We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Victorian B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Bellaire B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Northern Michigan's at its best! The Grand Victorian lives up to her name in stature, beauty, and hospitality. Walk back in time to a place were the pace is a little slower, the artistry of craftsmanship is supreme, and the intense feeling of coming home envelopes you. The Inn and its keepers far exceeded our expectations and we are already planning our next stay. Our room was extremely quiet and the bed was as comfortable as our own. The breakfasts were a feast for the eyes as well as the taste buds. The small town of Bellaire is quaint and an easy walk for good food and an excellent Micro Brewery. The scenic drives are breathtaking no matter what the season.

We both take any opportunity to share our details about our stay because it was truly one of a kind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were greeted warmly upon arrival and shown around by Linda. She told us about the town and all the restaurants in the surrounding area. We were served excellent breakfasts and we never needed lunch. As Linda said "I haven't done my job if you need to have lunch!" Ken gave us a very interesting history lesson about the house and the town of Bellaire. I now want to read more about the town and it's origin. The house is beautifully maintained. We had chosen the balcony room but upon our arrival, Linda gave us the option to another larger room for the same rate because the painters had arrived and were painting outside the room and on the balcony. We definitely were well cared for and enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenjf, Owner at The Grand Victorian B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Hello John and Shirley! Thank you for the kind words and we appreciate your feedback. Good news - the painting is almost done and had minimal impact on operations. It was our pleasure to upgrade your stay to accommodate any inconvenience. We hope to see you again soon! - K&L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had a wonderful time! The hotel exceeded our expectations. The food was wonderful. The staff was very considerate and meticulous. The other guests were very friendly. The surrounding area was gorgeous. We were about an hour away from Traverse City, and that distance worked fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you are looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy northern Michigan, then this is the place. Ken and Linda have created a jewel of a place in a nice town close to a number of northern Michigan attractions (traverse city, charlevoix, pestosky, etc). The inn was clean and was decorated beautifully. Ken gave us a detailed history lesson about the house which was very interesting. The breakfasts we shared with other guests were delicious. Both Ken and Linda are excellent cooks. We stayed in the carriage house which has 2 rooms, but we were fortunate to be able to tour the house before we left. Each room was tastefully decorated and was very clean. While we toured most of the other neighboring cities, we always ended up back at Shorts Brewery having a few beers and a sandwich for dinner. The place is wonderful, the caretakers are wonderful and the area is wonderful. It is pure Michigan at its finest. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our first trip to this fabulous B&B. The room in the carriage house was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated in the period of the home. Ken and Linda were gracious hosts and very knowledgeable about the history of the home. Home is well maintained and Linda's breakfast was superb! Definitely will share our experience here with friends and family

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Recently, we spent our anniversary at this beautiful B & B. Our room was spacious and decorated with antiques in the Victorian style in keeping with the time period of the house. The home is very clean and well maintained. The home itself has a unique history, which the owners are happy to share. We stayed two nights and had delicious homemade treats each day when we came back to our room. The breakfasts were decadent and substantial. Linda is a great cook! If you are looking for something to do in the evening, then Short's Brewery is within easy walking distance. The owners belong to the Short's mug club and will let you use their mugs. Water sports, wineries and shopping are all within a short drive. We have stayed at many B & B's. This is the best one! We will be back.

Room Tip: The Blossom Room is spacious with a fireplace, sitting area, four-poster queen bed and en suite bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our most recent trip celebrating our anniversary was spent here at this B & B. This was our first visit to this one and will definitely not be our last. The house is absolutely beautiful and the innkeepers have done a great job at maintaining the authenticity of this place. Ken and Linda were a delight to meet and get to know. The breakfast was extravagant and delicious. The history lesson given by Ken was an added bonus. We stayed in the "Queen Anne" room and it was an awesome stay! We really didn't want to leave, but we did miss our children. We will definitely visit this B & B again!

Room Tip: Try to make sure you have your own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellaire
2.5 mi away
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village
0.2 mi away
Stone Waters Inn
Stone Waters Inn
#4 of 4 in Bellaire
113 reviews
18.7 mi away
Boyne Mountain Resort
Boyne Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Boyne Falls
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Legend Cottage Inn
Legend Cottage Inn
#5 of 6 in Bellaire
4 reviews
4.8 mi away
Schuss Village-Shanty Creek Resorts
4.2 mi away
Shanty Creek Resorts - Cedar River Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Victorian B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Victorian B&B

Address: 402 N Bridge St, Bellaire, MI 49615-9591
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Bellaire
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bellaire
Price Range: £102 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Victorian B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated as one of America's Top 10 Romantic Inns, the Grand Victorian goes above and beyond in providing your Romantic Getaway. This award-winning B&B has graced the covers of travel magazines and featured in many national B&B promotions. Built in 1895 and immaculately maintained, the home was placed on the National Register in 1978. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Victorian B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing