We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bellaire
Troy, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Spent a weekend at Shanty Creek Resort for a conference. Our room (339) was spacious and included a fridge. The only concern I had with the room was the bathtub. It was slippery and needed some kind of mat to ensure better balance and safety. The balcony overlooked Lake Bellaire and a vast expanse of woodlands. The view was breathtaking. Hotel staff were pleasant and very accommodating. Had lunch and dinner at the Lakeview Restaurant. The food was excellent as was the view. It was a little pricey, but a very enjoyable experience. I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    68
    40
    31
    14
See reviews for
66
55
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The place is dated and the hallway to the rooms are eerie and look like a movie set for "The Shining" I kept looking for the kid on the big wheel to come zipping down the hallway.
The room smelled like my brothers frat house and I went to the sliding door to get fresh air (there is no lock) I moved the door stick and opened the door to a view of a lake. The decks are all open separated by a metal rail so you can see everybody else.
I took a shower and there it was...a used wash cloth on the shower curtain..eeeww! The room was a double queen but the place is dated! the carpet is old and the pattern makes you sea sick..fridge microwave in room, tv is small and set too far back in cabinet (you can't move it)
Ate at the lakeside grill food ok but WAY EXPENSIVE! not worth it. Moved to hotel in Traverse city area, better food, cheaper and hotel LOTS better away from here!
Beds were horrible..felt like sleeping in a hammock..SERIOUSl!! We should have left but stayed one night and got out of dodge, I am not a complaining type person but this isn't a good place to stay for the money they charge.
One elevator to service 3 floors, good luck getting a cart to haul your stuff :(
The hotel is in the middle of no where but go into Bellaire for McDonalds, restaurants etc. 3 miles from the Summit Place.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bluesky t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bellaire hotels

Ludington, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I am here for a business conference and was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. I was here for a business conference several years ago and wasn't too impressed, so coming to this conference I was a bit concerned. However, I am completely surprised. Yes the place is a bit dated, but even so it is wonderful.

The staff is great and very helpful. And I don't just mean the front desk people. Everyone from the cleaning crew, kitchen crew and others I have run into have been extremely friendly and helpful. And the room, while it has an older feel to it, is great.

I am so impressed that I am going to book some time here for my wife and I for our anniversary.

Room Tip: The king size upgrades have a great (though dated) kitchen...a real kitchen with a full size range a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clinton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Schuss Mountain/Shanty Creet resort and was not impressed! We put in through a timeshare nearly two years ago and were put in Sudenorf Village unit 463 on Kliffendorf Road. The cleanliness of this villa was less than to be desired and the unit was out of date and needed work. On cleanliness: random food on floor, hair on baseboards, after wiping down counter surfaces/table with Clorox wipes, it was black. Mantle of fireplace was dusty and had spiderwebs and dead bugs. Top shelf of linen closet was a huge spider web with bugs. The outdoor deck was filled with debris and spider webs with dirty patio chairs. We had 5 adults and 1 child so we needed to utilize the pullout couch. Upon opening the pull out couch we found a buffet of nasty food! Licorice, goldfish crackers, popcorn, Oreo cookies and other random sticky nastiness!! That was the last draw and we called the front desk to complain. It was late so we dealt with it for that night. Housekeeping called the next morning and they wanted to come clean, so we told them we would be gone for a couple hours and to come then. Got back...they hadn't come! They showed up later and the head of housekeeping, John who was very nice had his crew come and do a quick clean. He asked us if we were moving which we hadn't been notified of but would have happily done only to find out it was the people below us who would be moving. I am assuming they were moving because of cleanliness too, since I heard through the floor housekeeping show up at 1am knocking on their door most likely due to a complaint. On the unit itself: very outdated decor, old small tv and VCR (only 1 tv in villa, none in bedrooms), peeling wallpaper in bathroom, wear marks through some of the towels that were dingy white, multiple holes in the blankets, black marks on walls and just very old and semi-run down. The unit was rather small for what we are used to when time-sharing as well. Only one bathroom and two very small bedrooms. One bedroom was so small that you had to turn sideways to reach the other side of the bed!

The pool at Sudendorf was nice because it wasn't busy and had nice lounge chairs and seating but the pool itself was pretty old and the little clubhouse was filled with spiderwebs which only had a small table and a radio from 1970 in it along with hundreds of dead bugs!
The pluses of Shanty: The guys enjoyed their golf at The Legends, the view of the lake was beautiful and we enjoyed our dining experience in the main Summit lodge.

The resort is huge and maybe we just had a bad experience with our accommodations, but with what I experienced, I wouldn't be quick to recommend Shanty/Schuss lodging. It definitely wasn't what was depicted online and after waiting nearly two years to stay it wasn't what I had in mind that's for sure!

Update to review: A gentleman from Shanty emailed to say where we stayed was not a part of Shanty Creek/Schuss Mountain and poo-poo'd our complaints basically. This is ridiculous!!! We booked through a timeshare, but it was surely at Shanty. We checked in at the lodge at Summit which is part of Shanty. Everything in the room said Shanty/Schuss. The house keeping people wore Shanty name tags. How can they claim this villa was not part of Shanty/Schuss?!?! Way to pass the buck!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dforberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over a weekend (2 adults and 2 children)

The staff at reception and throughout the complex were helpful and freindly. Our room was a little on the small side for 4, but very clean and tidy and well equiped. Also had very comfortable beds!

The food at the resturant was good.

The outside pool was fantastic, great views across Torch lake. The inside pool was very clean.

They also put on an open air cinema and we watched Shreik which our kids loved!!

Would definately go back, maybe in the winter next time?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HyperspaceGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at Shanty Creek's Lakeview Hotel. It was pretty and had a somewhat lodge feel, but you could tell the property was a bit older. Front desk service was okay. Our room was alright but nothing special for the prices they charge. We settled on the double queen room, because a king room was quite the upgrade, which we choose not to spend. Unfortunately the room had an adjoining room and the noise level was quite high. Wall between rooms seemed thin compared to other hotels. The beds were also on the uncomfortable side (maybe I am biased because I love my home bed so much!). The bathroom was alright, but again nothing spectacular. I was honestly expecting more luxury from this resort from talk about it and from the website pictures. Functional property but it might be a better choice if you were able to find a special rate. It does have beautiful grounds and lovely looking golf courses.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a non-adjoining room to help avoid the noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Shanty creek is quite the resort. Golf is offered in the summer at four courses designed by Bill Diddle, Arnold Palmer, Tom Weisscoff and the Schuss Mtn. Course. All levels of golfers will find a course for them. The resort offers a fine restaurant. A number of swimming pools to choose from are another option for activity or relaxation. Fall offers spectacular views of color vistas and a great starting off point for fall color tours. Winter offers great Midwest skiing, both downhill and cross country, plus snowshoeing amongst the pines and hardwoods. The pools, both indoor and outdoor, are open with views of the skiers zipping by. The resort also offers shuttle rides to partake what the Village of Bellaire has to offer, be it bar, an award winning micro-brewery, or first run movie theatre, or fine dining. It's always a "beautiful day at Shanty Creek".

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellaire
23.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
22.4 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
351 reviews
23.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,167 reviews
20.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
24.1 mi away
Bayshore Resort
Bayshore Resort
#4 of 40 in Traverse City
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village

Property: Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village
Address: 5780 Shanty Creek Rd, Bellaire, MI 49615-8311
Region: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Bellaire
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bellaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host to the new $10 million Lakeview Hotel & Conference Center renovation, Summit Village offers inspiring views of Lake Bellaire, miles of untouched hardwood forests and out-the-door access to 12 skiing and snowboarding runs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village Hotel Bellaire
Shanty Creek Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing