We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“62 bucks for not staying there” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Inn

Bella Vista Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bella Vista Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bear Lake
Sale Creek, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“62 bucks for not staying there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

48 hour cancellation policy is not reasonable. Having not seen the property and then canceling the room on weekday cost one nights stay. Conflict with the front desk continued during a follow up phone call.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    9
    6
    3
    10
See reviews for
22
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corunna, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

My husband and I stayed over a weekend. We were asked by the lady at the front desk to turn off the AC when we left the room. It was a cool, rainy weekend, so that was not a big deal. She also let us know the pool was being repaired and apologized for this. The furniture was old and sturdy (unlike the put together with an allen wrench stuff today), but I was not there on business or as an interior designer, not a big deal. Room was huge, bathroom was huge, beds were comfortable, two sinks available, there was a frig and microwave, and the place was clean. There was not a continental breakfast at this time of the year, but we knew that from the website. Hubble's and Rosie's restaurants had good breakfasts and Miller's Produce had a truck across the street for fresh fruit every morning. The coffee was good and ready on schedule. I got ice and there was enough in the bucket for my needs. The owner was there offering to put more in if I needed it. He was pleasant, but had a to the point demeanor. He also offered suggestions on places to see. I worked as a desk clerk in a motel many years ago, my suggestion would be to put an empty room between guests on nights you are not full. It cuts down on noise and keeps vehicles apart in the lot. We were there that weekend to do some clean up on our property.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

my son and daughter n law got married august 4th 2012, they reserved a room and payed for it a couple months back, they called to verified the reservation to make sure they still have the room. the manager said they gave the room away to someone else, my daughter in law started crying, the manager hung up on her with a very vulgar language. they reemburst us but no honey moon!!!! i was born and raised here and i have never heard of anything like this in my area, i know theres a lot of out of towners coming in all year round but i thought guests always came first. i do not recommend this hotel unless there is new managment, i have alot of friends down here in indiana and they will not be staying there!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

No, it's not a big commercial chain, so don't apply the same criteria. Pleasant hosts, comfortable beds, clean room and nice pool. They ask that the AC be shut off when you're out for an extended period... a very reasonable request.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I have stayed at this Motel many times and it has always been a very positive experience. Owners are friendly, pool was clean and refreshing. The rooms are always very clean. I travel frequently and for the $$$ there is not a better value around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westland, MI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Pros: good location (restaurant next door, Bear Lake and a convenience store right across the street); very nice pool; room clean, plently of towels, soap, etc. (although no shampoo)
Cons: owners were cordial, at best (got a little snippy when trying to get ice from the "free ice" freezer in the office, apparently there is limit to how much you can take); continental breakfast was a little weak (plain bagels and a few muffins/danishes), beds are kind of lumpy (but pillows were good), window air conditioner worked but was VERY loud/rattled a lot
Would stay here again if needed but would not be my first choice

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I travel to the Manistee area regularly. There are many lodging options in all price ranges but relatively few accept pets. We rarely travel without our dog. I believe we've tried every pet friendly hotel/motel in the area and the Bella Vista Inn is easily the best value. It is convenient to Manistee, Onekama, Arcadia, Crystal Mountain and Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore. It isn't luxurious but is well maintained. The grounds are quite nice and the rooms are comfortably appointed, quiet, clean and reasonably priced. I highly recommend it, particularly for those traveling as a family.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhwilliams51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bear Lake
4.2 mi away
Budget Host Alpine Motor Lodge
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
15.3 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Days Inn Manistee
Days Inn Manistee
#4 of 9 in Manistee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
15.3 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
15.2 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Inn

Property: Bella Vista Inn
Address: 12273 West St, PO Box 117, Bear Lake, MI 49614-9440
Region: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Bear Lake
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bella Vista Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Bella Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing