delicious. The service was very friendly, even if a bit slow. We also took advantage of the bar onsite. The drinks were good and so was the food. Again, the service was extremely friendly.

I would come back again.

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank M0ther_of_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bay City hotels
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 14 in Bay City
93 reviews
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#6 of 14 in Bay City
64 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#7 of 14 in Bay City
156 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley Hotel and Resort

Address: 2470 Old Bridge Road, Bay City, MI 48706-9344
Region: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range: £52 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Valley Hotel and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Valley Resort is Mid-Michigan's finest full service golf resort and conference center, featuring 140 comfortable guest rooms, Full Service Restaurant, Lounge, a challenging 18 hole championship golf course designed by Desmond Muirhead, year-round, heated indoor/outdoor pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. Bay Valley Resort has over 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space that will accommodate up to 400 guests. Bay Valley Resort has an ideal location, in the heart of the Great Lakes Bay Region of Michigan, which includes the cities of Bay City, Saginaw and Midland, off I-75 at Exit 160. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Valley Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Valley Hotel Bay City
Bay City Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing