We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - good conference facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bellaire
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I originally thought this was a terrible choice for a group's annual conference and had low expectations. While I do golf, I am not avid, and the remote location was disappointing as I'm only up for 18 holes about once a week at best. However, the hotel did a great job of coming up with things to do in addition to golf and the standard meetings. They had a cooking class with the hotel chef, we played foot golf (oversized holes and soccer balls - great fun and a workout!), and the food was good regardless of where we ate. There was live music in the lobby/bar on the weekend nights, and pretty views from all the west facing windows. I didn't swim, but I was surprised that there wasn't a bigger outdoor pool - it was packed.

Unfortunately, I didn't take any pictures, but the ones posted at the time of this review don't do the lobby or rooms justice. The hotel seems to be in the midst of a major update (although I didn't see any signs of construction other than a poster showing what they've done and are planning). The rooms have been recently updated, white duvet covers on the beds, new furniture, new vanities in the bathrooms, etc. and look like a nice chain hotel. The balconies are spacious and have a table and chairs.

I don't know that I'd seek out a trip to Bellaire, but if you're looking for a venue for a conference or a golf vacation, it would be a great choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarmerGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This property is a timeshare rental/sales/hotel/conference facility/ski-golf "resort" located a few miles South of the very small town of Bellaire, MI and accesses the town on a series of backroads. It is located on a hill, and is some distance from the lake (Lake Bellaire). The isolation means that it is not trivial to go off-site for meals, etc.

We had several difficulties. The front desk seemed skeptical/ perturbed by our "third-party booking" and we worried that we wouldn't get a room after our 13-hour drive to reach the site. We didn't get the hotel room that I thought we had reserved, even though we arrived within an hour and a half of the 600PM time (!!) that the hotel says rooms could be occupied, and instead got a timeshare "condo". This was a place built in the early 1980's and except for the television, did not seem to have been renovated. It was the size of a standard, 2-star hotel room with similar amenities. The condo is quite lightly constructed. Even the footfalls from next door were easily heard. Some noise was drowned out by the whistle from the A/C unit in the wall, though. There is a thermostat in the bathroom that temperature of the room, but actually (we discovered) controls the temperature of the hot water for the unit. So, when we lowered it to 65, we got tepid water.

There was no wired internet (as advertised), and though we detected wifi, we couldn't get that to work, either. There were no instructions in the room and no help came from the front desk.

We ate in the hotel restaurant. It took considerable pressure from us and a kind waiter at the bar to secure a table at 8PM. We were told that we could eat in the bar, but a large group of very inebriated women there encouraged us to press harder not to eat there. After a 20 min wait, we got one of the many empty tables in the restaurant and eventually got served.

The hotel charges a "resort fee". We noticed this surcharge after booking. Given the other problems we had, we elected not to fight the fee - we didn't use anything at the resort in our short stay from ~7:30PM to ~8:00 AM - but those who don't plan to use the "resort facilities" might want to bear this surcharge in mind when considering the property.

Like many golf courses, the grounds are very well maintained. This might be a great place if you plan to ski and/or golf or otherwise take full advantage of the facilities and plan to stay for some time. As other reviewers have noted, there are some pleasant places to explore in the surrounding area. Traverse City is ~1 hour away, for example. But these places also have hotels, and some of these might be a better choice for those wanting more options and not requiring skiing or golf on-site.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delawaredad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have been going to Shanty Creek for years and will continue to return. We have a timeshare unit which is very nice, although not high end. We find the staff to be very responsive and the resort to be a nice, relaxing location. Not a prime tourist destination so if you like to have a quieter time and more relaxing time, Shanty Creek is a good choice. If you are a golfer, there are several golf courses that are very nice, quite scenic and popular. The resort has several swimming pools, restaurants and other entertainment choices. What we especially like is the location in Northern Michigan provides proximity to many different day trips. Mackinaw Island, Traverse City, Mission Peninsula, Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes are all day trips that can be done from Shanty Creek. The small towns in the area are very nice for an afternoon - Bellarie, Alden - are two of our favorites. The resort is close to Torch Lake which is one of the most beautiful lakes I have seen. Traverse City, Charlevoix, Petosky and Harbor Springs are also not far - bigger cities with more tourists and "action" if that is what you are seeking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gertper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was part of a group of 15 bike riders that recently stayed at Shanty Creek Resort. We arrived on our bikes around 5:30 pm, sweaty and in need of showers before heading out for our dinner plans. When we arrived, our rooms were not ready. I asked what the check-in time was and was informed that it was 6:00 pm. I have stayed at hundreds of hotels over the years and have never seen a single other one with a check-in time that late. Needless to say, 6:00 rolled around, then 6:30 - rooms still weren't ready. I spoke with the front desk manager, who argued with me that there was no guarantee that the rooms would be ready by 6:00. He refused to make any accomodation - no discount, no free drinks in the bar, nothing. Finally got into the room at 6:40 and took a 5 minute shower to make it to dinner on time. Guess what - check out time was 10:00 am!
The rooms were very average for the price paid. Breakfast food in the restaurant was excellent. However, based on my experience with the front desk manager, I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Checked into the timeshare last Friday. The front desk ladies were very nice and as we were early decided to have lunch at the Summit. Asmentioned before, great view of the Lake. Unit was ready by 3:30PM. Although Pinebrook is "on the property" it's 3 miles from the the clubhouse. VERY happy with the room. It is in great shape, two bedroom, two bath, looks out on the forest and is very peaceful. also it's right on M88, so it's more convenient for exploring the area. We are really enjoying our stay and would highly recommend Pinebrook!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tdiddy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed at Shanty Creek on the "room and round" package. Golfed at the Legend course. Unfortunately we had cold, rainy, weather and were unable to fully enjoy the course, however, it had beautiful views of mountains and lakes. It is a course with many hills/valleys, and homes surrounding most greens.

The hotel room was newly remodeled and clean. We had a bit of a wait checking in and out even though nobody else in line. Only one front desk clerk and they were in office on phone. The resort itself is a bit outdated. They have a few small shops on the property, they weren't open in the early evening, other than small bar. Signs were posted to let the bar know if you would like something in one of the stores and they would send somebody over. We did this just wanting to purchase a few snacks. We waited about 5-10 min and decided to leave when nobody showed up.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RZTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had the opportunity to be at the resort for business but could not help being impressed by the natural beauty of the place and the genuine warmth of the employees. The food is very good and the wine steward knew her stuff. Rooms were comfortable but who wants that when so much walking to do. Make sure to check out Shorts Brewery in Bellaire, great food, great service and super great beer! Would return for a vacation! Note, only issue was that when outside there are no places to sit down and relax to take in the beautiful vistas.

Room Tip: Try for lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellaire
23.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
421 reviews
23.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
22.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
18.8 mi away
Grand Traverse Resort and Spa
24.0 mi away
Bayshore Resort
Bayshore Resort
#4 of 40 in Traverse City
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village

Address: 5780 Shanty Creek Rd, Bellaire, MI 49615-8311
Region: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Bellaire
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bellaire
Price Range: £64 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host to the new $10 million Lakeview Hotel & Conference Center renovation, Summit Village offers inspiring views of Lake Bellaire, miles of untouched hardwood forests and out-the-door access to 12 skiing and snowboarding runs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village Hotel Bellaire
Shanty Creek Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing