We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applesauce Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Bellaire B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a great experience at Applesauce Inn. We stayed for 2 nights in the first-floor Sonora Room and would book it again; it's very quiet, has a private bath, and allows easy access to the parlor and the sprawling front porch.

We spent quite a bit of time on the porch, enjoying the crisp, fall weather. One side of the porch has a lovely view of the vegetable garden and chickens--great ambiance in which to relax and read.

Breakfast each morning was beautifully plated and delicious. Coffee, teas, hot chocolate, water, and snacks are available all day, with a homemade dessert served each evening at 7 p.m. There was plenty to do in the area, too, even if you're not the "outdoorsy" type: the inn is just a few miles from downtown Bellaire, with its galleries, shops, and Short's Brewery, as well as a reasonable driving distance to wineries, both peninsulas, other small towns (with lovely shops and galleries), Traverse City, and casinos.

When you stay, be sure to check out the array of Michigan-made delicacies available for purchase in the dining room. We came away with a jar of Strawberry Lavender, jelly made by Jamie, one of the inn's owners, and a box of cherry tea. I also couldn't resist purchasing one of Jamie's necklaces, repurposed & wearable art made from vintage jewelry.

Room Tip: The Sonora Room is the only one on the first floor, which means the parlor feels private for your us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

When making the online reservation, I read that the directions to the Bed and Breafast Inn were not easy to locate , and they were right! However, the directions sent by the owners were perfect!Being several miles out of town, the Inn has a country feel and the hostess was warm and friendly without being obtrusive in any way!

The room with private bath was small but more than adequate m tastefully decorated, and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was delicious home-made cooking with local produce even down to the bacon! Evening home-made desserts were also a delight ftre a day of sight-seeing in the Travers City area.

Would definitely stay there again if in that area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trev7956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband and I recently spent a 3 night stay at the Applesauce Inn Bed & Breakfast. Jamie was a wonderful hostess and did more than most innkeepers to insure we had a great stay in this busy area. The Senora room that we had was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. This room on the first floor is relaxing and quaint. Each morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast that included eggs from her chickens and items from the garden, soooo that's FRESH! Local cherries were included in several dishes and also the sausage. When we returned home from a busy day of sightseeing, shopping or wine tasting, a lovely dessert was waiting on the dining room table along with tea, coffee or other beverages. A quick call from Traverse City to Jamie for a recommendation for dinner gave us an opportunity to try Phil's on Front for a wonderful meal and wine combination. Jamie is able to offer great ideas for places to eat and things to see. Her artistry is seen in her decorating, food service, and care of her adorable Inn. Thanks for a wonderful visit. Hope to see you again sometime. Ron and Gloria

Room Tip: Our first floor room was convenient, had a full bathroom and nice closet space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speechlady52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our two night stay at the Applesauce Inn Bed & Breakfast. Jamie first of all is an excellent cook with excellent breakfasts and delicious evening desserts. I want to take cooking classes from her. On par with her cooking, is her friendliness and knowledge of the area. We are not sure that we will be back in Bellaire, but if we are we would stay their again. Thanks for a wonderful stay, Jamie.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the upstairs Napa Room, but would probably opt for the downstairs room should be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a wonderful experience! Jamie was great...the food was incredible! Very cozy...she has thought of everything you could ever need or want while you are there! We highly recommend it and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdonofrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My family and I spent the first weekend in July at the Applesauce Inn. The owners, Jamie and Gary made us feel like we were "home" in their home and B & B. Combining the best of their Michigan past and present with a little bit of their California living experiences, it all gets wrapped up in the delightful 120 year old house. Likewise, the charm of the old place does not get lost with the modern upgrades of A/C, TV and WiFi.

The breakfast features the "fruit" on their on-site hens in fun and imaginative ways. A bottle of wine and yummy desserts await the travelers at the end of the day.

Yes, the best of home but they make the bed!

Room Tip: I was in the Napa room that has a private bathroom with a walk-in shower. It faces the road, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seashelltrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We loved our stay at this great "Inn". We were made to feel special and comfortable from the meals to the hospitality (which was natural and not fake!) We would recommend this B & B just for the pleasure of watching sunsets from a grand porch and quietly reading or nature watching from many areas of the house. We had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Sonoma room was very spacious and light and quaint w/full sized tub for bubblebath or "rain sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronmsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellaire hotels
4.2 mi away
The Grand Victorian B&B
The Grand Victorian B&B
#3 of 4 in Bellaire
195 reviews
4 mi away
Stone Waters Inn
Stone Waters Inn
#4 of 4 in Bellaire
113 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Legend Cottage Inn
Legend Cottage Inn
#5 of 6 in Bellaire
4 reviews
2.6 mi away
Schuss Village-Shanty Creek Resorts
2.6 mi away
Shanty Creek Resorts - Cedar River Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applesauce Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applesauce Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7296 S M 88 Hwy, Bellaire, MI 49615-9276
Region: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Bellaire
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bellaire
Price Range: £68 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Applesauce Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please contact the B&B for availability ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing