We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emerald Isle a Great place to stay.”
Review of Emerald Isle Hotel

Emerald Isle Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaver Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emerald Isle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beaver Island
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Emerald Isle and suggest it to others who are going to Beaver island. Bill was extremely accommodating and a welcoming host. By the way, there is no air conditioning on Beaver Island any where as far as I can tell, not just at the Emerald Isle. The rooms are spacious , all the appliances work and the rooms were very neat and clean. We appreciated the rustic decor. This is a great place to stay for families. Close to the beach, the town, and the beautiful bike trails. They even have bikes to ride. We were picked up at the Ferry by Bill, the owner, and he carried our bags and drove us back when we returned. There are good restaurants within walking and biking distance. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Beaver Island is a rustic stop not a 5 star metropolis. Know that going in. It is very expensive to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 670CAthy670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel is the newest constructed hotel on the island, but here are a few things you should know before you go: Decor is 1990's, No telephones, No A/C, you can hear the upstair's rooms water flow, traffic and the dog barking across the street, clean but not white glove clean, 19" TV w/ built in VCR!, Channels are a few Satelite Encores, and Outdoor/Sportsman, no local channels, no major networks. Huge potential for this hotel...but needs some deep down cleaning and lots of updating.

Room Tip: Ask for the room farthest from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeptemberChill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel is located within walking distance from the main street of the island which is right on the beach. The island experience should not be missed! You won't believe you are in the United States. The hotel rooms are pretty good and clean. Everyone is extremely nice and the owner even drove us to the ferry boat! There are refrigerators and stoves in each room too. Kids loved it!

Room Tip: All rooms seem very quiet so choose any one of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The Emerald Isle is very nice for an "Up North" accomodation. Rooms are clean, comfortable, and spacious, with a kitchenette in each. We weren't expecting a 5-star resort. Bill was gracious and accomodating. Yes, there were some things that didn't work, as others have said. After experiencing life on Beaver Island, you understand some of the unique challenges of renovations and repairs. Our group would stay here again and we met another group as we were leaving that comes here year after year. The location of the hotel is very convenient to walk to everything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meghansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

It's a nice place to stay. Bill and his staff were very helpful. Not deluxe accomadations, but very clean. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Supersport18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Emerald Isle has the potential to be great. On the surface the rooms seem fine, but lots of odd problems. Everything seems cheap (and not in a good way). A bit of professional renovation would go a long ways. Springs on the hide-a-bed are shot. Half the windows do not work. Bath tub constantly leaking. Chairs falling apart. VERY minimal kitchette dishes/pans.
That being said, we spent most of the time out at the beaches and had a very nice time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelercj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I first stayed at the Emerald Isle when I brought my family to Beaver Island for the first time five years ago. We now make Beaver Island our annual vacation destination and have stayed at the Emerald Isle every year since. It is an absolutely wonderful hotel with a kitchen in every room. The rooms are very clean and are tidied daily. If you need something that is not in the room, just ask the host, Bill Thomas and it is quickly obtained. He is very accomodating. Every year, he not only picks us up at the boat dock, but drives us to the grocery store to obtain the items we need for our stay. Last year we took our family on his picture-stop tour and fell even more in love with the island. We absolutely love this place!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Emerald Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Isle Hotel

Address: 37985 Kings Hwy, Beaver Island, MI 49782-5197
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Beaver Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beaver Island
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Emerald Isle Hotel Beaver Island, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing