We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay at the Applesauce Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applesauce Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Bellaire B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I was so impressed by my first stay at the Applesauce Inn this past August that I returned the next month in September. It was a great experience staying in this very lovely and extremely clean bed and breakfast. The breakfasts and evening desserts were the most yummy gourmet treats. The inn is located less than an hour's drive from many of Michigan's most beautiful vacation spots, making it a very convenient location. Jaime and Gary were excellent hosts and have a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding resort area. Their "attention to detail" to enhance your stay was very evident (such as: bottled water, coffee and tea with your evening snack, restaurant recommendations). We had not stayed in many B and B's before. I can guarantee you will NOT be disappointed choosing this "home away from home" for your next get away.

Room Tip: The house has 3 rooms available. We stayed in the downstairs room with private bath and on our othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LinnyGrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

I cannot think of one negative thing to say about this bed and breakfast. I could go on and on forever about how great it was, but instead I'll briefly list what I loved about it:

- One of the coziest homes I've ever been in.
- Spotless. I actually tried to find dust and failed.
- We were excited to come "home" at night.
- The house always smelled wonderful.
- Breakfast was so delightfully plated and delicious. (Jamie used eggs and veggies from her own backyard!)
- Dessert was waiting in the dining room every evening when we came home. Coffee, tea, water, etc. available at all times.
- The vintage decor was stunning.
- Jamie was such a sweet, kind woman and made us feel completely comfortable.
- It was a great deal.

We are planning to stay here again next summer. I'm not even bothering to try a new B and B because this historic home is fabulous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We have stayed at a number of Bed and Breakfasts and the Applesauce Inn is by far the best one yet. The Napa Room was warm and cozy and absolutely the cleanest place we have ever stayed at. The breakfasts were remarkable and the evening desserts were delightful. The personal attention we received was unsurpassed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken-Marti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at the Applesauce B&B for a couple nights in August 2012 and it was a great experience. The wrap around porch is wonderful with coffee in the morning or with a glass of wine in the evening. The breakfasts were delicious and the fellow guests we met were fantastic! There is also a homemade snack served every evening, which is unique from a lot of other B&B`s that we`ve visited. Our room had air conditioning, which was much appreciated in August, and the room was cozy and clean. Definitely locate it on a map before heading out, because it can be a little challenging to locate if you`re not familiar with the area!

Room Tip: The Carmel Room shares a bathroom with the innkeepers, but it is cleaned daily and oh-so-cute (claw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. We love the coziness and comfort of the place. Jamie is an excellent host and you can tell that she loves what she does. The breakfasts and late-night desserts were simply delicious. Sitting in the porch in the late evening or early morning is quite an experience. If you plan to be in northern MI, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This may be superfluous in light of the string of 5-star reviews I see, but I feel compelled to add another. This is the epitome of the cozy, comfortable, pampering B&B experience -- one of the very best we've stayed in. Jamie's cooking is outstanding, both in the breakfasts and the fresh-baked late-night desserts. Very peaceful country location ... sitting on the wrap-around porch and watching a thunderstorm roll in one night was a totally relaxing experience. The location puts you just a few minutes from Bellaire, where there are several appealing restaurants, and fairly centrally located for day trips to Traverse City and other parts of this lovely area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

First time at a B & B. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. The inn keepers (Jamie/Gary) were very hospitable, gracious,and friendly, and Jamie is a great cook! The rooms were nice, the beds comfy and so many little extras, we were pampered like royalty. If you plan to be in northern MI, you won't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Applesauce in only has one bedroom downstairs so if stairs are an issue be sure to book the room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talk2planes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellaire
21.8 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
217 reviews
22.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
22.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
1.7 mi away
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village
4.0 mi away
Stone Waters Inn
Stone Waters Inn
#4 of 4 in Bellaire
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applesauce Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applesauce Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7296 S M 88 Hwy, Bellaire, MI 49615-9276
Region: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Bellaire
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bellaire
Price Range: £72 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Applesauce Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please contact the B&B for availability ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing