We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellaire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellaire Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Bellaire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

David and Jim were incredibly welcoming and friendly. We especially appreciated the anniversary gift of a Short's growler, such a nice thing and something completely unique! The accommodations were very nice and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning sometime!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We visit David & Jim once or twice per year. Many years ago, we wanted to try a B&B for our anniversary and luckily stumbled on this place. We were so well taken care of, we didn't want to leave and could not wait to come back.

It is pleasant staying where almost every conceivable thing has been thought through and there is a tremendous attention to detail. Anything a traveler would need is nearby. Need a water and some snacks or a soda for the road or while you sight-see around the area? Right by the door. Fresh coffee is out in urns very early in two places around the home. The full breakfast is phenomenal, and goes way beyond what you would get at most B&Bs.

Several years ago, the Carriage House was built, and is our preferred place to stay. While the main house rooms are quaint and well appointed, these four rooms have fireplaces and sitting areas with TVs (if you are really bored...), plus king-size beds.

If you are Craft Beer fans (as we now are), the B&B is within "staggering distance" of Shorts Brewing in downtown Bellaire, as well as fine dining at Lulu's. There are so many other things to do in the area, Summer (golf) or Winter (skiing), that any time is a good time to relax and get a little pampering in.

Room Tip: The Mackinac Room in the Carriage House is the best value; we also enjoy the Empire Room in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I just stayed at the Bellaire B&B for a second time. Here's what impressed me very much. Upon check-in, David welcomed us back, and then apologized that the main breakfast course we would have the next day was the same that we had had when we stayed at there last summer. Oh my goodness! He had kept guest records and when he noted that we were return guests, he cross-referenced his notes and discovered this menu overlap. My husband and I were extremely impressed with such excellent customer service. Of course, the breakfast the next morning wasn't exactly the same menu. . .but, even if it had been, we were fine because it was out-of-the-world delicious.

This year, we stayed in the Tuscany suite and highly recommend it. We also highly recommend walking into Bellaire and eating at one of the great restaurants (particularly Shorts Brewery!).

Great job, David and Jim. Can't wait to visit again next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheFlyingMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had never stayed in Bellaire previously, but were traveling in northern Michigan for a few days. Stayed here only 1 night, and we were sorry it was not longer. The atmosphere is quiet, relaxing, welcoming, and friendly, from the hosts to our fellow guests. The setting is beautiful. We enjoyed the town and felt truly refreshed after our one night stay. We will certainly make this a destination in future and for a longer time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank advisorkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night, it was our first anniversary. We decided to stay close to our home in Northern Michigan because I'm nearly 7 months pregnant. This was our first B&B stay and will be returning to spend more time there. The moment you step on this property you realize this is a place of solace. As it was our anniversary we were given several options for a gift and we chose a growler with a free pour from Shorts Brewery. Homemade cookies waited by the bedside, turn down service was a nice touch, a guest refrigerator filled with any beverage and a basket full of snacks! We love meeting new people and sitting down to a perfectly prepared and well thought out breakfast and good company was just the ending we were looking for. This place is a must see and well worth a visit or given as a gift. It's centrally located in quaint little town with a small town feel. Thanks so much to Jim & David for the memories, amazing Creme Bur-lee French Toast recipe, and hospitality! Oh and the hand made cherry chocolate truffles at checkout can not be missed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house in the garden room, had a air conditioner, a claw foot tub and was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The level of comfort you receive from Jim and David starts off with the reservation process. They explain to you that if you cancel late for some reason, you are given a credit - and up to five years to use it. And as soon as you check in, the comfort continues.

We require "quiet" as I am a light sleeper. We were recommended the Eastlake room. At the end of the hall, we didn't hear others come in at night. We also greatly enjoyed the upstairs deck off our room. It overlooked the large, heavily shaded property, and was a great place to enjoy some Shorts beers.

The food was great. Happy Hour included multiple wines, all quality, and some snacks. Breakfast is described in detail below. Whether you wanted to eat healthy (great fruit salads) or sinfully (chocolate chip walnut scones) they had it all.

And since I titled "Attention to Details", I will illustrate two things that really pleased us. First, we like getting up early, either to run or walk. Coffee as promised was out at 5:30am. Great to have a cup when we got up.

And a little later while we were sipping on more coffee, we happen to see Jim come in and do some stuff around an antique clock. What was he doing? Turning the chimes back on. Because while it is great to hear it go off every 15 minutes when you are awake, it would be quite annoying when people were sleeping.

Since many who stay in Bellaire are here for Michigan's top brewery, Shorts, this is at most 5 blocks from the brewery. And the distance is a huge benefit, as the block off the Main Street, and the property setting way off the road, it is very, very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dukefan2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Our stay at this B&B was fantastic. The innkeepers are wonderful and are very thoughtful about accommodating any diet. It's a great place for vegetarians and vegans and your food won't be boring. The property is beautiful and the location is great for those travelling to Traverse City and Mackinac.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AlanaTheVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellaire hotels
2.6 mi away
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village
0.2 mi away
The Grand Victorian B&B
The Grand Victorian B&B
#3 of 4 in Bellaire
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone Waters Inn
Stone Waters Inn
#4 of 4 in Bellaire
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Schuss Village-Shanty Creek Resorts
4.3 mi away
Shanty Creek Resorts - Cedar River Village
2.3 mi away
Legend Cottage Inn
Legend Cottage Inn
#5 of 6 in Bellaire
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellaire Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellaire Bed and Breakfast

Address: 212 Park St, Bellaire, MI 49615-9595
Region: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Bellaire
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bellaire
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing