We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shanty Creek Weekend”

Shanty Creek Resorts
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Bellaire
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An iconic ski and golf resort in northern Michigan, Shanty Creek Resorts is a three-resort experiences in one. Its three villages of SCR (Summit, Cedar River and Schuss) span 4,500 acres across hardwood forests, rolling meadows and atop mountain bluffs with miles of scenic vistas. With nearly 500 lodging options, multiple dining venues, four award-winning golf courses, two ski mountains, an 8-lane tubing park, six terrain parks, and a fitness center and wellness spa, plus over 35,000 sq ft of conference and special event space, Shanty Creek Resorts has been an Up North destination for generations.
Manistee, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shanty Creek Weekend”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a great time at Shanty Creek. The room was beyond our expectations, very nice and very comfortable. The skiing was awesome and the staff was great. We enjoyed the outside pool and the breakfast bar. All in all it was a great weekend.

Visited January 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    24
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“I love this place!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I love Shanty Creek, and have gone there several times a year for over 20 years. The northern Michigan setting is beautiful. Shanty Creek is unique in that the ski resort is at the top of the hill, instead of the bottom. From the lakeview rooms, you have an outstanding view of Lake Bellaire. All of the amenities are very well done. It is a warm and hospitable environment. The new owners put a lot of money into updating the place, while preserving the natural beauty of the surroundings. I would recommend that you get a lakeview room so you can enjoy the views on the balcony. The restaurant is very good, and the restaurant staff are very friendly. There are several golf courses to choose from, and these courses have embraced the northern Michigan setting masterfully.
The resort has really seen an increase in convention business, so I would recommend that you try to book reservations well in advance; however, they run specials often.
Overall, a wonderful place. I have conversed with many visitors from other states, and they all comment on what a hidden gem northern Michigan is. Those from the South really love it there because the summer days are not stifling hot, and the nights are pleasantly cool.
Give it a try, and I think that you will have a wonderful time!

Visited November 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 668Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allendale, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salute to Shanty Creek”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was our 2nd 3 day stay at Shanty Creek with our MG car club and both have been fantastic. It truely is a resort to brag about including the location, our spacious room, the onsite food, activities available, the friendly and helpful staff, and especially the "homey" atmosphere. An A++ resort.

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank katshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to spend a week”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Whether you are a golfer, a skier, or like Fall colors, Shanty Creek is a great place to spend a relaxing week. The food is quite good and the service is usually excellent. It works well for both couples and families.


Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wixom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Come here for girls golf weekend and love it. Courses are great, we have our favorite. Have stayed in the main hotel as well as the separated condo type rooms. Those are nice but a little outdated.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanty Creek Resorts also viewed

Bellaire, Antrim County
 
Bellaire, Antrim County
Bellaire, Antrim County
 

Been to Shanty Creek Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing